Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > America - USA > South
Reload this Page >

Trip to the 2019 Masters @ Augusta National

Trip to the 2019 Masters @ Augusta National

Old Sep 26, 18, 2:08 am
Original Poster

Programs: QPPS
Smile Trip to the 2019 Masters @ Augusta National

I took part in the ballot for the 2019 Masters and was lucky to secure 2 tickets to this event. Since this is my first time traveling there for this event, I would like to know if anyone has traveled to Augusta, Georgia for the Masters before.

I have gone through various websites and some recommend flying in directly to Augusta (from my check, no *A websites fly to that airport), while others recommend flying into nearby cities and drive in to Augusta from there.

Some of the places recommended to fly into:

Atlanta: 145 miles via I-20
Macon, Ga: 120 miles via US-1
Columbia, S.C.: 75 miles via I-20
Charleston, S.C.: 169 miles via I-26
Savannah, Ga.: 128 miles via US 321 and 301
Greenville, S.C.: 114 miles via US-25
Charlotte, N.C.: 164 miles via I-77 and I-20

Any suggestions if I should fly direct? If no, which airport should I consider flying into?

My current plan is leaning towards SIN-EWR-CAE, with SIN-EWR being on SQ and EWR-CAE on UA. The only program I am enrolled in is in *A, hence would like to stick to *A airlines as much as possible. Would appreciate if anyone has some suggestions/ tips to share!

Thanks in advance.
Old Sep 28, 18, 8:13 am

Programs: AA Gold,WN CP, UAL Premier,HH Diamond, ChoicePriv Dmnd
I have been to the Masters a few times, once flying into Augusta (I used to travel there for work so I was able to combine it with a business trip). The other times I flew into Atlanta and drove. It's not a bad drive but Columbia is definitely closer and probably the best option of the choices you listed.
Old Sep 28, 18, 9:59 am
Moderator, Trip Reports

Programs: UA Silver, AA Platinum, AS & DL GM Marriott TE, Hilton Gold