Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Americas > South America
Reload this Page >

Ecuador, Argentina or Chile

Old Nov 3, 11, 10:35 am
Original Poster

I have one week at the end of May. Looking for a place with a good combination of sites - museums, historic sites, nature sites, small towns - good food,nice people, reasonable costs, and without having to spend more than a few hours on a bus or train to get around.

Which would you choose?
Old Nov 3, 11, 6:40 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: Jumbo mas
I know nothing about Ecuador - but in late May, think NORTH. If you go to Chile or Argentina, and start in the capitals, you could end up with cold, damp, wet. I really like the north of Chile. I have no experience in the north of Argentina.
Old Nov 3, 11, 6:46 pm

Programs: AA EXP 4MM, SPG Lifetime Platinum
What about Peru? Really good sites to visit, good museums, excellent food, and inexpensive.
Old Nov 4, 11, 11:25 am
Ambassador: LAN LANPASS

Programs: BAEC Gold, Avianca Lifemiles Diamond
Originally Posted by Eastbay1K View Post
I know nothing about Ecuador - but in late May, think NORTH. If you go to Chile or Argentina, and start in the capitals, you could end up with cold, damp, wet. I really like the north of Chile. I have no experience in the north of Argentina.
Not exactly Baltic though is it in the South of Chile during May? The weather there is always like British weather I find, so going to say Los Lagos, Puerto Montt, Puerto Varas, Chiloe etc in May is a bit like going to the UK in September.
Old Nov 4, 11, 2:26 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Originally Posted by JohnnyColombia View Post
Not exactly Baltic though is it in the South of Chile during May? The weather there is always like British weather I find, so going to say Los Lagos, Puerto Montt, Puerto Varas, Chiloe etc in May is a bit like going to the UK in September.
PMC 29 May 11

Actual
Temperature
Mean Temperature 42 °F
Max Temperature 53 °F
Min Temperature 30 °F

PMC 29 May 10

Actual Average