From Florence to Barcelona

Old May 1, 05, 6:23 pm
Original Poster

Question From Florence to Barcelona

I am an American rookie traveler visiting Europe for the first time in 34 years. How expensive would it be and how many hours would it take to rent a car and drive from Florence to Barcelona? Can anyone suggest some places to stop along the way? As I don't have to arrive until very late in the evening, where would you suggest I stop for lunch and dinner. Please remember I have never driven in Europe, although I am assuming the roads will be fairly similar to what we have in the States. Any and all suggestions will be appreciated.
Old May 1, 05, 6:36 pm
Moderator, Hilton Honors

Programs: up in the air
Welcome to FT Richard Peterson

Sorry I cant help you much. IIRC there are quite a lot of hills between Florence and Barcelona, may make for a long day. Some stretches are toll roads.

Plenty of interesting places to stop along the way - could easily make it a few days to do this trip. Eg Pisa, some nice coastal places in northwest of Italy, Monaco, Nice (and hinterland), Aigues Mortes, Marseille, etc.
Old May 1, 05, 7:28 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: AA EXP; DL Platinum; UA Gold MM; IHG Spire Ambassador; Hilton Gold; Marriott Gold
You could always fly Meridiana if the drive appears to be too unwieldy.
Old May 2, 05, 12:44 am
In Memoriam

Programs: Executive Club Gold/Frequence Plus Red
Welcome to FT.

The trip can be done in two days if you are in a rush, but could take you up to a month if you took time to visit all the interesting places on the way

Driving is not going to be much of a problem, especially if you stay on the autostradas, autoroutes etc.

The costs could be quite high as you are considering a one way trip, meaning drop-off charges. As far as highway tolls are concerned, you'll end up with $ 92.- less in your wallet. Gas should run at $100.-/120.- and you are looking at 650 miles of travel.

Places to stop are a myriad.

Have a good trip