Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Special Interest Travel > Smoking Lounge
Reload this Page >

UK / London / Airports / LHR [No airside smoking]

UK / London / Airports / LHR [No airside smoking]

Closed Thread

Old Oct 28, 15, 2:41 am
  #16  
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1
Smoking after terminal change T5->T3 LHR

Hi all!

I'm travelling to LAS in mid November and will arrive at T5 in LHR and due to the BA changes, this time I had to change to T3.
I know how to get out of T5 after arriving there to have a cigarette, but don't know if this works at T3 also.
When I take the bus to T3, is there a way to get to the border/customs to leave the building and an easy way to get back in?

Many thanks in advance!
schmalen1 is offline  
Old Nov 11, 15, 2:21 am
  #17  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: LHR
Programs: DL DM 1MM, AA Plat
Posts: 10,157
Originally Posted by schmalen1 View Post
Hi all!

I'm travelling to LAS in mid November and will arrive at T5 in LHR and due to the BA changes, this time I had to change to T3.
I know how to get out of T5 after arriving there to have a cigarette, but don't know if this works at T3 also.
When I take the bus to T3, is there a way to get to the border/customs to leave the building and an easy way to get back in?

Many thanks in advance!
I made the airside T5-T3 transfer this past Saturday. It's actually possible to access passport control and exit the airport from the T3 departures area - saw purple signage directing people that way.
rwoman is offline  
Old Nov 14, 15, 4:49 am
  #18  
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Glos
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 5,533
Originally Posted by schmalen1 View Post
Hi all!

I'm travelling to LAS in mid November and will arrive at T5 in LHR and due to the BA changes, this time I had to change to T3.
I know how to get out of T5 after arriving there to have a cigarette, but don't know if this works at T3 also.
When I take the bus to T3, is there a way to get to the border/customs to leave the building and an easy way to get back in?

Many thanks in advance!
Welcome to Flyertalk! If time permits go landside at T5 smoke - heathrow express or Piccadilly line to T3 (both free) smoke again then go airside to T3. I'm doing exactly this end of November; have about four hours between T5 arrival and T3 depart
mikeyfly is offline  
Old Aug 27, 16, 9:04 am
  #19  
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: CGK/KOA
Programs: AA ExPlat HH Diamond
Posts: 1,412
Another smoking at LHR question

I'm arriving on CX, T-3 I believe, transferring to a BA flight to EDI (domestic). I believe this goes out of T-5. I have five hours between flights. Can someone please explain the sequence I need to follow? I assume I will clear immigration and customs at LHR since I'm transferring to a domestic? Will I just be able to leave the airport at T-3 and go landslide to T-5? Any help would be appreciated.
Penguinmoon is offline  
Old Aug 27, 16, 9:29 am
  #20  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SE1, London
Posts: 21,762
With 5 hours your best option is to clear immigration and customs at T3 and make a free landslide transfer to T5 using the Heathrow Express. This will give several opportunities to knock some additional minutes off your life expectancy.
Swanhunter is online now  
Old Aug 27, 16, 9:59 am
  #21  
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RDU
Programs: Status Free
Posts: 214
Visit the Smoking Lounge forum

Originally Posted by Penguinmoon View Post
Another smoking at LHR question

I'm arriving on CX, T-3 I believe, transferring to a BA flight to EDI (domestic). I believe this goes out of T-5. I have five hours between flights. Can someone please explain the sequence I need to follow? I assume I will clear immigration and customs at LHR since I'm transferring to a domestic? Will I just be able to leave the airport at T-3 and go landslide to T-5? Any help would be appreciated.
There's a thread dedicated to UK airports. You may find an answer without the commentary.

http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/smoki...ports-lhr.html
ediemac1 is offline  
Old Aug 27, 16, 8:22 pm
  #22  
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: CGK/KOA
Programs: AA ExPlat HH Diamond
Posts: 1,412
Can someone explain how to do this? Flying into 3 five hours in transit connecting to a domestic UK flight out of 5. Would like to exit at 3 to get a nicotine fix (coming off a long haul). Am I collecting luggage at 3 and clearing immigration/customs? Is this what is normally done? So I'm following signs that say what? How is transfer from international to domestic normally done at LHR? Since I want to step out at 3 am I doing something different?

Any help appreciated!
Penguinmoon is offline  
Old Aug 28, 16, 3:56 pm
  #23  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Argentina
Programs: BAEC/IB
Posts: 37,548
Originally Posted by Swanhunter View Post
With 5 hours your best option is to clear immigration and customs at T3 and make a free landslide transfer to T5 using the Heathrow Express. This will give several opportunities to knock some additional minutes off your life expectancy.
I agree.

This'll get you land side much quicker to enable you to enjoy a much needed smoke. Avoiding the airside bus transfer will also add minutes on to your life expectancy.
HIDDY is offline  
Old Aug 29, 16, 1:16 am
  #24  
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: CGK/KOA
Programs: AA ExPlat HH Diamond
Posts: 1,412
how does this work with a bag? I assume that CX will check me HKG-LHR-EDI. I know I have to pick up bag at LHR. Will the bag be sent to baggage claim at T3 for me to get?
Penguinmoon is offline  
Old Aug 29, 16, 1:43 am
  #25  
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: UK
Programs: BAEC GGL, HHonors Diamond, IHG Uninspired, SPG Plat, Hyatt Diamond, Accor Plat, UK AMEX Plat
Posts: 1,710
Originally Posted by Penguinmoon View Post
how does this work with a bag? I assume that CX will check me HKG-LHR-EDI. I know I have to pick up bag at LHR. Will the bag be sent to baggage claim at T3 for me to get?
If you bag is tagged through to EDI, then you won't see it until you get to Edinburgh. UK != USA in this regard

If it's only tagged to LHR, you'd need to collect it in T3, wheel it with you over to T5, and give it to BA there

With all the BA "enhancements" around through checking luggage, including the apparent bullying of other OneWorld airlines to stop making BA look bad by doing any better, through checking isn't the certainty that it was before. Certainly ask Cathay to through-check if you can though! Check the baggage tag receipt to be sure
Gagravarr is offline  
Old Aug 29, 16, 2:28 am
  #26  
:D!
Hilton Contributor BadgeIHG Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Aberdeen, Bella Vista and Croydon
Programs: BA Spire, Hilton *G, A3 Diamond, IHG Silver
Posts: 4,212
Originally Posted by Gagravarr View Post
If you bag is tagged through to EDI, then you won't see it until you get to Edinburgh. UK != USA in this regard

If it's only tagged to LHR, you'd need to collect it in T3, wheel it with you over to T5, and give it to BA there

With all the BA "enhancements" around through checking luggage, including the apparent bullying of other OneWorld airlines to stop making BA look bad by doing any better, through checking isn't the certainty that it was before. Certainly ask Cathay to through-check if you can though! Check the baggage tag receipt to be sure
If the OP has a single ticket/PNR then it will be checked through. If not, it won't.

If it is checked through, immigration will happen in LHR but customs will happen in EDI.

If the OP wishes to smoke then he will need to enter the UK properly by heading to "Arrivals" at LHR immigration rather than "Flight Connections" (but it may be a good idea to do this regardless of whether you want to smoke or not, if your connection is not tight).
:D! is offline  
Old Aug 30, 16, 1:52 am
  #27  
Moderator: UK and Ireland & Europe
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Biggleswade
Programs: SK*G, Lots of Blue Elsewhere
Posts: 13,344
As we now have a dedicated smoking forum, I'm going to move this over to prevent it becoming a drag. Please continue to discuss this topic in the smoking forum.

stut
Moderator
UK & Ireland
stut is offline  
Old Sep 21, 16, 2:18 pm
  #28  
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: england
Posts: 11
i traveled about three month ago and i asked the customer information for a smoking lounge and he told me there are no smoking lounge in T5, is it a new thing that there have a smoking lounge in T5???
altermerlin is offline  
Old Sep 21, 16, 2:25 pm
  #29  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: LHR
Programs: Accor PLT,Thai Silver, HH Dia, SPG PLT (LT Gold), TK Gold, M&M S, BA Silver, Hyatt Dia
Posts: 4,327
Been that way for sometime now. Only place to smoke is Landside
ExpatSomchai is offline  
Old Aug 4, 17, 3:15 pm
  #30  
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Glos
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 5,533
For those transferring and not going landside at LHR; according to the BA forum, there's a smoking den / cage by the connections bus at T3. May be useful to someone

Read post #49 here

Smoking lounge at LHR T5

Last edited by mikeyfly; Oct 28, 17 at 2:22 am
mikeyfly is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread