IAD - JNB next week - seat selection

Old Jan 19, 20, 3:53 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Programs: BA Silver, ANA Mileage Club
Posts: 120
Lightbulb IAD - JNB next week - seat selection

I'm flying Tuesday IAD - ACC - JNB on SAA (hopefully their new J product... please let me know if I'm wrong for next Tuesday's flight...)

I booked via United and when I went to select my seat with them, it gave the error message: "
Seat selection and changes are not available for this flight at this time. You’ll be assigned a seat during check-in. For additional information, visit the operating airline’s website.




Should I just call SAA directly or can I only select a seat from 24-hours before departure? Seeing as it's international long haul, and in J, perhaps there is a way... thanks!
JJarmuth07 is offline  
Old Jan 19, 20, 6:18 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Programs: AC S100K
Posts: 369
As I understand it, the new a350s do not begin service until February.

I usually book SAA flights through Air Canada. I have always had to call in to get a seat assignment.
TheCanuckian is online now  
Old Jan 19, 20, 8:35 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Programs: BA Silver, ANA Mileage Club
Posts: 120
Exclamation

Originally Posted by TheCanuckian View Post
As I understand it, the new a350s do not begin service until February.

I usually book SAA flights through Air Canada. I have always had to call in to get a seat assignment.

I meant the new J cabin, which is on the A330-300.

Someone did a good travel report of the exact same route (IAD-ACC-JNB) on YouTube:

So hopefully it's the same seat. If not I'll be PISSED!
JJarmuth07 is offline  
Old Jan 20, 20, 3:33 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Programs: UA Platinum; Hilton Diamond; Hertz PC; Global Entry; TSA Pre✓
Posts: 925
IAD-JNB on 1/21 is showing as an A330-300. It typically is that, however they sub in the older A340 (with old business seats) about 40% of the time.


call their US number and they will assign a seat no problem.
18007229675


I'm on the flight in May. Unfortunately it was switched to an A340 recently. I posted about that here. Looks like the A340 may become more common on the route, but it's still random
IAD - JNB fuel stop
FlyingHighlander is offline  
Old Jan 20, 20, 5:55 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Programs: AC S100K
Posts: 369
Originally Posted by JJarmuth07 View Post
I meant the new J cabin, which is on the A330-300.

Someone did a good travel report of the exact same route (IAD-ACC-JNB) on YouTube

So hopefully it's the same seat. If not I'll be PISSED!
Ah, okay. Yeah, those are very nice seats—some of the best J seats I've been in, and certainly the best SAA offers (though perhaps the a350 offers better).
TheCanuckian is online now  
Old Jan 20, 20, 6:54 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Programs: UA Platinum; Hilton Diamond; Hertz PC; Global Entry; TSA Pre✓
Posts: 925
The A350s dont look better. They are keeping the 2-2-2 configuration from the planes previous owner.

The A330-300s have the 1-2-1 config. If privacy is valued, these are better.
TheCanuckian likes this.
FlyingHighlander is offline  
Old Jan 20, 20, 10:37 am
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Programs: BA Silver, ANA Mileage Club
Posts: 120
Cool

Originally Posted by FlyingHighlander View Post
IAD-JNB on 1/21 is showing as an A330-300. It typically is that, however they sub in the older A340 (with old business seats) about 40% of the time.


call their US number and they will assign a seat no problem.
18007229675


I'm on the flight in May. Unfortunately it was switched to an A340 recently. I posted about that here. Looks like the A340 may become more common on the route, but it's still random
IAD - JNB fuel stop

- Thanks for your help. I called the US number and have been on hold for over 20 minutes (even while selecting Business Class bookings)... welcome to African service! By the way what website did you use to see the seat map for tomorrow's flight? Thanks!
JJarmuth07 is offline  
Old Jan 20, 20, 10:52 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Programs: UA Platinum; Hilton Diamond; Hertz PC; Global Entry; TSA Pre✓
Posts: 925
The 2 times i have called (also selecting business class bookings) they answered immediately and the call was over in 1 minute. I'm not sure what the norm is for their service - never used them before.

I used expertflyer.com to review the seat maps. I can't remember, but I think you need a paid subscription (which I have) to view seat maps. With what's open I'd take 6K - window with the seat closest to the window. See seat guru. If you care much about what side the sun will be on, run the flight details through http://sunflight.net/

Ideally you should be able to open your UA booking and find the actual SA ref number, then go to SA's website and open your booking. Try it. It doesn't work for me. My booking is an award booking through UA. On the phone SA told me its normal to not be able to access my booking until within 24hrs of the flight.
FlyingHighlander is offline  
Old Jan 20, 20, 5:21 pm
  #9  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canada
Programs: UA*1K, BA Silver, Accor Plat, Marriott Gold, Carlson Gold, Hilton Gold
Posts: 21,195
Originally Posted by FlyingHighlander View Post
The A350s dont look better. They are keeping the 2-2-2 configuration from the planes previous owner.
The A330-300s have the 1-2-1 config. If privacy is valued, these are better.
Are they? This is what our cabin looks like.
Twitter team was quick to assign us one of the couples row (1/3/5/7)

rankourabu is offline  
Old Jan 20, 20, 5:47 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Programs: UA Platinum; Hilton Diamond; Hertz PC; Global Entry; TSA Pre✓
Posts: 925
I stand (partially) corrected. I was thinking of this
https://onemileatatime.com/saa-airbus-a350/

It seems that SA will have a mix of new A350s and used ones. The used ones are keeping whatever seats the previous airline had installed.
FlyingHighlander is offline  
Old Jan 20, 20, 11:26 pm
  #11  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Programs: BA Silver, ANA Mileage Club
Posts: 120
Exclamation

Originally Posted by FlyingHighlander View Post
The 2 times i have called (also selecting business class bookings) they answered immediately and the call was over in 1 minute. I'm not sure what the norm is for their service - never used them before.

I used expertflyer.com to review the seat maps. I can't remember, but I think you need a paid subscription (which I have) to view seat maps. With what's open I'd take 6K - window with the seat closest to the window. See seat guru. If you care much about what side the sun will be on, run the flight details through SunFlight.net - Day and Night Flight Map

Ideally you should be able to open your UA booking and find the actual SA ref number, then go to SA's website and open your booking. Try it. It doesn't work for me. My booking is an award booking through UA. On the phone SA told me its normal to not be able to access my booking until within 24hrs of the flight.


Well here's what happened:

The rep assigned me seat 4K and gave me a confirmation number - however I tried (within 24 hours) to check in and it said there was an error. When I went to check in on United it said "
We are unable to complete the check-in process at this time. Please proceed to the airport for assistance." - so I'll go to the airport tomorrow and see what's what. Hopefully I still have 4K. If not I'll be pissed...
JJarmuth07 is offline  
Old Jan 21, 20, 12:53 pm
  #12  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 12,145
Originally Posted by JJarmuth07 View Post
to check in and it said there was an error. Please proceed to the airport for assistance.
Maybe the lessors are busy repossessing all SAA planes.

Johan
johan rebel is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: