FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   South America (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/south-america-483/)
-   -   5 days in Chile - critique my itinerary (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/south-america/1997748-5-days-chile-critique-my-itinerary.html)

CPMaverick Dec 2, 2019 1:55 am

5 days in Chile - critique my itinerary

I am going to the USA for Christmas and have used points to fly to SCL from Australia and then onward to the USA. I gave myself 5 days and 4 nights in Chile, before I head to the USA. So this trip is just in a few weeks, but all I've booked are my flights into and out of SCL! I arrive at 9:15a and depart at 9:50pm hence the 5 days bit.

It is my first time to Chile. It's such a big country and I've been surprised to find that internal flights are very inexpensive, so that has opened up so many options... it's been difficult to narrow it down. But here's what I have so far:

Day 1:

Arrive SCL at 9:15a. I'm in J, and a veteran long-haul traveler so should be reasonably rested despite the 15 hour flight.
I am thinking to book the Holiday Inn at SCL for the day, so I can drop my checked bag off (dang Christmas presents). Then try and catch the 10:30a bus to Valparaíso. If I can't make it, I can get a bus to the metro and catch a bus to Valparaíso from there.
Spend ~2 hours in Valparaíso, get lunch and some fresh air. Then return via bus to SCL, shower and check-in for my flight: SCL-PMC (Puerto Montt) 7:25 pm departure
Arrive to PMC at 9 pm

*Have not booked this flight yet but it's currently only US$65 one way
**If I'm exhausted or my flight is delayed I can just skip the bus trip to Valparaíso and relax at the hotel
***I could rent a car to Valparaíso, but I am thinking I'd be too tired, and it might be tough to find parking....

Day 2, 3: