Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Americas > South America
Reload this Page >

T-Mobile global roaming in Argentina, Uruguay, Columbia

T-Mobile global roaming in Argentina, Uruguay, Columbia

Reply

Old Jan 10, 18, 4:28 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Programs: Marriott Platinum, IHG Spire, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 173
T-Mobile global roaming in Argentina, Uruguay, Colombia

Just came back from South America for the holidays. T-Mobile One plans include unlimited international coverage at up to 2G speed. I thought I'd post here my experience at the various cities so others could plan for their trips accordingly.

Not having to visit a local shop for SIM cards or worrying about topping up plans was invaluable to me. I did have to restart my phone more times than I'd like to to get my phone to register on the network. But overall, I was pretty impressed with T-Mobile, I'd say. For the record, I was mostly using the app for Uber, Google Map, WhatsApp, quick email checking, and some light web browsing. If you are hoping to be able to do video / audio streaming, you will be disappointed.

* Bogota, Colombia - way faster than the 2G speed T-Mobile advertised. Not a problem for me here
* Buenos Aires, Mar del Plata & Rosario, Argentina - closer to 2G speed. Had to reboot phone quite a few times during my visit
* Montevideo, Uruguay - Roaming did not work here for me at all. My phone would register on the network (shows Claro Uruguay) but I couldn't connect to any internet. Montevideo is a small city so with some planning, it's doable to visit the city for a short stay with no phone data. I relied on hotel / restaurant / coffee shop wifi. Would have liked my data to work on my phone but oh well, I made the best out of what I could manage

Hope this helps someone.

Last edited by happychic; Jan 17, 18 at 7:41 pm
happychic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 18, 2:36 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: TX
Programs: UA 1K, .6K MM, Marriott Gold, SPG Gold
Posts: 295
Last year I was in Panama, Colombia, Uruguay, Argentina and Chile (plus all over Europe and India) and T-Mobile worked perfectly. It is very cool that I can turn my phone on and I'm online.

Btw, it's ColOmbia, NOT ColUmbia
FlyingIsCool is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 18, 5:31 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 60km from AMS
Programs: CO/UA 1K, Marriott/SPG Au, Hilton Ag, IHG Pt
Posts: 491
Originally Posted by happychic View Post
Bogota, Columbia - way faster than the 2G speed T-Mobile advertised. Not a problem for me here
It's a bit hit or miss depending on what roaming agreements T-Mobile has active in Colombia, there are a lot of dead-spots.

Originally Posted by happychic View Post
Montevideo, Uruguay - Roaming did not work here for me at all.
Interestingly enough, T-Mobile NL and other European countries also don't get data roaming in Uruguay. One of the reasons I switched to Avoidafone, good worldwide roaming (at a cost).
jupper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 18, 7:42 pm
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Programs: Marriott Platinum, IHG Spire, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 173
Oh, my. What a faux pas I've committed. Thanks for pointing out my typo FlyingIsCool.
happychic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 18, 12:19 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,322
You sometimes manually have to switch the carrier for it to work. Movistar in Uruguay works fairly well.
erik123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 18, 12:37 pm
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Programs: Marriott Platinum, IHG Spire, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 173
Angry

Originally Posted by erik123 View Post
You sometimes manually have to switch the carrier for it to work. Movistar in Uruguay works fairly well.
I had tried to do that. However, my Pixel 2 phone would freeze every time I tried to manually switch the carrier.
happychic is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: