Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Global Airline Alliances > Star Alliance
Reload this Page >

Paid Business Class EWR-HKG-SIN-EWR - best way to go for Star Alliance miles?

Old Nov 19, 2018, 7:20 pm
Original Poster

Programs: Star allianc, one world

Thanks in advance for suggestions. Looking to book Newark to Hong Kong and returning from Singapore. Will be paying for ticket (i know, its crazy expensive). For once, cost is not the key factor...... goal is to earn a ton of United miles AND to have one hell of an amazing flight. So probably do NOT want to fly United. Coming home, i think we shohld try and use Singapore Airlines. But going there seems to have limited options.....would love to fly Cathay Pacific or ANA or Thai Airlines to experience their phenomenal reputation and service. Willing to fly to Bangkok or Japan or somewhere enroute to be able to use one of those carriers. I have zero experience with Asian carriers......advice or suggestions for this once in a lifetime splurge?!?
Old Nov 20, 2018, 5:37 am

Programs: OZ Diamond, BA slvr, Bonvoy Ambassador, HH Gold
Cathy Pacific is OneWorld, so you'll have to rule them out if you want to earn *A points.

From EWR, the flight to NRT is on UA, I believe. Thai don't fly to the U.S. anymore. You could go from JFK to NRT on NH, then continue to HKG, then take SQ from HKG-SIN-EWR.

Or just make it an all SQ affair and go EWR-SIN-HKG-SIN-EWR all on SQ.
Old Nov 20, 2018, 9:31 am
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend

Programs: AS 75K; UA 1MM; Hyatt Globalist; Marriott LTP; Hilton Diamond (Aspire)
Originally Posted by Trvel4fun
goal is to earn a ton of United miles AND to have one hell of an amazing flight