Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Global Airline Alliances > SkyTeam
Reload this Page >

Flying C class on Skyteam...can I use any Skyteam airline lounge?

Flying C class on Skyteam...can I use any Skyteam airline lounge?

Reply

Old Feb 16, 04, 7:55 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA
Programs: DL Plat, WN A-List w/CP, UA Silver, Starwood Plat, Marriott Gold, Hertz President's Circle
Posts: 577
Flying C class on Skyteam...can I use any Skyteam airline lounge?

I'm finally burning some skymiles and taking a few flights on DL and Korean in C class. Is it possible to use any Skyteam airline lounge, or only the lounges for the airlines I'm flying?

I know on *A you can visit any and all if you want which makes your airport transit time a little more enjoyable.
EmoryFlyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 04, 7:26 pm
  #2  
Four Seasons Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Fairfield County, CT USA
Programs: AA PLT+2MM / DL DM+1MM / A3 *G / Fairmont LT Plat / Ritz Gold / SPG Gold
Posts: 4,077
Yes you can.

http://www.skyteam.com/EN/benefits/skyteam_lounges.jsp
NYBanker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 04, 10:39 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: coastal Croatia
Programs: BAEC gold, M&M FQTV
Posts: 1,865
Actually, there are very few cities that have more than one skyteam lounge. And you won't have access to the first class lounges in, say, Paris or Seoul. But other than that, everything should be fine.
eefor jfp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 04, 10:59 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 1,958
Interestingly, if you are a DL PM, hence SkyTeam Elite Plus, you can access KE's First Class lounge at ICN without holding an F ticket. *A won't admit you to F lounges regardless of status without an F ticket.
FTraveler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 04, 12:41 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Connecticut
Programs: Delta Platinum Medallion, Crown Room Club Member, United Mileage Plus, HiltonHonors
Posts: 453
I don't know what the rules are with Korean Air, but in Rome you can't use the lounges for Alitalia or Air France. I fly the Rome - JFK route on DL every few months and I try each time to no avail.
jmscsc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 04, 5:00 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Atlanta
Programs: DL/PM, *Wood Platinum
Posts: 835

Apparently, Skyteam members have a lot of discretion as to when they will let you use their lounge. In Jo'burg, for instance, there is no Delta lounge and Air France will only let you use the lounge if you are connecting to a AF flight. Conversely, I've been able to use the Alitalia lounge in Rome even though I was flying Lufthansa, but found that sitting in the terminal amongst the hoi polloi was preferable.
rhetor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 04, 8:01 am
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA
Programs: DL Plat, WN A-List w/CP, UA Silver, Starwood Plat, Marriott Gold, Hertz President's Circle
Posts: 577
Thanks for all the replies...I have moved my status over to United. So all I will have to gain admittance is my C class ticket. LAX and BKK both have AF lounges that will be open while I'm transiting, and both are probably nicer than the KE lounges, so I'll give it a go and see what happens.
EmoryFlyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 04, 8:14 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: DFW TX - DL MM/SM, AA 4MM/CK, BA/UA Silver, Kingfisher (RIP) Plat, MR LT PP
Posts: 812
<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">Originally posted by jmscsc:
I don't know what the rules are with Korean Air, but in Rome you can't use the lounges for Alitalia or Air France. I fly the Rome - JFK route on DL every few months and I try each time to no avail.</font>
I suspect that this is more a function of your flight than the lounge - the FCO AF lounge is located in the Schengen part of the airport (Terminal B) and your JFK flight operates from the Terminal C satellite, beyond immingration.

I routinely use the AF lounge while flying AZ out of Terminal B and have never once had a problem. It's far less crowded than the AZ lounge across the hall and is one of the few places at FCO with a legal smoking area (not that that stops most Europeans).
DFW DL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 04, 8:03 pm
  #9  
Four Seasons Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Fairfield County, CT USA
Programs: AA PLT+2MM / DL DM+1MM / A3 *G / Fairmont LT Plat / Ritz Gold / SPG Gold
Posts: 4,077
<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">Originally posted by jmscsc:
I don't know what the rules are with Korean Air, but in Rome you can't use the lounges for Alitalia or Air France. I fly the Rome - JFK route on DL every few months and I try each time to no avail.</font>
Could you give us some more details. What's your status? Who's your carrier? What's your paid fare class?

If you're in business or a high elite, there's something going wrong.
NYBanker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 04, 11:11 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: coastal Croatia
Programs: BAEC gold, M&M FQTV
Posts: 1,865
<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" size="2">Originally posted by EmoryFlyer:
Thanks for all the replies...I have moved my status over to United. So all I will have to gain admittance is my C class ticket. LAX and BKK both have AF lounges that will be open while I'm transiting, and both are probably nicer than the KE lounges, so I'll give it a go and see what happens.</font>
AF moved over to the Delta terminal at LAX for their flights to Paris and now use the CRC in Terminal 5. The flight that goes to Tahiti still uses the Int'l Terminal (as does Korean) but I don't know if they've kept their lounge open or opted to use KE's. Has anyone tried to use (what used to be) the AF lounge in the Tom Bradley terminal since the change over in November?

[edited to add "at LAX" for clarity]

[This message has been edited by eefor jfp (edited Feb 18, 2004).]
eefor jfp is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread