Power-Outlets?

Reply

Old Dec 11, 17, 2:17 pm
  #31  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: LAS
Posts: 1,408
Originally Posted by ursine1 View Post
Wait, the manufacturer claims maintenance calls are few?
LOL!
NextTrip is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 17, 9:44 am
  #32  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicagoland, IL, USA
Programs: WN CP, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 13,116
Seems like every time I travel on other airlines with electrical outlets, they are loose/broken. Plug won't stay in much of the time.
NextTrip likes this.
toomanybooks is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 17, 10:20 am
  #33  
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Blue Ridge, GA
Posts: 4,235
Originally Posted by toomanybooks View Post
Seems like every time I travel on other airlines with electrical outlets, they are loose/broken. Plug won't stay in much of the time.
The can be tricky, yes. To land in Hong Kong without dead devices - including the one you spent polishing your presentation - is indispensable. ATL-MDW, no biggie.
NextTrip likes this.
LegalTender is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 17, 12:37 pm
  #34  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: LAS
Posts: 1,408
Originally Posted by LegalTender View Post
The can be tricky, yes. To land in Hong Kong without dead devices - including the one you spent polishing your presentation - is indispensable. ATL-MDW, no biggie.
As you say, no biggie. When I fly SWA, I watch some TV on my iPad Mini and just leave my fully-charged MacBook Air in my bag for when I get to my destination.

Last edited by NextTrip; Dec 14, 17 at 5:06 pm
NextTrip is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 17, 3:37 pm
  #35  
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Programs: IHG Spire Elite, Marriott Titanium, AA Plat, WN A-List Preferred
Posts: 260
I plugged my laptop in on a Delta flight the other day, which I had not done before, and found that the power system has a 75watt limit and switched off. For my smaller devices I have a small power pack anyway.

I wonder how much weight a USB power system for tablets and phones only would add.
maracle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 17, 4:05 pm
  #36  
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Blue Ridge, GA
Posts: 4,235
Originally Posted by maracle View Post
I wonder how much weight a USB power system for tablets and phones only would add.
Presumably they'd still need inverters, so roughly the same. USB ports in AVOD screens always seem to work. But FA's won't let you plug in until you're airborne because the wires could obstruct a seatmate in emergency evacuation.
LegalTender is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 17, 5:08 pm
  #37  
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: ATL
Programs: Delta Plat
Posts: 5,559
Originally Posted by LegalTender View Post
The can be tricky, yes. To land in Hong Kong without dead devices - including the one you spent polishing your presentation - is indispensable. ATL-MDW, no biggie.
Hell, even TPAC it is not really needed if one looks to power issues when buying their devices. Yeah I might have to swap between notebook and tablet if I really stay awake all night. But often never plug in.

But domestic? What the hell do people use for devices? Or do 737s now stay in the air for 8 hours?
exwannabe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 17, 7:41 pm
  #38  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: home = LAX
Posts: 23,725
Originally Posted by exwannabe View Post
But domestic? What the hell do people use for devices? Or do 737s now stay in the air for 8 hours?
Some devices can't charge fast enough for someone spending all day transferring between multiple shorter flights, but not having that much time available near an outlet in between. It's hard to charge while you're queued up in the boarding line in the A20-25 section or wherever.
sdsearch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 17, 8:30 pm
  #39  
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: MSP - DL Hub Hell
Programs: Marriott LTPP, UA Silver (via Marriott), WN CP, Choice Platinum
Posts: 641
Originally Posted by toomanybooks View Post
Seems like every time I travel on other airlines with electrical outlets, they are loose/broken. Plug won't stay in much of the time.
When I find this happening - and it is decently common - I use a converter (Type L to USA or something similar), which tends to stay in the plug a whole lot better. I bought a couple converters on Amazon for like $4 each.
Carpboy823 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread