Systems Outage Update

    Hide Wikipost
Old Aug 19, 18, 11:08 pm   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: RogerD408
Wiki Link
If you see only Marriott account activity / points when logging into SPG.com: (as of August 19)

If you use the same email address and password on both SPG.com and Marriott.com, logging in appears to take you to your Marriott account by default. Try using your SPG account number and password to log in.

If you use the same email address and different passwords, each password should take you to each separate account. You need to log completely out to switch accounts.

It may be helpful to use different browsers or an incognito/private browsing window to be able to access both accounts without confusing your browser.

Also, regardless, be sure to uncheck the Remember Me before logging in to make account selection easier until you have combined your accounts and have a single login again.

Try https://www.marriott.com/default.mi?...spg&reset=true to access your SPG account.
Print Wikipost

 
Old Aug 18, 18, 8:19 pm
  #16  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: South Florida
Programs: AA LTG (EXP), Hilton Silver (Dia), Marriott LTP (PP), SPG LTG (P) > MPG LTPP
Posts: 11,314
Hey guys, is it really wise to be jumping onto the websites before we are given the all clear? Personally, I would not trust anything there until they are done with their work. And heaven forbid making any changes or bookings that just might turn into vaporware is they have to roll back any of the data. Just a word of caution. Been there too many times.
RogerD408 is offline  
Old Aug 18, 18, 9:32 pm
  #17  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SMF
Programs: SPG LTP
Posts: 1,389
I was on the site earlier and my lights started flickering and my Google Home voice now sounds like William. Is that normal?
Sam P. Goodman is offline  
Old Aug 18, 18, 10:41 pm
  #18  
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Programs: spg plat100 - lifetime gold / aa exec plat
Posts: 267
Originally Posted by Sam P. Goodman View Post
I was on the site earlier and my lights started flickering and my Google Home voice now sounds like William. Is that normal?
if only! i have found William to be far more helpful than google home, alexa or cortana!
FlyingPenguin and miles4CDG like this.
stant is offline  
Old Aug 18, 18, 10:43 pm
  #19  
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 154
The website works now. I just finished my bookings with the new rates.
myko85 is offline  
Old Aug 18, 18, 10:47 pm
  #20  
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: PHL
Posts: 624
Originally Posted by myko85 View Post
The website works now. I just finished my bookings with the new rates.
Were your SPG points converted automatically? I only see the nominal Marriott points I had and nothing converted from SPG.
TimesTwo is offline  
Old Aug 18, 18, 10:50 pm
  #21  
Marriott Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Kuwait (KW)
Programs: Marriott Ambassador/LTG, Qatar Platinum
Posts: 793
I was able to update my iPhone apps and on the new SPG app, I got assigned my new member number but twelve nights are missing from the final tally. Hopefully just working through the last kinks, otherwise it's time to pull out the old screenshots...

khabah
khabah is offline  
Old Aug 18, 18, 11:00 pm
  #22  
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NYC
Programs: DL PM, Hilton Diamond, Starriott Platinum, Hyatt FreeBottleofWaterist
Posts: 7,975
My SPG app is prompting me to update (android). What I don't really understand is why are they supporting legacy systems like this? Unless they intend to keep them which doesn't make much sense either.
krazykanuck is online now  
Old Aug 18, 18, 11:02 pm
  #23  
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 444
Originally Posted by TimesTwo View Post
Were your SPG points converted automatically? I only see the nominal Marriott points I had and nothing converted from SPG.
Same here, I don't see any points moved over from SPG.
jasonz9238 is offline  
Old Aug 18, 18, 11:04 pm
  #24  
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 154
They were not converted automatically. I used existing Marriott points.
myko85 is offline  
Old Aug 18, 18, 11:10 pm
  #25  
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: PHL
Posts: 624
As of about 15 minutes ago, I didn't see an update to either the SPG or Marriott app in the app store (and I checked twice), then they were both available to update. I just downloaded the latest versions and saw my converted points balance and I was able to make a couple of reservations that way.

Edited: one of my reservations is totally wrong and when I go to cancel it tells me there's a cancellation fee but I double checked (and took a screen shot) indicating there's no cancellation penalty until March. Ugh, I want to cancel but don't want to get screwed on this penalty so I may wait until things get sorted.

Last edited by TimesTwo; Aug 18, 18 at 11:22 pm
TimesTwo is offline  
Old Aug 18, 18, 11:21 pm
  #26  
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SFO
Posts: 2,435
I logged into spg and was given a new membership number. The points were multiplied by 3 correctly but my number of nights this year is off by 5 nights (appears that my Amex nights didnít come through but my last activity of 5 nights didnít show up on the activities log so it can be either or)
myperks is offline  
Old Aug 18, 18, 11:27 pm
  #27  
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: LAX
Posts: 194
My points were 10k short after the 3x conversion, and YTD nights short by 6 nights.. hope these will resolve on their own in a few days..
bradcc is offline  
Old Aug 18, 18, 11:31 pm
  #28  
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: DFW from PDX - UA 1K 2MM,Lifetime HHonnors Diamond, Bonvoy AMB/LT Tit, National Exec Elite, Hertz PC
Posts: 415
Yikes

I see nothing but my plat ambassador status on Marriott. No other data came over from spg and I can't login with my old spg number. Even my reservations do not show . Blah.
dshafiee is offline  
Old Aug 18, 18, 11:37 pm
  #29  
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Dubai
Programs: SPG 100 Ambassador, LH M&M Senator, Skywards Silver
Posts: 243
I can login with my Marriott number but not with SPG number, SPG redirects to page that says login currently unavailable,
EDIflyer likes this.
porkie is offline  
Old Aug 19, 18, 12:04 am
  #30  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New York, NY, USA
Programs: UA 1K - 1.5MM, HH LT Diamond, IHG Spire, Bonvoy LT Titanium (Ambassador thru 1/20), Hyatt Glob
Posts: 618
I think activity after July 27th doesnít reflect yet, as Iíve have 2 nights since then that donít appear.
Magic Pickles is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread