Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Global Airline Alliances > Star Alliance
Reload this Page >

Not a single non-stop *A flight, MAD-LON??

Not a single non-stop *A flight, MAD-LON??

Old Jun 7, 18, 10:50 pm
  #1  
formerly fkhatibloo
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: SFO/OAK
Programs: United 1K & 1MM, Marriott Gold, Starwood Gold, Omni Select
Posts: 178
Not a single non-stop *A flight, MAD-LON??

[Mods, please move if this is in the wrong place]

Could it really be possible that United has no access to nonstop flights between Madrid and London? I've searched by Star Alliance to no avail... now I'm trying to decide between Brussels or TAP flights with a short connection, or traveling with zero status on Iberia. The reviews on the latter are... not heartening. WWFTD??
FrenchBullies1975 is offline  
Old Jun 7, 18, 10:52 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: In between IAD and DCA
Programs: UA Plat 1.1MM , Marriott Gold Elite, Hyatt Discoverist
Posts: 2,086
London isn't really a *A hub, and Madrid is certainly not as that's all IB land.

So yes, no direct flight on that route for *A. If I were you btw, I'd fly Brussels.
FrenchBullies1975 and zeer0 like this.
UAL250 is offline  
Old Jun 7, 18, 10:55 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: LA
Posts: 7,127
Originally Posted by UAL250 View Post
So yes, no direct flight on that route for *A. If I were you btw, I'd fly Brussels.
If you really need to stay on *A that is. I would fly IAG nonstop.
FrenchBullies1975 likes this.
anc-ord772 is offline  
Old Jun 7, 18, 11:10 pm
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Berlin, Germany; Toronto, Canada; and SW Florida, USA
Programs: UA 1K, BA Gold, Hyatt Globalist, and assorted others
Posts: 22,835
Originally Posted by FrenchBullies1975 View Post
[Mods, please move if this is in the wrong place]

Could it really be possible that United has no access to nonstop flights between Madrid and London? I've searched by Star Alliance to no avail... now I'm trying to decide between Brussels or TAP flights with a short connection, or traveling with zero status on Iberia. The reviews on the latter are... not heartening. WWFTD??
Of course UA has access to nonstop flights between MAD and LON, beginning with a dozen or so BA and IB flights. Easily incorporated on a UA 016 ticket. But I suspect what you are asking, is whether there are any *A non-stop services between the two cities, to which the answer is no.
FrenchBullies1975 and zeer0 like this.
LondonElite is online now  
Old Jun 8, 18, 7:30 am
  #5  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1K 1MM; AS MVPG75K; Marriott Titanium; Hilton Diamond (Aspire); Hyatt Refugeeist
Posts: 41,378
I'm confused by this question. Why would one expect a nonstop *A flight between two cities neither of which is a *A hub?
zeer0 likes this.
Kacee is offline  
Old Jun 8, 18, 10:16 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Programs: AA, UA, DL, SW, BA
Posts: 47
Right, this is a little like asking why UA doesn't have nonstops between CLT and PHL. The joys of a hub and spoke system, where you're pretty much stuck with only One World if you are traveling between two One World hubs.
fightingsioux09 is offline  
Old Jun 8, 18, 2:18 pm
  #7  
Senior Moderator, Moderator: Community Buzz, and Ambassador: Miles & More (Lufthansa, Austrian, Swiss, and other partners)
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 150km from MAN
Programs: LH SEN** HH Diamond
Posts: 26,991
Because there is no *A carrier based in the UK or Spain.
NewbieRunner is online now  
Old Jun 8, 18, 6:25 pm
  #8  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Programs: UA Plat 2MM. DL Plat, AS MVP
Posts: 12,267
It's really nice when a non-euopean carrier operates 5th freedoms on these routes. I don't recall MAD-LON having one, my my memory is short!
zrs70 is offline  
Old Jun 9, 18, 12:59 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: SFO/SJC/OAK
Programs: OZ Diamond (*G), HHonors Gold, Hyatt Discoverist, SkyPesos, AAdvantage, MR
Posts: 1,077
Rip SpanAir.
zeer0 is offline  
Old Jun 9, 18, 11:57 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NRT / HND
Programs: UA 1K, DL PM
Posts: 4,240
I always find these threads annoying when people are complaining that X alliance doesn't have any flights from City Y to City Z when both City Y and Z are not Star Alliance Hubs. Legacy carriers fly Hub and Spoke models for the most part, so those hubs in Western Europe are LIS, BRU, FRA, MUC, and CPH (to a lesser extent ARN as well). If your flight does not involve one of those cities, then you'll be connecting if you want Star Alliance.
dvs7310 is offline  
Old Jun 10, 18, 12:05 pm
  #11  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1K 1MM; AS MVPG75K; Marriott Titanium; Hilton Diamond (Aspire); Hyatt Refugeeist
Posts: 41,378
Originally Posted by dvs7310 View Post
Legacy carriers fly Hub and Spoke models for the most part, so those hubs in Western Europe are LIS, BRU, FRA, MUC, and CPH (to a lesser extent ARN as well)
Also VIE, ZRH, GVA, and WAW.
zeer0 likes this.
Kacee is offline  
Old Jun 10, 18, 1:04 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: London & Sonoma CA
Programs: UA 1K MM, Hertz PC, BAEC Silver
Posts: 7,988
Probably cheaper for the OP to fly on Easyjet or Ryanair and buy the miles needed.
ElJudioErrante likes this.
lhrsfo is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread