ORD Terminal 5 lounge

Old Nov 20, 2013, 4:14 pm
  #16  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: DCA or IAD (originally DUB)
Programs: UA 1K 1.8MM, Hertz PC, Marriott Platinum/Lifetime Gold
Posts: 7,657
Originally Posted by DCdeacon
I've done some searching and haven't seen this anywhere--my wife and I are flying LOT from ORD-WAW tomorrow in Business. I'm also *A Gold. It appears we have access to the Swiss lounge, the SAS lounge, or the "Swissport" lounge. What's our best option to kill a three hour layover before the flight? Thanks!
"ORD lounge" = http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/star-...-5-lounge.html
UAPremExecflyer is offline  
Old Nov 20, 2013, 9:19 pm
  #17  
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CLT
Programs: AA EXP
Posts: 709
Originally Posted by UAPremExecflyer
Thanks. I apparently need to think more creatively when searching, as I was searching "O'hare lounges"!
DCdeacon is offline  
Old Dec 6, 2013, 10:20 am
  #18  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Programs: American Airlines
Posts: 30,207
Star Alliance Lounges at ORD T5

I'm flying SK ord-arn-lhr in a few weeks. I know there is a SAS and Swiss lounge at the lovely place they call Terminal 5 () but when I looked at the star alliance lounge finder it mentioned a JAL contracted club there as well but couldn't find any more info/location/etc regarding it.

Does anyone know if there are more then just the Swiss or SAS lounges there?

Thanks
enviroian is offline  
Old Dec 6, 2013, 1:07 pm
  #19  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: ORD
Programs: UA 1K
Posts: 16,905
I'm completely confused. You mention seeing a JAL contract lounge on the Star Alliance site, but JAL is One World, departs out of T3 and uses the AA lounge.

From the ORD website, these are the T5 lounges:

Air France Lounge (KLM, Aer Lingus, Aero Mexico, Air India, Korean, Royal Jordanian) Terminal 5 Gate M7

British Airways First Lounge Terminal 5 Gate M12

British Airways Terraces Lounge Terminal 5 Near Gate M12

SAS Lounge (Asiana Airlines, Cathay Pacific Airways, Etihad Airways)
Terminal 5 Near Gate M15


Swiss International / Austrian Lounge
Terminal 5 Gate M8


Swissport Lounge (Copa Airlines, LOT Polish Airlines, Turkish Airlines, Virgin Altantic Airways)
Terminal 5 Gate M7
milepig is offline  
Old Dec 6, 2013, 3:00 pm
  #20  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Juneau, Alaska.
Programs: AS 75K;BA Silver;AA G;HH Dia;HY Glob
Posts: 15,908
When I use the lounge finder I get the following results for T5:
SAS Business Lounge Business Lounge Terminal 5 Depature level,
M7

SWISS Business Lounge SWISS Business Class Lounge 5 ..,
jerry a. laska is offline  
Old Dec 7, 2013, 7:55 am
  #21  
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 860
Originally Posted by milepig
I'm completely confused. You mention seeing a JAL contract lounge on the Star Alliance site, but JAL is One World, departs out of T3 and uses the AA lounge.

From the ORD website, these are the T5 lounges:

Air France Lounge (KLM, Aer Lingus, Aero Mexico, Air India, Korean, Royal Jordanian) Terminal 5 Gate M7

British Airways First Lounge Terminal 5 Gate M12

British Airways Terraces Lounge Terminal 5 Near Gate M12

SAS Lounge (Asiana Airlines, Cathay Pacific Airways, Etihad Airways)
Terminal 5 Near Gate M15


Swiss International / Austrian Lounge
Terminal 5 Gate M8


Swissport Lounge (Copa Airlines, LOT Polish Airlines, Turkish Airlines, Virgin Altantic Airways)
Terminal 5 Gate M7
There's also Alitalia's lounge near M12/M13 too. EY will be moving over to Air France Lounge.

If you're going on SK, I'd just use their lounge. I noticed the eye roll. If you haven't departed out of T5 recently, it's not the same as it use to be. Besides the $30MM on new concessions and checkpoint, another $25MM was just approved for additional /building customer improvements.
ords is offline  
Old Dec 7, 2013, 11:41 am
  #22  
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: ORD
Programs: AA, UA, GE
Posts: 5,145
Originally Posted by ords
There's also Alitalia's lounge near M12/M13 too. EY will be moving over to Air France Lounge.

If you're going on SK, I'd just use their lounge. I noticed the eye roll. If you haven't departed out of T5 recently, it's not the same as it use to be. Besides the $30MM on new concessions and checkpoint, another $25MM was just approved for additional /building customer improvements.
And the *A lounges in T5 are better than the typical UC as well.
cheltzel is offline  
Old Dec 7, 2013, 1:09 pm
  #23  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Programs: American Airlines
Posts: 30,207
Thanks for the info. Sorry for any confusion. The star alliance website oddly listed a JL contract lounge for use..I thought this was odd as it's a One World carrier.

Ian
enviroian is offline  
Old Dec 11, 2013, 7:53 pm
  #24  
HNL
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,967
Originally Posted by enviroian
Thanks for the info. Sorry for any confusion. The star alliance website oddly listed a JL contract lounge for use..I thought this was odd as it's a One World carrier.

Ian
JAL used to have a lounge in T5, but about 2 years ago JAL moved departures to T3 alongside AA. I'm sure that the JAL lounge was - at one time - a contract lounge for a *A carrier.

It's odd for sure, but look at CX, they are using the Swiss lounge at T5.
HNL is offline  
Old Mar 29, 2014, 1:18 pm
  #25  
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Programs: united, Hilton, Amtrak
Posts: 1,211
If I'm flying bc on lot, can I use either lounge?
Steve Weagant is online now  
Old Apr 2, 2014, 9:29 pm
  #26  
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: RMS
Programs: DL Plat, UA Gold, Bonvoy Titanium, Hilton Credit Card Diamond
Posts: 8,837
I have a 3 hour layover at ORD before a flight in LH J. It looks like LH flies out of Terminal 1 which only has United Clubs. Does anyone have experience entering T5 to use the SAS or Swiss lounges when flying out of T1? Are they even worth the time and effort to get to T5?
mattp1987 is offline  
Old Apr 2, 2014, 10:19 pm
  #27  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: LGA/JFK/EWR
Programs: UA 1K1.75MM, Hyatt Globalist, abandoned Marriott LTT (RIP SPG), Hertz PC
Posts: 21,177
Originally Posted by mattp1987
I have a 3 hour layover at ORD before a flight in LH J. It looks like LH flies out of Terminal 1 which only has United Clubs. Does anyone have experience entering T5 to use the SAS or Swiss lounges when flying out of T1? Are they even worth the time and effort to get to T5?
Not worth your time - just go to Tortas Frontera and enjoy some good food & drinks :-:
UA-NYC is online now  
Old Apr 2, 2014, 11:53 pm
  #28  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 17
Originally Posted by mattp1987
I have a 3 hour layover at ORD before a flight in LH J. It looks like LH flies out of Terminal 1 which only has United Clubs. Does anyone have experience entering T5 to use the SAS or Swiss lounges when flying out of T1? Are they even worth the time and effort to get to T5?
Originally Posted by UA-NYC
Not worth your time ...
Can you even get airside at T5 with an LH (i.e., T1) BP?
drummerboy1969 is offline  
Old Apr 3, 2014, 7:27 am
  #29  
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: RMS
Programs: DL Plat, UA Gold, Bonvoy Titanium, Hilton Credit Card Diamond
Posts: 8,837
Originally Posted by drummerboy1969
Can you even get airside at T5 with an LH (i.e., T1) BP?
That was the first part of my question. For example, at BWI I've gone to D terminal to use the AirSpace lounge when flying WN out of B. For those who don't know A/B/C are connected airside but D is not. However, I also have an upcoming trip out of JFK on KLM (T4) and was hoping to go to T1 for the Air France lounge, but it appears TSA won't allow anyone in without a T1 boarding pass. I seem to remember sbm12 posting about a similar issue at LAX in the past. I wonder if it would be helpful to have a thread with a wiki somewhere with information on accessing lounges in separate terminals at various airports. I'm not sure which forum would be appropriate.
mattp1987 is offline  
Old Apr 4, 2014, 9:02 am
  #30  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: PSM
Posts: 69,232
Even if you can get through it isn't worth it for the ~45-60 minutes you'd spend in the lounge. Don't waste the time or effort trying IMO.
sbm12 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.