Las Vegas C to D Gates

Old Nov 25, 13, 1:36 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Carlsbad,CA USA
Programs: Marriott Bonvoy Titanuim/Lifetime Platinum, Hilton Gold, United Silver
Posts: 1,314
Las Vegas C to D Gates

I an flying out on Southwest tomorrow night out of Las Vegas and a friend is flying in on United. I would like to see him for a few minutes before my flight. Is there a way to get to the D gates once I check in for my flight at the Southwest Counter.
holocker is offline  
Old Nov 25, 13, 3:56 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Western US
Programs: WN CP, WN A-List Preferred, AS MVPG 75k, SPG Gold, Hilton Gold, Hyatt Diamond
Posts: 554
Not really, the D and C concourse use two totally separate TSA checkpoints and they are unconnected airside. Also, if your friend happens to have bags on United he'll be sent over to Terminal 3 to reclaim his bags. United operates out of the D gates, but uses Terminal 3 for check in/baggage claim facilities.

If he's arriving at a time early enough before your flight and he doesn't have bags he could ride the tram over to Terminal 1 and meet you outside security.
TheChallenge is offline  
Old Nov 25, 13, 11:46 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 110
You can pass between C and D gates no problem but you have to ask a TSA agent to pass you through. I have never had a problem doing this. For me it has usually been in order to go to the Centurion lounge.
goods312 is offline  
Old Nov 25, 13, 11:53 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 577
Originally Posted by goods312 View Post
You can pass between C and D gates no problem but you have to ask a TSA agent to pass you through. I have never had a problem doing this. For me it has usually been in order to go to the Centurion lounge.
Yes, you can pass through near where the trams are once you go through security. I passed both directions when I was there recently (also to visit a lounge) and had no troubles the first time. On the way back through I got a lecture about it not being allowed and only let through as a "one-time" deal but it was by an agent on their way somewhere else so they may have been annoyed that I stopped them.

I'm curious to know why they even have that glass partition there anyways.
tys90 is offline  
Old Nov 25, 13, 12:01 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: TUS/PDX
Programs: WN CP/A-List, AS MVPG75K
Posts: 5,798
Occasionally the glass door is open. If that's the case, you can just walk through.

Originally Posted by tys90 View Post
I'm curious to know why they even have that glass partition there anyways.
I've always heard it was to minimize the disruption if someone got through without being screened.
tusphotog is offline  
Old Nov 25, 13, 1:02 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: MCI
Programs: Southwest A-List, AMC Stubs A-List, Chick-fil-A-List
Posts: 391
The line dragon at the D checkpoint will let you through with a Southwest boarding pass -- no need to start at the ABC or C checkpoint. I've done this several times to visit the Centurion lounge before a flight with no hassle.

You can use the aforementioned glass door to get to C after you are done.
SpeedyDelivery is offline  
Old Nov 25, 13, 2:38 pm
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Programs: HH Gold, AA Gold
Posts: 10,142
The REAL question is "why didn't the airport plan better?" They don't have the "pre-911" excuse...they simply did a POOR job of designing the new concourses and the whole Terminal 3 mess. Passengers are easily confused by all of this and the airport can't even explain it well on their website. What a poor excuse of an airport operation!
formeraa is offline  
Old Nov 25, 13, 10:48 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,863
I suspect airport design this on purpose.
Southwest is a big player at LAS and they don't want their passengers to have access to legacy airlines facilities.

Last edited by Mama; Nov 25, 13 at 10:53 pm
Mama is offline  
Old Nov 26, 13, 1:13 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: TUS/PDX
Programs: WN CP/A-List, AS MVPG75K
Posts: 5,798
Originally Posted by Mama View Post
...they don't want their passengers to have access to legacy airlines facilities.
I really doubt this has anything to do with it.
tusphotog is offline  
Old Nov 26, 13, 2:28 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Western US
Programs: WN CP, WN A-List Preferred, AS MVPG 75k, SPG Gold, Hilton Gold, Hyatt Diamond
Posts: 554
The airport was originally planning on doing a tare down and rebuild one at a time of A,B,C concourses in the same style format of the D concourse. However, 9/11 happened, and US Air closed the night hub, so a large portion of the D concourse sat empty for years. WN grew and took over more spots in C until the point where they are the sole occupant, and now overflow to B with Airtran. C used to be unconnected to B and A up until five or so years ago when WN needed the additional space. C doesn't connect to D because it was supposed to have been torn down by now. Terminal 3 is the way it is because it was almost entirely funded by Federal Stimulus funds, it was overbuilt to completely take advantage of every available dollar.

The airport authority would prefer to get rid of/completely remodel A,B,C but there simply isn't the room to put WN and Allegiant somewhere in the meantime. With the opening of Terminal 3, the airport authority finally ended up kicking everyone except the LCCs and charters out of the old facilities.

And yes, most of the time you can get one of the TSA agents to let you through the glass door, however there have been times where they tell me no way and go around. Supposedly they do so to preserve the ability to completely evacuate A,B,C without having an impact on D,E.
TheChallenge is offline  
Old Nov 26, 13, 10:01 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Programs: WN peon (was A+), IHG Plat Hilton HHonors Gold DL SkyPesos PM (still a peon) US Chmn, Hawaiian Haole
Posts: 1,166
I've never -not- been able to do it, attempted maybe 20 times, sometimes very easy and sometimes tough to flag down a TSA agent willing to do it. Even got a janitor to do it for me a couple times. Reason is usually to get to the AmEx Centurion Club across from D1. C is a total dump compared to D or the new Terminal 3.
johnslloyd is offline  
Old Nov 27, 13, 3:30 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: ONT
Programs: AA Gold, WN A-, UA S, HH ♦, IHG Spire, Hertz Prez O, TSA Disparager
Posts: 2,159
I must be a pie-head because I'm confused. I'll need to check my bags with WN in T1, clear security in T1 and head to the UA Club near D35 in T3. How exactly to I get to and from the UA Club while staying airside?
Michael El is offline  
Old Nov 27, 13, 3:38 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: MCI
Programs: Southwest A-List, AMC Stubs A-List, Chick-fil-A-List
Posts: 391
Originally Posted by Michael El View Post
I must be a pie-head because I'm confused. I'll need to check my bags with WN in T1, clear security in T1 and head to the UA Club near D35 in T3. How exactly to I get to and from the UA Club while staying airside?
After checking your bags, head right then upstairs, follow the signs for D-gates, show your Southwest boarding pass and let the TSA know you are aware you're at the D checkpoint and your flight departs elsewhere. Right after security there is a train that will take you to the airside section of D.
SpeedyDelivery is offline  
Old Nov 27, 13, 3:59 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: ONT
Programs: AA Gold, WN A-, UA S, HH ♦, IHG Spire, Hertz Prez O, TSA Disparager
Posts: 2,159
Originally Posted by sigma1104 View Post
After checking your bags, head right then upstairs, follow the signs for D-gates, show your Southwest boarding pass and let the TSA know you are aware you're at the D checkpoint and your flight departs elsewhere. Right after security there is a train that will take you to the airside section of D.
Got it thank you. Can I take the train back to the WN gates without having to exit and reclear security?
Michael El is offline  
Old Nov 27, 13, 4:18 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: MCI
Programs: Southwest A-List, AMC Stubs A-List, Chick-fil-A-List
Posts: 391
Originally Posted by Michael El View Post
Got it thank you. Can I take the train back to the WN gates without having to exit and reclear security?
Yes. Take the train marked as "To A,B,C gates" and right after you exit the train ask a TSA agent to escort you through the glass door to C.
SpeedyDelivery is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: