FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   South (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/south-454/)
-   -   Good Not Michelin Restaurant In NOLA (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/south/1961353-good-not-michelin-restaurant-nola.html)

notsosmart Mar 17, 2019 9:46 pm

Good Not Michelin Restaurant In NOLA

Due to a fortunate turn of events, I will be in New Orleans for one night next weekend. As I have not visited since before Katrina, I doubt that I could find any of the restaurants that were there twenty years ago, let alone know what is good and new now.

So, for one night, where should I go to eat well without breaking the bank? I don't want fancy, and don't necessarily desire "modern, re-imagine Cajun/Creole cuisine". I want something classic that's good, for not too much $$$.

I'll have time for dinner, then breakfast and lunch the next day, so any and all ideas/suggestions are appreciated.

If it helps, I was a trained chef in another long-ago life, so I know what's good and real, but don't mind eating down-home cooking (prefer it) or visiting dive bars and such.

Many thanks in advance!

Blumie Mar 18, 2019 12:29 am

Dinner: Coquette (Dive bar alternative: Coop’s; not as good as before it was listed in every guide book, but still good for solo dining at the bar. Another alternative for dining solo at the bar: Sylvain.)

Breakfast: Surrey’s (two locations; both are good but I prefer the Lower Garden District location)

Lunch: High Hat Cafe

FLYMSY Mar 18, 2019 1:28 am

Originally Posted by notsosmart (Post 30899152)
Due to a fortunate turn of events, I will be in New Orleans for one night next weekend. As I have not visited since before Katrina, I doubt that I could find any of the restaurants that were there twenty years ago, let alone know what is good and new now.