SAA First Class, but NO MP points awarded

Old Oct 17, 15, 2:59 pm
Original Poster

Programs: Hilton Diamond
Thumbs down SAA First Class, but NO MP points awarded

True. I flew SAA first class from JNB to CPT, but no points posted to my United MP account- given when I booked. I called UA, emailed a copy of my ticket and boarding pass. UAL tells that SAA will not award points. What? First class tickets and no points? What's going on?
Old Oct 18, 15, 2:19 am

Programs: SAA Voyager Plat, Diners Club Prive, Amex Plat, Avis Presidents Club
Not possible.

SAA hasn't operated a first class cabin anywhere in the world since the discontinuation of the 747-400's back in 2008.

I have been flying JNB-CPT-JNB regularly since 1980 and they have never operated first class on this sector in all the years I have flown. Even in times when they did fly 747 on this route, you could reserve row 1-3 and sit in a first class seat, but it was always sold as business class, and you were credited as such.
Old Oct 18, 15, 9:50 am
Original Poster

Programs: Hilton Diamond
My boarding pass says: Class C/U Seat 2A First Class
They call it first class, write first class on the boarding pass, but it's not first class?

Nevertheless, they awarded me zero points for the flight. Nothing.
Old Oct 18, 15, 10:19 am

You can insert any title you want to the cabin you sat in, but at the end of the day all that matters is the booking class.

Here is what UNITED will give you credit for when flying SAA
https://www.united.com/cms/en-us/mar...spx?itemid=316

Be sure to click the + sign based on whether it was a UA-ticket (with a segment on SAA), or a non-UA ticket, to provide information on whether you ticket is eligible for accrual, and the amount
Old Oct 18, 15, 2:06 pm

Programs: BA BD SA
Originally Posted by Sterlingguy View Post
They call it first class, write first class on the boarding pass, but it's not first class?