Ameritrade Starwood offer [Master Thread]

 
Old Apr 10, 03, 11:08 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 920
Arrow Ameritrade Starwood offer [Master Thread]

What are your opinons about the new Ameritrade deal ?

$2,000 deposit = 3,000 Starpoints
$10,000 = 10k Starpoints
$25,000 = 20k Starpoints

Is this better than their offers for Airline miles ?
Ken in Phx is offline  
Old Apr 10, 03, 12:01 pm
  #2  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 920
Sorry

http://www.ameritrade.com/spg/
Ken in Phx is offline  
Old Apr 10, 03, 1:52 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Naples, Florida
Posts: 7,419
Read the fine print:

<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">Offer valid for new Individual or Joint accounts opened and funded between 04/01/03 and 10/31/03. Please allow 6-8 weeks from account funding for the first half of Starpoints to appear in your StarwoodPreferred Guest account. Account must remain open with minimum funding of elected tier level for 6 months; at that time allow 6-8 weeks for the second half of Starpoints to appear in your Starwood Preferred Guest account. </font>
USAFAN is offline  
Old Apr 10, 03, 2:09 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: O
Posts: 5
The other important word is "new". If you have taken advantage of any other mileage programs with Ameritrade, it will not work. I have tried this before and it was a lost cause. I don't know if anyone else has experienced something differently, but I thought I'd give you a heads up.
funsun is offline  
Old Apr 10, 03, 3:02 pm
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 920
The minimum is only $25,000 for 20,000 points right ? Thats almost as good as the old Savings Bonds deal for 6 months.
Ken in Phx is offline  
Old Apr 10, 03, 4:16 pm
  #6  
Original Member
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: Reno, NV (RNO)
Programs: AA Platinum, AS MVPG, UA, DL, HHonors Gold, Marriott LTP, Hyatt, IHG
Posts: 4,697
I wonder what "new" customer really means. If you were a customer like 3 years ago, do you think they will notice? funsun, how long after you were a customer did you try to apply for another offer?
MileKing is offline  
Old Apr 10, 03, 4:41 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: DFW
Posts: 1,387
<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">Originally posted by MileKing:
I wonder what "new" customer really means.</font>
I just spoke with an Ameritrade CSR. He said that if you previously had an individual account with them (which I did), you could still open a new joint account and you'd get the points (which I will).
singlemalt is offline  
Old Apr 10, 03, 5:31 pm
  #8  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: new york, ny, usa
Posts: 13,537
do you have to trade or can you park the money for six months and then pull it out?
fly co to see the yanks is offline  
Old Apr 11, 03, 9:07 am
  #9  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Finally back in Boston after escaping from New York
Posts: 13,530
You can just leave the money in there for 6 months and then pull it out. This is generally a pretty sweet deal. E*Trade has similar deals, although they are usually with Marriott. These offers are always changing, so keep an eye out for them.

Of course, nothing beats savings bonds.

Mike

<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">Originally posted by fly co to see the yanks:
do you have to trade or can you park the money for six months and then pull it out?</font>
mikeef is offline  
Old Apr 11, 03, 10:25 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Austin TX, AA Platinum for life (who will live longer, me or AAdvantage?)
Posts: 426
When I did the application online it wouldn't let me fund more than $20,000. So I did the $20,000 and it said "Your account-opening bonus is 20,000 Starwood Starpoints (Offer Code: RNJ)."


jeffo is offline  
Old Apr 11, 03, 11:54 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Fredricksburg, VA
Posts: 10
Do you have to move cash or can you just transfer securities from another account in another brokerage?
rmart2 is offline  
Old Apr 11, 03, 12:41 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Santa Monica, CA, USA
Posts: 1,013
<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">Originally posted by rmart2:
Do you have to move cash or can you just transfer securities from another account in another brokerage?</font>
I moved securities in order to qualify for the Delta miles, so I'm sure the same would be true for Starwood. They would prefer this - it means you really are opening a brokerage account, and will likely trade, as compared to putting in funds and pulling them out in 6 months. For Delta, though, I received half the miles to start, and then should get the other half after 6 months.
VolleyballFerd is offline  
Old Apr 11, 03, 3:10 pm
  #13  
Marriott Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 7,149
I hate to be a jerk, but say you pull your equity after the first half is posted b/c you don''t want to park it that long. Can you keep your points, or will they come back and take them from you?
BoSoxFan45 is offline  
Old Apr 11, 03, 5:37 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Santa Monica, CA, USA
Posts: 1,013
<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">Originally posted by BoSoxFan45:
I hate to be a jerk, but say you pull your equity after the first half is posted b/c you don''t want to park it that long. Can you keep your points, or will they come back and take them from you?</font>
I wouldn't want to be in a position to find out the answer, but I do believe I've read somewhere on FT that they also charge you for closing an account after a short period. Either way, I don't think I'd sign up unless I really intended to keep the account at least the 6 months.
VolleyballFerd is offline  
Old Apr 11, 03, 6:18 pm
  #15  
ned
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Programs: MTD pass holder
Posts: 1,126
Do I understand this correctly? You cannot qualify for the points with a “Trust Account”. To transfer securities the account registration must be identical. Therefore if you hold your assets in a Trust this deal does not work, at least as far as transferring securities. I have stocks and/or bonds which I would like to move to take advantage of this deal but not if it involves changing the registration which can be a big time consuming hassle. If you just move cash in and take it out later what is the fee? Usually there is a fee for closing an account but I did not see a specific fee for closing an account shown on the web site. Thanks for any insight.
ned is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: