Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Global Airline Alliances > SkyTeam
Reload this Page >

Luggage and flying stdby on reward tkt.

Luggage and flying stdby on reward tkt.

Reply

Old May 4, 08, 12:54 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: At an airport-on a cruise ship
Programs: UA-1K, MM, Hilton-Diamond, Marriott-Platinum, SPG-Platinum Thnks to FT
Posts: 4,171
Luggage and flying stdby on reward tkt.

I searched on the CO forum and I think I have the answer but thought I'd pursue it here. I am planning on a 12 hour stopover in AMS on the way to FCO from EWR. I am on a reward tkt. TATL it is in BF and from AMS to FCO it is in coach. I was told if I wanted J from AMS-FCO it would be more miles. For a 2hr flt and basically the same seats, I passed.

Now, here is my question. I want to go into AMS to a couple of museums that I missed last time. If I check my luggage all the way through to FCO I will not be burdened with finding luggage storage and rechecking the luggage later. That is the good news. What if I want to go stdby on an earlier flt to FCO??? Is that allowed on a Sky Team award tkt that is issued by CO? If it is allowed, and I have my luggage checked thru on the later flt would that blow my chances of flying earlier stdby? Would they find my luggage and load it on the earlier flt if I can/do get on? With all of these possibilities is it probably better to just check my luggage thru to AMS, claim it, store it and then hope for the best for stdby?

Thanks in advance.
Cheers
cruisr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 08, 2:18 pm
  #2  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 69,035
You will be much more likely to get on the earlier flight standby if your bags are not checked all the way through. And I have no idea if standby is allowed on the reward ticket, but at some point you'll probably be able to talk someone into it.
sbm12 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 08, 2:47 pm
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Soon to be LEGT
Posts: 10,928
Post

Standby is not allowed by KL out of AMS, irrespective of class of service or ticket type (exceptions are only made for nonrevs).
By the way, you shouldn't have to spend more miles for a connection in business class. Call and ask a couple more times; you should be able to get it for nowt. Try for an AZ-operated flight as these are 2-2 or 2-3 instead of Europe Neglect.
graraps is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 08, 3:25 pm
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: At an airport-on a cruise ship
Programs: UA-1K, MM, Hilton-Diamond, Marriott-Platinum, SPG-Platinum Thnks to FT
Posts: 4,171
Originally Posted by graraps View Post
Standby is not allowed by KL out of AMS, irrespective of class of service or ticket type (exceptions are only made for nonrevs).
By the way, you shouldn't have to spend more miles for a connection in business class. Call and ask a couple more times; you should be able to get it for nowt. Try for an AZ-operated flight as these are 2-2 or 2-3 instead of Europe Neglect.


I am actually on the Alitalia flt and would like to stdby for the earlier flt on them. I was told that I could only get coach on the intra Europe even though I am in business on the overwater. I am on a Saver Award so it is 100K RT. Maybe coach was not available intra Europe???
cruisr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 08, 3:28 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 7,557
It doesn't matter whether it's KL, AZ or any other carrier - the concept of "standby" just doesn't exist in Europe. If you're on a full-fare fully-flexible ticket you can change your reservation to an earlier flight. If you're on a non-flexible ticket you travel as booked.
Aviatrix is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 08, 3:45 pm
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: At an airport-on a cruise ship
Programs: UA-1K, MM, Hilton-Diamond, Marriott-Platinum, SPG-Platinum Thnks to FT
Posts: 4,171
Originally Posted by Aviatrix View Post
It doesn't matter whether it's KL, AZ or any other carrier - the concept of "standby" just doesn't exist in Europe. If you're on a full-fare fully-flexible ticket you can change your reservation to an earlier flight. If you're on a non-flexible ticket you travel as booked.

Thank you. Good to know as I will check my luggage through to FCO and enjoy dinner in AMS before heading back to the airport to continue on.
cruisr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 08, 6:41 pm
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Soon to be LEGT
Posts: 10,928
Originally Posted by cruisr View Post
I am actually on the Alitalia flt and would like to stdby for the earlier flt on them. I was told that I could only get coach on the intra Europe even though I am in business on the overwater. I am on a Saver Award so it is 100K RT. Maybe coach was not available intra Europe???
Aviatrix is right on standby.
If there is availability in business class, they should give it to you for no extra charge. If only Y is available, well at least you'll be checking in early and guaranteed an exit row seat!
graraps is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread