Connecting at ZRH do I need to collect bags?

Old Feb 14, 19, 9:25 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2006
Programs: AC Aeroplan
Posts: 204
Connecting at ZRH do I need to collect bags?

Hi Everyone

Flying YUL-ZRH-LHR in a few days. If I check bags in YUL do I have to collect them at ZRH or can I collect them at LHR?

Thanks in advance for any advice

YXEG
YXEGeordie is offline  
Old Feb 14, 19, 9:38 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Programs: DL DM+5MM, AAGold MM, UA 1K+2MM, BA GGL,LH Senator, SPG Plat, HH Diamond, HY Plat
Posts: 825
Originally Posted by YXEGeordie View Post
Hi Everyone

Flying YUL-ZRH-LHR in a few days. If I check bags in YUL do I have to collect them at ZRH or can I collect them at LHR?

Thanks in advance for any advice

YXEG
You get bags in London
dh01 is offline  
Old Feb 15, 19, 7:10 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: PHL
Programs: UA Plat, 2MM
Posts: 1,646
Just make sure in YUL that you tell the agent to check the bags through to London, and check it. Then you do no t have to go through Immigration, Customs or collect and recheck your bags, just enjoy the walk to the new gate.
TonyBurr is offline  
Old Feb 17, 19, 5:07 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Europe / New York
Programs: LH, BA, AA
Posts: 634
Check thru your bag then no. Also, I think if you are on SWISS which I assume, I think Canada is like the US you don’t even need to go through security again for your connecting flight to LHR ...
LHSEN is offline  
Old Feb 17, 19, 7:19 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: YUL (of course)
Posts: 81
I would also like to verify my upcoming flights: YUL - ZRH - FCO - BKK (yes it’s an odd routing but with points, you don’t always get the most direct). I presume my luggage will be checked all the way to BKK?

How about security and customs in ZRH since I only have 55 minutes to my flight to FCO?

Thnks
Yul67 is offline  
Old Feb 18, 19, 1:33 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: ZRH / YUL
Programs: UA, TK , Starwood > Marriott
Posts: 6,394
Yes, if your flights are all on one ticket, your bags will be checked right through to BKK. (If they make the transit in FCO is another question, though ) .

55min is fine for clearing Schengen immigration in ZRH. YUL is now considered a "clean" arrival so no second security screening is necessary.
airoli is offline  
Old Feb 18, 19, 12:20 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Europe / New York
Programs: LH, BA, AA
Posts: 634
Follow the sign to Gate A/B, instead of arrival baggage claim ... the former will get you to a different part of the Heidi train (assuming arrival at E gates), and also the other side of the immigration, however no more security needed. 55 mins should be sufficient time. If you have mistakenly gone to arrival baggage claim, then you will need to go back to departure hall and enter security again then might be tight ... I never trust any bag checks involving a transit in Italy. Good luck.
LHSEN is offline  
Old Feb 18, 19, 1:09 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: YYZ
Programs: HHonors Silver, AC Altitude 25K, AAdvantage, SkyMiles and a few more
Posts: 392
So...let's look at the reverse....flying DAR-ZRH-YYZ First flight is on Swiss, second on AC. I'm assuming I will be able to check my bags all the way through, and upon arrival in ZRH, just go to my new gate. Correct ?
flying chef is offline  
Old Feb 18, 19, 1:34 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Europe / New York
Programs: LH, BA, AA
Posts: 634
No. You will be exiting at the “lower” level (arrival level) assuming arrival gate E again, as opposed to US/Canada originating LX flights where those will exit the aircraft into the lounge area at the “upper” level (departure level) You will need to go through security but not immigration.
LHSEN is offline  
Old Feb 19, 19, 5:21 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: European: ZRH, Asian: SIN
Posts: 7,535
Originally Posted by LHSEN View Post
Check thru your bag then no. Also, I think if you are on SWISS which I assume, I think Canada is like the US you donít even need to go through security again for your connecting flight to LHR ...
Even if you're arriving "clean", if you fly to the UK which is almost always from the D gates, you'll either have to pass through immigration twice, or going through security. Pick your poison. Only a "D to D" or "E to E" transfer is security&immigration free when arriving clean.
YuropFlyer is offline  
Old Feb 20, 19, 2:18 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Lima Sierra Zulu Hotel
Programs: AC*S100K, M&M SEN, BA Gold, DL Gold; Marriott Plat
Posts: 692
Originally Posted by YuropFlyer View Post
Only a "D to D" or "E to E" transfer is security&immigration free when arriving clean.
Or A/B to A/B
bawm is offline  
Old Feb 20, 19, 4:26 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: European: ZRH, Asian: SIN
Posts: 7,535
Originally Posted by bawm View Post
Or A/B to A/B
I didn't want to point out the most obvious things, considering we're talking about Non-Schengen to Non-Schengen here, but your statement obviously is true, too
YuropFlyer is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread