Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Americas > South America
Reload this Page >

SCL inter-airline transfer questions

SCL inter-airline transfer questions

Old Nov 27, 17, 5:35 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1K
Posts: 115
SCL inter-airline transfer questions

Hi FTers -

This evening I'm flying MDZ-SCL-IAH with a large group (took the wife and kids on an Argentina vacation with some friends). We are booked on the Chilean low-cost carrier Sky Airlines from MDZ-SCL, and then after a 3-hour layover we pick up UA to get back to the States. (Looks like we have one of the new Polaris 767s - whoohoo!)

A few questions for the FT hive mind:
  • Is it even possible to check bags through, and if it's possible, is it a good idea? Anyone have experience with inter-airline baggage transfer from Sky to UA in SCL?
  • What is the international terminal in SCL like? Will we need to go thru immigration and then back in thru security? Or can we transit without going thru immigration?
  • I presume if we checked bags only to SCL we would have to go thru immigration to pick them up, yes?
Any wisdom or experience greatly appreciated!

DJD
djdevvydev is offline  
Old Nov 27, 17, 5:50 am
  #2  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 69,132
Sky Airline (H2) does not have an interline agreement with UA so bags cannot be checked through. You'll need to clear immigration and customs in SCL then re-check everything with UA.

Good luck.
sbm12 is offline  
Old Nov 27, 17, 6:08 am
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston
Programs: UA Gold, Marriott Gold
Posts: 10,988
Originally Posted by djdevvydev View Post
[*]Is it even possible to check bags through, and if it's possible, is it a good idea? Anyone have experience with inter-airline baggage transfer from Sky to UA in SCL?
No, so no and no.

Originally Posted by djdevvydev View Post
[*]What is the international terminal in SCL like? Will we need to go thru immigration and then back in thru security? Or can we transit without going thru immigration?
2 years ago when I did the same transit it was a bit of a CF. UA couldn't be bothered to throw even a contractor at the transit desk or anywhere airside prior to checkin cutoff. But with your baggage situation you'll be going through immigration, bag reclaim, checkin, security, and immigration again.

Originally Posted by djdevvydev View Post
[*]I presume if we checked bags only to SCL we would have to go thru immigration to pick them up, yes?
Yes, you'll be doing that.
mduell is offline  
Old Nov 27, 17, 6:10 am
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1K
Posts: 115
Yikes. Thanks. Any idea if we have to pay the $140 reciprocity fee when we arrive from MDZ? Is that for US Citizens or just US arrivals?
djdevvydev is offline  
Old Nov 27, 17, 6:12 am
  #5  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 69,132
Originally Posted by djdevvydev View Post
Is that for US Citizens or just US arrivals?
Neither. It disappeared a couple years ago, right when UA launched the route.

But if it existed you'd all be paying it as you're entering Chile.
sbm12 is offline  
Old Nov 27, 17, 6:21 am
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1K
Posts: 115
Thank you sbm12 & mduell! EXTREMELY helpful info for us and our gaggle of children!
djdevvydev is offline  
Old Nov 27, 17, 9:45 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: DEN
Programs: UA GS, Marriott Gold
Posts: 156
Originally Posted by djdevvydev View Post
Thank you sbm12 & mduell! EXTREMELY helpful info for us and our gaggle of children!
The only concern I would add is that immigration. Every time I go there, the lines are long and move very slowly. While the actual process of talking to an agent is short, with a larger family I would want some extra time.
katan is offline  
Old Nov 27, 17, 10:12 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 9,486
Originally Posted by djdevvydev View Post
...after a 3-hour layover we pick up UA to get back to the States....
SCL is the best "large" airport in South America (IMHO). 3 hours is more than enough to clear, and re-check.

Hopefully your Mendoza-Santiago flight is during daylight hours - the view is amazing.
IAH-OIL-TRASH is offline  
Old Nov 27, 17, 4:32 pm
  #9  
Moderator: United Airlines; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SFO
Programs: UA Gold 1.85MM, Hyatt Discoverist, Marriott Plat/LT Gold, Hilton Silver, IHG Gold
Posts: 47,607
As the question's are not UA related and are mostly about SCL and H2/Sky Airways, will move this FT's South America forum

WineCountryUA
UA coModerator
WineCountryUA is offline  
Old Apr 8, 18, 11:23 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: ORD
Programs: AA PLT
Posts: 2,700
Thanks for posting this question, looking at doing something similar.

Stupid question: do H2 international flights depart from the international terminal at SCL, or are all their ops concentrated at the domestic terminal?
linglingfool is offline  
Old Apr 9, 18, 9:18 am
  #11  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Over the Bay Bridge, CA
Programs: Jumbo mas
Posts: 30,591
Originally Posted by linglingfool View Post
Thanks for posting this question, looking at doing something similar.

Stupid question: do H2 international flights depart from the international terminal at SCL, or are all their ops concentrated at the domestic terminal?
All international flights leave from the international side, as you must go through exit formalities.
Eastbay1K is offline  
Old Apr 9, 18, 6:26 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: ORD
Programs: AA PLT
Posts: 2,700
Originally Posted by Eastbay1K View Post
All international flights leave from the international side, as you must go through exit formalities.
That's what I thought; thanks for confirming.
linglingfool is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread