Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Fear of Flying

Search this Thread

Old Dec 6, 2007, 9:18 am
Original Poster

Programs: GM DL, AA, USAir, Avis Prefered, Hilton Honors Gold, Marriott Rewards Silver, Starwood Prefered, CRC
Fear of Flying

You'd be surprised by the number of people who suffer from a fear of flying. I have been a business flyer for almost 16 years and yet it still bothers me to an extent. At any rate, The folks at Southwest are very helpful and understanding of those who suffer from this phobia and I've heard many praises of their flight attendants and their pilots.

I am an admin for a free fear of flying sight that features a Southwest Airlines pilot who is there to answer questions people may have with regards to a fear of flying. The admins consist of pilots, business people and the everyday person that has to fly. We're all there to help give support in any way we can. Fee free to check us out at www.getonthatplane.com.
Old Dec 6, 2007, 9:47 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: WN Platinum
Interesting. The site could help people who are afraid of flying.

I'm a bit claustrophobic which is why I prefer aisle seats, but I've never been afraid of flying. It's one of those things that I just realize is outside of my control if something goes wrong, like an asteroid hitting the earth - nothing I can do to save myself if it were to happen.

Fortunately WN has an exemplary safety record, another reason why I fly with WN. They may be cheap on fares, but they definitely don't skimp on maintenance.
Old Dec 6, 2007, 1:01 pm
Original Poster

Programs: GM DL, AA, USAir, Avis Prefered, Hilton Honors Gold, Marriott Rewards Silver, Starwood Prefered, CRC
Yep, WN has a great safety record and many people choose to fly them due to that record. I'm a big Delta flyer myself but I have no qualms with WN whatsoever.