Cannot select seats

Old Jun 18, 17, 8:18 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: ORD
Programs: AA, UA, GE
Posts: 3,643
Cannot select seats

We are flying on SAA Airlink (JNB-HDS and HDS-CPT) in about a month. I cannot select seats or even bring up the seat map on the flysaa web site. I booked into a flexible fare so I would be able to select seats.

Is this a web site issue or do I need to call SAA?
cheltzel is offline  
Old Jun 19, 17, 11:24 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: North Yorkshire
Programs: BA Executive Club
Posts: 37
I have had a different but equally puzzling experience. We have three internal flights with Airlink, booked by our TA, for October. I went in to 'manage my booking' to see if I could select seats, got the seat map, chose the seats, but no payment demand came up (sure we are not on a flexible fare, so expected to have to pay). Went in today to have another look. Our seats are allocated to us, still no payment asked for. With us, I imagine we'll only be allowed to choose our seats 24 hours in advance and that what I'm seeing is a web site error.
Claranda is offline  
Old Jun 19, 17, 11:48 am
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: ORD
Programs: AA, UA, GE
Posts: 3,643
I called the SAA US reservations line today and was issued seats without a problem. I asked about the online seat assignment and was told it is not working and is a known issue.
cheltzel is offline  
Old Jul 29, 17, 10:44 am
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: ORD
Programs: AA, UA, GE
Posts: 3,643
An update. I downloaded the checkmytrip app for my tablet and was able to do everything. Seat assignment, add our UA Mileage Plus numbers, check in, etc.
​​​​​​​
cheltzel is offline  
Old Aug 5, 17, 4:21 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 202
Did you book this ticket through SAA?
mmthomps is offline  
Old Aug 5, 17, 5:19 pm
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: ORD
Programs: AA, UA, GE
Posts: 3,643
Originally Posted by mmthomps View Post
Did you book this ticket through SAA?
Yes, through the SAA USA site.

I tried checkmytrip when I ran into issues checking in on the SAA South Africa site and noticed the URL was not a SAA site but was actually an Amadeus URL.

I downloaded checkmytrip to my tablet and everything was perfect.
cheltzel is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread