“Security check” when browsing on swiss.com

Reply

Old Jun 13, 19, 6:44 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Programs: MM, EK, AB/EY, HH, SPG, etc.
Posts: 331
“Security check” when browsing on swiss.com

Hi,

For a few weeks now it is practically impossible for me to make booking requests on swiss.com: I nearly always get the following message:

“We apologise for the interruption. We detected unusual behaviour from your browser, which resembles that of a bot. The reasons could be the following: You have a browser plugin installed that blocks JavaScript, you are using a VPN or privacy software often used by bots, or you are navigating through the website at an unusually high speed. SWISS International Air Lines thanks you for your understanding.”

This happens across devices and ISPs, despite the fact that I am using the same configurations as before I started having these problems, and none of their aforementioned restrictions are applicable (or am I seriously supposed to slow down my internet speed for LX...) and is extremely annoying. No response from LX customer service, so I thought I would check if anyone else has had a similar experience. Thanks.

Wtravel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 19, 6:50 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Programs: Miles and More
Posts: 136
Same issue here when accessing the site via company network. Very annoying.
AlicorporateUK likes this.
olivier is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 19, 7:02 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: EYW
Programs: DL Plat, AA Gold
Posts: 212
I did too using Firefox. Switched browser to Chrome, then no issues.
cayohueso is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 19, 8:34 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: ZRH / YUL
Programs: UA, TK , Starwood > Marriott
Posts: 6,351
I get this message every now and then, but I was not able to establish a firm link with any particular browser, device, location or VPN I use.

It's annoying but I usually get around it by solving the CAPTCHA.

Last edited by airoli; Jun 15, 19 at 8:34 am
airoli is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 19, 8:48 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Programs: TK E+, RJ G
Posts: 1,004
I got this too. I moved to LH website to purchase my tickets (in any case o/w is LH and r/t is LX).
I do think that LX website is better.
flyerby is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 19, 12:49 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: GVA
Programs: LX SEN
Posts: 470
same issue here. Made swiss.com essentially unusable. CAPTCHA came a couple of times in a row until I gave up. Luckily problems disappeared a couple of weeks ago, but for sure this problem will re-appear.
Viennafly is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 19, 6:19 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: London
Programs: *A G, OW S, ST Elite.
Posts: 701
Same problems here, it's no use trying to fight with it, I just give up and spend my money elsewhere on those occasions.

Air France are doing quite well out of this Swiss problem!
Dover2Golf is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 19, 6:34 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sarajevo
Posts: 4,088
Originally Posted by olivier View Post
when accessing the site via company network. Very annoying.
Same here and of course sharing the very annoying!

P.S.: it does happen with LOT as well.

G
AlicorporateUK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 19, 8:20 am
  #9  
Marriott Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: ZRH
Programs: LX, SK *G, FPC, GA/AG
Posts: 1,409
Get that message all the time... I guess they are not expecting any sane person to search for 2-3 connection flights so they automatically assume I'm a bot XD
Nick Art is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 19, 8:24 am
  #10  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1K 1MM; AS MVPG; Marriott Plat Premier; Hilton Diamond (Aspire); Hyatt Refugeeist
Posts: 40,389
Originally Posted by Dover2Golf View Post
Air France are doing quite well out of this Swiss problem!
Oh my, why are you punishing yourself for an LX IT issue?
Nick Art and chris63 like this.
Kacee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 19, 12:32 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stoke on Trent, UK (MAN ), BUE, BKK, DBV
Programs: LH HON**,UA,BA.EK Gold,AV.
Posts: 3,475
Originally Posted by Kacee View Post
Oh my, why are you punishing yourself for an LX IT issue?
LH group IT issues are driving some of us close to insanity But I take your point
lhrpete likes this.
chris63 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 19, 11:14 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: PPQ/WLG/BKK
Programs: TG*G, Accor Gold
Posts: 7,163
To add, this has been annoying way over here in New Zealand when needing to amend a booking I have in early Sep. Happening on the app, on ipad browser and corporate system. Setteled down eventually.

Once I managed to finally access the system, I then suffered the indignity of Swiss fare change penalty - ouch! I think we were stung by 80 EUR fee per pax AGP-ZRH for a date change on a classic economy tix. Unforeseen circumstances drove the change, and I console myself that it was still cheaper than buying a one way fare, or travelling on a LCC...
Thai-Kiwi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 19, 1:25 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Programs: LH Senator, BA Gold, Starwood Platinum
Posts: 410
Originally Posted by cayohueso View Post
I did too using Firefox. Switched browser to Chrome, then no issues.
Explorer also works without problems. Firefox does not even offer solving the captcha, link unworkable
Zorro is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 19, 5:46 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, UK.
Programs: SQ LPPS, A3 *G, Was BA Silver, achieved bronze,aiming for Blue.
Posts: 1,135
FWIW I had exactly the same problem occur yesterday on the OS site. Couldn't get round it no matter how I tried, gave up and booked TK.
lhrpete is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 19, 12:53 pm
  #15  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Programs: MM, EK, AB/EY, HH, SPG, etc.
Posts: 331
Well, LX feedback is that they did not get the algorithm right, and are working on getting it sorted, but have no idea by when it will be ok again. The LH IT recommendation is to simply try over and over again and use different ISPs . My response to this is I will simply book other carriers
Wtravel is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread