Southwest hotel portal, companion pass

Old Jan 11, 20, 11:53 am
Original Poster

Southwest hotel portal, companion pass

Good day! Forgive me, as I'm a newbie to Southwest and the companion pass. I was just approved for the Southwest card with 75k signup bonus, which after the required spend will leave me 45k short of the companion pass. I will have some upcoming hotel stays in 2021, that if I were to gain the bonus points through the hotel portal, should bring me close to the companion pass goal. So my question is, if I book the hotel in 2020 for a stay in 2021, and book a nonrefundable rate that immediately charges my card, will my bonus points count toward my 2020 companion pass goal, or will it only be after my actual stay. On the hotel portal it states that it may take up to 8 weeks after the hotel stay for accounts to be credited, but I wasn't sure if that included nonrefundable rates that are charged at time of booking. Thanks for any feedback!
Old Jan 11, 20, 12:10 pm

Programs: Southwest Companion Pass
Originally Posted by duceno1 View Post
Good day! Forgive me, as I'm a newbie to Southwest and the companion pass. I was just approved for the Southwest card with 75k signup bonus, which after the required spend will leave me 45k short of the companion pass. I will have some upcoming hotel stays in 2021, that if I were to gain the bonus points through the hotel portal, should bring me close to the companion pass goal. So my question is, if I book the hotel in 2020 for a stay in 2021, and book a nonrefundable rate that immediately charges my card, will my bonus points count toward my 2020 companion pass goal, or will it only be after my actual stay. On the hotel portal it states that it may take up to 8 weeks after the hotel stay for accounts to be credited, but I wasn't sure if that included nonrefundable rates that are charged at time of booking. Thanks for any feedback!