Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Global Airline Alliances > Star Alliance
Reload this Page >

*A award ticket, UA miles, USA-EUR, itinerary ?'s

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 8, 2008, 4:42 pm
Original Poster

Programs: HH Gold, Alaska MVP Gold

I'm trying to use my UA miles to book a *A C award ticket to europe for about 3 weeks in the late summer but I had a couple of questions.

First: Is it better to mix and match airlines or to try to stick with one carrier for the entire itinerary, in terms of available seats?

Second: Say I was ok with shorter segments being in Y versus C, does that affect the overall miles required (ex: SAN-SFO in Y, FRA-HEL in Y, but SFO-FRA in C)?

What I'm looking for is San Diego to Helsinki, but I could go either across the pacific or atlantic. I would actually enjoy going across the pacific and trying some Asian carriers, but since I've never done this before, I'm just trying to get a C class ticket.
Old Mar 8, 2008, 5:00 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

It doesn't lower the price to mix and match cabins, you pay for the higher cabin the whole way. The best option for carriers is whatever gets you the best availability, which will most likely be a mix of airlines. You can't go via the pacific to Europe, just via the Atlantic, at least if you plan on doing just one award. Have fun!
Old Mar 8, 2008, 5:01 pm
Original Poster

I had one other question, can you do different carries outbound and inbound?
Old Mar 8, 2008, 5:07 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Originally Posted by UCBeau
I had one other question, can you do different carries outbound and inbound?
Yes, mix and match as many star alliance carriers as you'd like.
Old Mar 10, 2008, 1:58 pm

Programs: UA 1K
Good luck finding anything in C during the summer!! LH, UA, and SK all hardly seem to release any award inventory in C.
Old Mar 12, 2008, 7:47 pm
Original Poster