Chicago O'Hare ORD T5 Swiss LX Lounge Options?

Old Aug 2, 2013, 5:22 am
  #121  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: VCE
Posts: 14,165
Originally Posted by NewbieRunner
Thanks. I must have used wifi last time I was there but couldn't remember how it worked.

The layover is actually a little over 4.5 hours and may not be long enough to head into town. I was thinking of a day pass for the Hilton gym which allows you to use a shower. The Hilton lobby with free wifi is not a bad place either to spend some time over a coffee if I decide 4.5 hours in the small LX FCL is too long.
LX FCL is super small- I thunk your Hilton plan is perfect.
TRAVELSIG is offline  
Old Jan 30, 2014, 1:59 am
  #122  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: SEA, FLL, Martha’s Vineyard
Programs: AS MVPGold75K, Hilton Gold, IHG Platinum, Pan Am million-miler
Posts: 2,019
ORD Lounge

I have a 5 hr layover in ORD on UAGlobalFirst and am just wondering if it's worth it to walk over to Terminal 5 and check out the Swiss lounge? Are the offerings better than the UA First lounge?
Edgerfly is offline  
Old Jan 30, 2014, 2:59 am
  #123  
Senior Moderator, Moderator: Community Buzz and Ambassador: Miles & More (Lufthansa, Austrian, Swiss, and other partners)
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 150km from MAN
Programs: LH SEN** HH Diamond
Posts: 29,510
Originally Posted by Edgerfly
I have a 5 hr layover in ORD on UAGlobalFirst and am just wondering if it's worth it to walk over to Terminal 5 and check out the Swiss lounge? Are the offerings better than the UA First lounge?
I don't believe you will have access to the LX lounge in T5 unless you have a BP for a flight departing from T5.
NewbieRunner is offline  
Old Jan 30, 2014, 3:10 am
  #124  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: SEA, FLL, Martha’s Vineyard
Programs: AS MVPGold75K, Hilton Gold, IHG Platinum, Pan Am million-miler
Posts: 2,019
Originally Posted by NewbieRunner
I don't believe you will have access to the LX lounge in T5 unless you have a BP for a flight departing from T5.
Isn't their a train connecting the terminals airside?
Edgerfly is offline  
Old Jan 30, 2014, 3:14 am
  #125  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Watchlisted by the prejudiced, en route to purgatory
Programs: Just Say No to Fleecing and Blacklisting
Posts: 102,095
Originally Posted by Edgerfly
Isn't their a train connecting the terminals airside?
No. Some airline(s) have a shuttle bus airside, but I don't know if that is generally available without a boarding pass check -- unlike the case of one other airside shuttle bus at ORD that doesn't involve T5 at ORD.

The Star Alliance lounge arrangements at Terminal 5 in ORD aren't worth the hassle.

This same sort of question was pretty much asked also in the SK forum here today too. The answer is basically the same.
GUWonder is offline  
Old Jan 30, 2014, 3:26 am
  #126  
Senior Moderator, Moderator: Community Buzz and Ambassador: Miles & More (Lufthansa, Austrian, Swiss, and other partners)
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 150km from MAN
Programs: LH SEN** HH Diamond
Posts: 29,510
Originally Posted by Edgerfly
Isn't their a train connecting the terminals airside?
The train is landside.
NewbieRunner is offline  
Old Jan 30, 2014, 10:13 am
  #127  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: VCE
Posts: 14,165
Originally Posted by GUWonder
No. Some airline(s) have a shuttle bus airside, but I don't know if that is generally available without a boarding pass check -- unlike the case of one other airside shuttle bus at ORD that doesn't involve T5 at ORD.

The Star Alliance lounge arrangements at Terminal 5 in ORD aren't worth the hassle.

This same sort of question was pretty much asked also in the SK forum here today too. The answer is basically the same.
I also don't think there is any shuttle airside to T5 and do agree that the lounges there are certainly nothing to get excited about- I usually just wait at the excellent mexican restaurant when in T5 and skip the lounge altogether.
TRAVELSIG is offline  
Old Jan 30, 2014, 10:42 am
  #128  
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: In the heart of Europe
Programs: some
Posts: 1,114
BA has a shuttle but they have a TSA guy checking your boarding pass and ensuring only BA pax get on it....silly, but in line with the overall ORD set-up.
verve is offline  
Old Jan 30, 2014, 3:10 pm
  #129  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Watchlisted by the prejudiced, en route to purgatory
Programs: Just Say No to Fleecing and Blacklisting
Posts: 102,095
Originally Posted by verve
BA has a shuttle but they have a TSA guy checking your boarding pass and ensuring only BA pax get on it....silly, but in line with the overall ORD set-up.
AA-BA got that airside shuttle bus set up, and it was set up only to get to BA flights. There's another airside shuttle but at ORD which is generally available without boarding pass, but that one won't get people to T5.
GUWonder is offline  
Old Jan 31, 2014, 8:23 pm
  #130  
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: ZRH / YUL
Programs: UA, TK, Starwood > Marriott, Hilton, Accor
Posts: 7,294
Definitely no access to T5 airside unless you have a boarding pass departing T5. Hence, no SK or LX lounge for [Edgerfly.
airoli is offline  
Old Feb 8, 2014, 9:32 pm
  #131  
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ORD
Programs: United 1K, Hyatt Discoverist
Posts: 590
Originally Posted by Edgerfly
I have a 5 hr layover in ORD on UAGlobalFirst and am just wondering if it's worth it to walk over to Terminal 5 and check out the Swiss lounge? Are the offerings better than the UA First lounge?

I have gone to the LX lounge before when flying LH First Class. What you do is go landside to Terminal 5 and tell them when they question you that you understand you are flying out of Terminal 1 but have a long layover and want to use the lounge in terminal 5. If they act like you don't have access demand they check with a supervisor (it is permitted).

That said, you will not have access to the First Class side with UA Global First. That is only for LX and LH First Class as well as M&M HON members. The Business side is all right though I don't know if it's worth the hike (unless you're just curious about different lounges). Product wise I think that the UA Global First Lounge is the best Star Alliance option in Chicago.
revigik is offline  
Old Feb 9, 2014, 4:01 am
  #132  
Senior Moderator, Moderator: Community Buzz and Ambassador: Miles & More (Lufthansa, Austrian, Swiss, and other partners)
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 150km from MAN
Programs: LH SEN** HH Diamond
Posts: 29,510
It's not worth going through ORD security twice just to visit a lounge IMHO.
NewbieRunner is offline  
Old Apr 1, 2014, 2:02 pm
  #133  
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: SFO
Programs: OZ Diamond/*G, IHG Diamond Amb, Hilton Gold
Posts: 2,239
Lounge in ORD

Anyone know the hours of the SWISS lounge in ORD?
1353513636 is offline  
Old Apr 1, 2014, 2:50 pm
  #134  
Senior Moderator, Moderator: Community Buzz and Ambassador: Miles & More (Lufthansa, Austrian, Swiss, and other partners)
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 150km from MAN
Programs: LH SEN** HH Diamond
Posts: 29,510
Originally Posted by 1353513636
Anyone know the hours of the SWISS lounge in ORD?
Last October the hours were 11:30-19:00, except Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays when they were 14:00-19:00.
NewbieRunner is offline  
Old Apr 1, 2014, 2:50 pm
  #135  
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: ZRH/SFO
Programs: A3*G - AZ CFP- HH DIA
Posts: 3,666
OS knows it...

> link <
Air Rarotonga is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.