How are business class meals served?

Old Jan 15, 20, 6:24 pm
Original Poster

Question How are business class meals served?

We're travelling on LX41 from LAX to ZRH. We're seated in the larger business class section, which has 11 rows. This is my first time on any international business class, so I'm curious about the meal service:

1) Do they serve the meals from a galley cart that goes from front to back and serve you what you want like they do in economy? Or do they ask for your order ahead of time and bring each order out separately?
2) If you're seated in the back, is it possible for them to run out of your first choice?
3) Do they serve mid-meal snacks? If so, what kind?

Thanks.
Old Jan 16, 20, 2:17 am

Programs: UA, TK , Starwood > Marriott
1) Individual service for main course, cart for starters and dessert.
2) Yes
3) I am not sure what a "mid-meal snack" is. But there are always some nibbles available in the galley between meals. There is an ice cream service on daytime flights, but not on nighttime flights.
alocsin likes this.
Old Jan 16, 20, 3:23 am

Programs: LH HON
I think it's possible for them to run out of your first choice, for sure. I've flown LX J many times, and I've never had that happen to me either as a non-status passenger or as an FTL or SEN. LAX-ZRH is also a night flight, so maybe some will opt out, making it less likely that you won't get your first choice. The flight time, however, is conducive to a meal and getting 8 hours of sleep (I find that from BOS/NYC, they're pretty mutually exclusive).

I haven't flown LX J in over two and a half years, so can't comment on whether not getting your first choice happens now more than then.
Old Jan 16, 20, 4:12 am

Programs: UA, TK , Starwood > Marriott
Originally Posted by sophialite View Post
I haven't flown LX J in over two and a half years, so can't comment on whether not getting your first choice happens now more than then.