SWA "No Flight Change", can I stay?

Reply

Old Jun 16, 19, 7:58 am
  #16  
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Nashville -Past DL Plat, FO, WN-CP, various hotel programs
Programs: DL-MM, AA, SW w/companion,HiltonDiamond, Hyatt PLat, IHF Plat, Miles and Points Seeker
Posts: 8,612
Originally Posted by dmbolp View Post
The “catch” is automatic/easy isn’t it? It’s just the unscanned boarding pass
Yes... that will kick out the other half of the ticket.

I suppose, depending on your skills, you cold argue later that you indeed did fly that leg and their system messed up somehow. It happens.
NoStressHere is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 19, 11:25 am
  #17  
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,390
There wouldn't be any boarding pass scan for the second leg of a through flight. If OP does the proper thing and says he isn't continuing, do they record his name, match it with his record, and cancel the return? If the through count is short, in this day (as I've seen reported before) do they check IDs of all thrus to see who's missing?
rove312 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 19, 4:28 pm
  #18  
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Nashville -Past DL Plat, FO, WN-CP, various hotel programs
Programs: DL-MM, AA, SW w/companion,HiltonDiamond, Hyatt PLat, IHF Plat, Miles and Points Seeker
Posts: 8,612
Originally Posted by rove312 View Post
There wouldn't be any boarding pass scan for the second leg of a through flight. If OP does the proper thing and says he isn't continuing, do they record his name, match it with his record, and cancel the return? If the through count is short, in this day (as I've seen reported before) do they check IDs of all thrus to see who's missing?

Good catch. There would not be a rescan of the boarding pass unless there was equipment change. So, then it comes down to the headcount. No idea if they would take action before boarding started if they were short "through passengers". And, it could even be wrong or missed?

If the flight was sold out, they might discover an empty seat eventually. But at that point, they would have no idea who was missing.
NoStressHere is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 19, 8:14 pm
  #19  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 5,143
Originally Posted by NoStressHere View Post
Good catch. There would not be a rescan of the boarding pass unless there was equipment change. So, then it comes down to the headcount. No idea if they would take action before boarding started if they were short "through passengers". And, it could even be wrong or missed?

If the flight was sold out, they might discover an empty seat eventually. But at that point, they would have no idea who was missing.
I have not experienced this but as a through they do count and if the number matches they just keep going. I have not idea what they do if the number doesn't match. Someone may have experienced that but usually there aren't too many throughs so they probably just check the throughs and see who is missing, before allowing boarding.

Last edited by rsteinmetz70112; Jun 17, 19 at 9:49 am
rsteinmetz70112 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 19, 8:49 pm
  #20  
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,390
It's been a few years since I've seen discussion of it here. It's clear that if the count is high, they try to determine, by checking IDs if necessary, who might be on a segment they haven't booked. If the count is short, Employees have said they try to locate the missing pax, doing a page in the terminal if needed; I'm not sure how much that happens nowadays.
rove312 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 19, 7:10 am
  #21  
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Programs: LTP, PP
Posts: 7,684
FWIW, once 3 of us were on a 3 leg, no plane change, 9 hour marathon getting back from the west coast and we had BP's for the last hop (it was cheaper to book 2 then 1). Was not going to deplane and come back on.

I tried in vain to show/give/tell the counting FA that count would be off by 3 but she couldn't have cared less, deplaned immediately and presumably dumped the "problem" onto the GA.

I waited at the entrance with the BP's for a few minutes and the GA appeared, I explained again, showed some ID and all was well.
joshua362 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread