Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Discontinued Programs/Partners > Starwood | Starwood Preferred Guest
Reload this Page >

Newbie Q: How good is this exclusive invitation for Westin Lagunamar Cancun?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 15, 2011, 7:27 pm
Original Poster

Programs: AA, BA, UA, US; IHG Plat, SPG, HH Gold

Hi I am very new to the hotels part in FT, so please excuse me for the little experience.

Received this offer in email 2 weeks ago and have been tempted to book it:
"4 nights in The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort in Cancun for $349, plus get 7,000 points from the stay". Detailed offer below:

• 5 days' and 4 nights' accommodations at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort

• Your choice of 7,000 Starpoints® from the Starwood Preferred Guest® program or a $75 resort certificate that can be used toward dining, shopping and spa services

• A special price of $349

I have not been to Mexico, Cancun and the nearby Tulum seem worth to visit. The starpoints bonus gives great incentive as well. In the T&C, I will have 1 year from booking date to use this offer, if I cannot decide on the exact dates now. Any thoughts?

Thank you and I'd love to hear some suggestion!
Old Aug 15, 2011, 7:33 pm
Suspended

Programs: UA 1K, AA EXP; Owner, Green Bay Packers
Seems like a reasonable price for a nice property.

If you go, don't miss going to Chichen Itza, super Mayan ruins.
Old Aug 15, 2011, 10:02 pm

Programs: IC Platinum Ambassador, UA Mileage Plus, SPG Gold, HHonors Gold
Originally Posted by Doc Savage
Seems like a reasonable price for a nice property.

If you go, don't miss going to Chichen Itza, super Mayan ruins.
Sounds like a good deal to me...

I would suggest renting car and leaving very early to go to the ruins so as to miss the large crowds and unbearable heat in the middle of the day.

sdcarver
Old Aug 16, 2011, 8:13 am
Original Poster

Programs: AA, BA, UA, US; IHG Plat, SPG, HH Gold