Platinum Status

Old Jun 22, 12, 10:25 pm
Original Poster

Programs: AA EXP- 2MM
Platinum Status

I am new to Hotel Programs and are finally in a position to take off the summer and travel Asia for 1 month with the family.

So either 50 nights or 25 stays will get me Platinum Status.

Does it make sense to just book 25 separate 1 night reservations in the same Hotel to get there or is this against the rules, would we need to check in and out everyday?
Old Jun 22, 12, 10:30 pm

Programs: SPG Plat, Emerald Exec., PC Plat, AA, CO, DL, UBS Charter Card, Palladium Card, Amex Plat
You would have to stay every other night. You can not earn two stay credits at the same hotel on back to back nights.
Old Jun 22, 12, 10:38 pm

Programs: Marriott Ambassador, Skywards Platinum
If your planning to book multiple room, just know that one room per night count as one night credit. But booking 25 different reservations just sound silly, it will also count as one stay as per T&C's.
Old Jun 22, 12, 10:45 pm

Programs: ALL :)
Originally Posted by mlad1101 View Post
You would have to stay every other night. You can not earn two stay credits at the same hotel on back to back nights.
IE: You would have to do one night at Hotel 1, then 1 night at Hotel 2, Then Back to Hotel 1, and so on.
Old Jun 22, 12, 10:54 pm

Programs: AA (1MM)
Originally Posted by LovetoTravel83 View Post
If your planning to book multiple room, just know that one room per night count as one night credit. . .
I don't think this is correct anymore. It was just discovered that Starwood made an unannounced change to its T&Cs in March 2012 that addresses this very situation. One can book up to 3 rooms at a hotel and get 3 nights credit each day.

ExitRowAisle
A Dissatisfied 2nd Class Starwood Platinum Member
Old Jun 22, 12, 10:56 pm

Programs: SPG Plat, Emerald Exec., PC Plat, AA, CO, DL, UBS Charter Card, Palladium Card, Amex Plat
Originally Posted by ExitRowAisle View Post