Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Europe > Spain/Portugal/Gibraltar
Reload this Page >

Question about train journey requiring transfer between Madrid stations

Question about train journey requiring transfer between Madrid stations

Old Apr 8, 18, 1:34 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: ORD
Programs: Delta, AA, United, Marriott
Posts: 381
Question Question about train journey requiring transfer between Madrid stations

Apologies if this belongs in the rail forum, since it is all within Spain I decided to put it here.

I will be going from Salamanca to Toledo. This will require arriving at Chamartin in Madrid, then continuing on from Atocha.

Will my Renfe ticket cover the cost of such a transfer? Will it be fairly obvious how to make this transfer when I arrive at Chamartin?
Clay_C. is offline  
Old Apr 8, 18, 2:07 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: somewhere between Europe and Africa, from SFO
Programs: A3*G, EY Silver
Posts: 7,671
Most RENFE tickets cover your Cercanias within Madrid. You will get to Chamartin, go upstairs, then find your cercanias train (any train going southbound will get you to Atocha), get to Atocha, and find our high-speed train to Toledo. Easy enough.
Palal is offline  
Old Apr 8, 18, 7:13 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: ORD
Programs: Delta, AA, United, Marriott
Posts: 381
Thank you. Having done most of my rail travel in and around Germany, I am not at all familiar with this having to transfer stations thing.
Clay_C. is offline  
Old Apr 9, 18, 2:06 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: MAD
Programs: IB+, BAEC
Posts: 2,360
Also, it won't be immediately obvious how to get your cercanías ticket.

You will need to get to one of the red machines and look for the "combinado cercanías" code on your Renfe ticket. Then you enter that code in the appropriate area in the cercanías machine to get your free ticket.

LupineChemist is offline  
Old Apr 9, 18, 8:06 pm
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: ORD
Programs: Delta, AA, United, Marriott
Posts: 381
Thank you very much. Exactly the kind of information I need.
Clay_C. is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread