which itinerary would you pick?

Old May 5, 18, 10:13 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 345
which itinerary would you pick?

This is for aeroplan award flight redemption for econ.

TG BKK 2330 ICN 0655+1
SQ ICN 1120 LAX 0640
UA LAX 1225 SFO 1358
AC SFO 1620 YVR 1838
AC YVR 2205 YYC 0028


TG BKK 2330 ICN 0655+1
OZ132 ICN 0845 FUK 1015
NH256 FUK 1415 HND 1555
NH HND 2150 YVR 1445
AC YVR 2205 YYC 0028

I'm leaning towards the one with SQ because it's been a LONG time since I've been on SQ. That's assuming the routing is permissible too.
seks is offline  
Old May 5, 18, 12:24 pm
  #2  
tya
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Taipei, Taiwan; New York NY
Programs: TK Miles&Smiles, AAdvantage, Flying Blue
Posts: 264
I didn't like NH on TPAC Econ. Seats weren't comfortable. But your option is HND-YVR so relatively short and might be bearable.
tya is offline  
Old May 6, 18, 5:12 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Programs: A3 Gold, KF Classic, Accor Plus Platinum, HHonors Diamond, M&C Loyalty Gold
Posts: 374
Originally Posted by seks View Post
This is for aeroplan award flight redemption for econ.

TG BKK 2330 ICN 0655+1
SQ ICN 1120 LAX 0640
UA LAX 1225 SFO 1358
AC SFO 1620 YVR 1838
AC YVR 2205 YYC 0028


TG BKK 2330 ICN 0655+1
OZ132 ICN 0845 FUK 1015
NH256 FUK 1415 HND 1555
NH HND 2150 YVR 1445
AC YVR 2205 YYC 0028

I'm leaning towards the one with SQ because it's been a LONG time since I've been on SQ. That's assuming the routing is permissible too.
will choose option with the most Asian carrier
yauee is offline  
Old May 6, 18, 10:17 am
  #4  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 69,136
I'd skip the US transit unless you really want that experience. And I don't know many who go out of their way for it. The Japan transit will likely be more pleasant, though you will have to transfer terminals (outside security; train required) at HND.
sbm12 is offline  
Old May 6, 18, 2:12 pm
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 345
Remind me again: do I have to pass thru security in ICN after getting off the TG flight? I wanna be able to shop at the duty-free before getting on the OZ flight.

gcpmap has BKK-ICN-FUK-HND-YVR-YYC as 8312 miles. EF indicated BKK-YYC MPM as 8992. So I'm assuiming the itnerary is valid without calling Aeroplan to confirm?
seks is offline  
Old May 6, 18, 7:11 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Programs: AC MM E50 , Former SPG, now Marriott LT Plat
Posts: 5,300
Originally Posted by seks View Post
Remind me again: do I have to pass thru security in ICN after getting off the TG flight? I wanna be able to shop at the duty-free before getting on the OZ flight.

gcpmap has BKK-ICN-FUK-HND-YVR-YYC as 8312 miles. EF indicated BKK-YYC MPM as 8992. So I'm assuiming the itnerary is valid without calling Aeroplan to confirm?
Yes, there is a security check at ICN while in transit. You shoud be allowed to keep your duty-free as long as it is in sealed bags.

Remember, on the Japan transit, you will have to pass Japanese immigration and customs since you are transitting on a domestic flight.
IluvSQ is offline  
Old May 6, 18, 7:27 pm
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 345
Originally Posted by IluvSQ View Post
Yes, there is a security check at ICN while in transit. You shoud be allowed to keep your duty-free as long as it is in sealed bags.

Remember, on the Japan transit, you will have to pass Japanese immigration and customs since you are transitting on a domestic flight.
Shoot...that reminds me about duty-free:

I plan to pick up some facial products (possibly some liquids) at ICN duty-free. So when I get to FUK, do I get to retrieve my luggages so that I can put the products in them and then re-check for my FUK-HND flight?
seks is offline  
Old May 6, 18, 7:36 pm
  #8  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 69,136
No liquids restrictions on domestic Japanese flights.

Not sure how they'll be treated at HND when you transfer to the international departures terminal. They might be okay in a sealed DF bag. Or maybe not.
sbm12 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread