Wiki Posts
Search

Newbie Traveling To Portugal in Fall

Search this Thread

Old Mar 16, 2021, 10:59 am
Original Poster

Programs: United, AA, Amex, Delta, Chase
Newbie Traveling To Portugal in Fall

I am new to international travel and here to seek advice from you experienced travelers, before making any newbie mistakes. This is a wonderful source of information - all of you are so generous with your time.

My family and I want to travel in the mid-late fall to Portugal, leaving from Albuquerque NM. We don’t have any particular loyalty to a specific airline, but want to find a good confluence of comfort (hoping to to use our miles for business class) and duration.

From what I have read on FlyerTalk we most likely want to avoid TAP. What reliable and comfortable airlines and routes would you recommend, given our more isolated airport location?

Flights seem mostly to offer 2 stops from ABQ; DEN, EWR then to Europebeing the most common combination, or else SLC direct to Europe, or LAX direct. I don’t know anything about the difference in comfort on the aircraft or airlines flying from these departure cities, so advice on this area would also be most helpful from those of you who have the experience. Delta offers KLM or Air France, American offers British Air through London or Iberia through Madrid, United (I think) has flights on Air Canada through Canada and Lufthansa via Germany. United also has direct flights from EWR and American from Philadelphia.

The other bit of advice that would be very helpful is how to manage the return trip. Most of the transatlantic flights seem to depart at 5:30 am from LIS. One suggestion I received was to fly from LIS to AMS and spend the night near AMS, taking a flight to ABQ the next day. I am not sure about the pros and cons of that route other than that it might be hard to get transport to LIS at 4 am for a 5:30 am flight, not to mention disruptive.