FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   Starwood | Starwood Preferred Guest (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/starwood-starwood-preferred-guest-429/)
-   -   Mexico City: W vs St Regis (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/starwood-starwood-preferred-guest/1014718-mexico-city-w-vs-st-regis.html)

sombrachinesca Nov 7, 2009 4:36 am

Mexico City: W vs St Regis

Hello everyone,

I am new to SPG and was comped platinum based on top-tier status with Hyatt. I will be in Mexico City for two nights in early January. In the past, I have always stayed at the IC Presidente, but I'm attempting to consolidate my business in 2010 to SPG and Hyatt. Since there is (still) no Hyatt in Mexico City, SPG is it...

Based on online pricing this morning, the W can be had for $165 per night and the St. Regis for $179.

I would appreciate up-to-date feedback concerning both properties (my search returned only comments from several months ago), the treatment of platinum customers, and any general suggestions.

Also, for anyone who has stayed at the IC, it is significantly cheaper for my dates... are either of these hotels that much better to justify $50 per night extra?

Thanks in advance.
-- Bill

abk Nov 7, 2009 10:20 am

if you have stayed at the presidente then you know the neighborhood that the w is in and from a location standpoint i think it is better than the st regis. especially if you want to enjoy the restaurants in polanco.

i have stayed at the w many times and only visited the st regis once since it opened. if you like w's then i would definitely stay a this w because it is a nice property. if you like a lively bar this is also your place.