Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Southwest Airlines | Rapid Rewards
Reload this Page >

Pre-Check is starting! Login and look for Opt-in box (was: coming later this year)

Pre-Check is starting! Login and look for Opt-in box (was: coming later this year)

Old Nov 30, 13, 10:39 pm
  #496  
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: LAX
Programs: WN A-List
Posts: 1,015
I got sent through Pre-Check at PDX today. I'm A+ (in my 30's) and have no TT# and there was no Pre Check printed on my boarding pass. At PDX the boarding passes get scanned before they direct you to a Pre Check or regular screening line. It was pretty nice since I had a ton of crap with me and was able to leave everything in my bags. There were a lot of people who clearly had no idea what Pre Check was and why they were being sent through it.
Dunbar is offline  
Old Dec 1, 13, 8:33 am
  #497  
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: STL
Programs: Hyatt Platinum, Hilton Gold
Posts: 513
Went through Precheck the day before Thanksgiving with no issues. No one else was allowed through but me. I was able to leave everything on including shoes, jacket, belt. Had a big back pack that I just placed in the tray and ran it through. Easy as pie. The guy that scanned the pass asked me if I was active duty and I said No (I'm civ). Felt bad for the other people that had to wait in the long security line just a few feet from me. I've used Precheck for the past year now with no issues, but most of the smaller airports do not have that setup.
doss1 is offline  
Old Dec 1, 13, 6:35 pm
  #498  
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,842
Originally Posted by doss1 View Post
Went through Precheck the day before Thanksgiving with no issues. No one else was allowed through but me.
Certainly seems wasteful to have a dedicated Pre-check line for just one pax, but I guess nothing TSA does would surprise me.
smmrfld is online now  
Old Dec 2, 13, 9:07 am
  #499  
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: BWI
Programs: Marriott Plat. Life
Posts: 13
I had a 10 minute wait and 15+ people in the BWI checkpoint A line this morning. A majority of people in line appeared to be 65+ years in age and infrequent travelers. I was surprised at the delay given the positive experience I had last year with PRE while flying Delta.
pacman099 is offline  
Old Dec 2, 13, 9:26 am
  #500  
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,978
C gates at LAS this morning: Two security lanes open; Crew/Elite (far left) and PreCheck (far right). All non elite sent thru PreCheck. Took about 10 minutes to clear, with maybe 10 people in front of me. No bins available, told to leave CPAP in case. WTMD only. Prior to ID check two agents were swabbing hands, but randomly... I walked right past. Kinda hilarious that TSA has given up even the pretense of screening. My bags went right thru the scanner without even stopping.
ursine1 is offline  
Old Dec 2, 13, 11:32 am
  #501  
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: MCI
Programs: CBP Global Entry, WN A-List Preferred, WN Companion Pass
Posts: 1,943
Originally Posted by ursine1 View Post
C gates at LAS this morning: Two security lanes open; Crew/Elite (far left) and PreCheck (far right). All non elite sent thru PreCheck. Took about 10 minutes to clear, with maybe 10 people in front of me. No bins available, told to leave CPAP in case. WTMD only. Prior to ID check two agents were swabbing hands, but randomly... I walked right past. Kinda hilarious that TSA has given up even the pretense of screening. My bags went right thru the scanner without even stopping.
So....the inquisitive among us might wonder why not continue to use the Crew/Elite line (far left) just like always (assuming one is A/A+/BS).

That line has both a single Nude-o-Scope and and a single WTMD. Should be few/no kids, elderly and/or kettles in that line.

Curious as to how the TSA Clerks would react to the PreCheck flag on a BP that is also A/A+. Would the podeum-paper-checker force you way down to the far-right end or let you thru the Crew/Elite Line, *and* would the TSA down at the checkpoint have the presence of mind to send those with PreCheck thru the WTMD (on the left) at the end of the line?
steved5480 is online now  
Old Dec 2, 13, 4:55 pm
  #502  
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 5
Last night I was actually "bumped off" the TSA-Pre list. Agents told me that TSA can do that randomly for security purposes... Sighs.
Quie is offline  
Old Dec 2, 13, 5:31 pm
  #503  
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,978
Originally Posted by steved5480 View Post
So....the inquisitive among us might wonder why not continue to use the Crew/Elite line (far left) just like always (assuming one is A/A+/BS).

That line has both a single Nude-o-Scope and and a single WTMD. Should be few/no kids, elderly and/or kettles in that line.

Curious as to how the TSA Clerks would react to the PreCheck flag on a BP that is also A/A+. Would the podeum-paper-checker force you way down to the far-right end or let you thru the Crew/Elite Line, *and* would the TSA down at the checkpoint have the presence of mind to send those with PreCheck thru the WTMD (on the left) at the end of the line?
Right now, with the PreCheck lane being basically a free-for-all, I'd highly recomend using the Fly By lane for anyone with status or a BS ticket (at any airports where Pre and Fly By are not one and the same).

One hopes (but isn't confident) that eventually PreCheck will settle down and only be open to pax that actually have PreCheck (well... and also apparently seniors and military), and that at that point the ease of not having to remove shoes and bag contents + WTMD only will make Pre a more attractive option.
ursine1 is offline  
Old Dec 2, 13, 5:34 pm
  #504  
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,978
Originally Posted by chuckworth View Post
Pre Check at MDW this morning was the same as previously reported above. Long line and slower than the old FlyBy lane. I went FlyBy and cleared in less than 5 minutes. Mrs. Chuckworth went Pre and it took her 25 minutes to clear. Hopefully this gets smoother over time as MDW works out the kinks. For now, I'm sticking with the old FlyBy lane.
I verified today that at MDW Pre and FlyBy are indeed the same lane (far right).
ursine1 is offline  
Old Dec 2, 13, 7:06 pm
  #505  
nsx
Moderator: Southwest Airlines
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: California
Programs: WN Companion Pass, A-list preferred, United Club ex-Lifetime Member
Posts: 19,929
PreCheck for CP Companion?

It may be serendipity, but my CP companion and I both have TSA PRE on our boarding passes for tomorrow. ^

I have 90+ WN flights per year and she has 10 or so companion flights only. I hope this is a sign of things to come.
nsx is offline  
Old Dec 3, 13, 12:24 am
  #506  
21A
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,300
Originally Posted by expert7700 View Post
at PIT we were escorted back out after clearing the ID+boarding pass check

TSA "lead officer": I just noticed on your phone that your barcode is not valid
me: really? it seemed to work
TSA: yours is different. see the guy's behind you. it needs to be square
me: there are different barcode formats from different airlines.
TSA: yours didn't read
me: I watched ours display our secure flight data, names, and beeped 3x. should er scan them again?
TSA: our machines don't read southwest barcodes
me: pointing to our data that was still on his scanner display..... (facepalm)

On my request they brought over a TSA "supervisor", followed by a real TSA supervisor followed by the airport manager (non TSA). the airport manager huddled with the TSA for a few minutes as he clearly had no idea why there was a problem. He escorted us upstairs, apologizing the whole time. we got paper boarding passes and went through the same lane and the same barcodes on paper scanned. the funny thing was the barcode was smaller and the machine was having a hard time scanning. I almost offered him my phone again but though that would be pushing my luck.

The airport manager told me that scanner was the only one that had been upgraded to read all the barcode types and said it was s TSA training issue.
Umm... You were trying to show a barcode from OLCI on your phone? I don't think that works. I think it specifically has to be the square/mobile formatted BP which WN seems to be offering only as a pilot from AUS right now...

I mean, I know that from a technical standpoint a barcode is a barcode but I thought there was some rule that (on any airline) you can't display the printer-formatted version of the BP on your phone, just the mobile version.

Last edited by 21A; Dec 3, 13 at 1:12 am
21A is offline  
Old Dec 3, 13, 10:06 am
  #507  
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: USA
Programs: Frontier 100K, AC SE100K, BA Gold, WN A-/CP, Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 4,148
Originally Posted by 21A View Post
Umm... You were trying to show a barcode from OLCI on your phone? I don't think that works. I think it specifically has to be the square/mobile formatted BP which WN seems to be offering only as a pilot from AUS right now...
I have used the OLCI barcode at LAS (d-gates), LAS (C-gates), MCO, PIT, and RIC. The last time in LAS the TSA screener was thrilled that I had the OLCI barcode on my phone since the boarding pass barcode was not scanning properly.
expert7700 is offline  
Old Dec 3, 13, 10:15 am
  #508  
21A
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,300
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; Android 4.4; Nexus 5 Build/KRT16M) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/31.0.1650.59 Mobile Safari/537.36)

Originally Posted by expert7700
Originally Posted by 21A View Post
Umm... You were trying to show a barcode from OLCI on your phone? I don't think that works. I think it specifically has to be the square/mobile formatted BP which WN seems to be offering only as a pilot from AUS right now...
I have used the OLCI barcode at LAS (d-gates), LAS (C-gates), MCO, PIT, and RIC. The last time in LAS the TSA screener was thrilled that I had the OLCI barcode on my phone since the boarding pass barcode was not scanning properly.
Hmm, perhaps I was wrong in thinking you aren't allowed to do this. Good to know!
21A is offline  
Old Dec 3, 13, 12:33 pm
  #509  
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Houston, TX, USA & Bombay, India
Programs: CO Gold, Hotels.. TBD
Posts: 689
I used to be FF on CO and was Gold once, back when they were with SkyTeam. Most of my recent travel has been outside the US in EU, Asia with Star Alliance but too far apart and have no Status.

What ways could I hit the Pre List.
xmlsoa is offline  
Old Dec 4, 13, 12:29 am
  #510  
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 536
Precheck on different airlines?

If you have precheck on one airline, is there any way to get it on another airline? I am precheck eligible on UAL, but dont get precheck on SW. It seems if TSA has cleared you for one airline, you should be cleared for other airlines.
oswaldjacoby is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: