Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Global Airline Alliances > SkyTeam
Reload this Page >

Lounge Access in a different Terminal at JFK

Lounge Access in a different Terminal at JFK

Reply

Old Feb 28, 15, 11:39 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: YWG
Programs: Delta Gold Medallion, SPG/Marriott Plat, Executive Club Silver
Posts: 23
Lounge Access in a different Terminal at JFK

I have searched this forum thoroughly, but found a lot of the answers to my question varied between people.

Situation: I am flying to Canada out of JFK with Delta. I assume this flight will depart from Terminal 4.

Question: Will I be able to clear security at Terminal 1 to access the Air France Lounge?

- I have Gold Medallion / SkyTeam Elite Plus status
- It is to my understanding that the Air France Lounge is airside
- I do not have an issue with re-clearing security

Last edited by Icenoft; Feb 28, 15 at 11:46 pm
Icenoft is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 15, 11:46 pm
  #2  
Moderator, Hilton Honors
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: hopefully travelling
Programs: up in the air
Posts: 70,689
yes AF lounge at JFK is airside

sorry I can't help with the rest of your questions
Kiwi Flyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 15, 1:58 am
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: YWG
Programs: Delta Gold Medallion, SPG/Marriott Plat, Executive Club Silver
Posts: 23
Originally Posted by Kiwi Flyer View Post
yes AF lounge at JFK is airside

sorry I can't help with the rest of your questions
I will try my luck at getting through security when the time comes.

Has anyone else tried to access a terminal with a boarding pass from a different terminal?
Icenoft is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 15, 2:20 am
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Accor 25+ Badge 2019 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Paris, France
Programs: AF/KL Flying Blue Platinum for life/Club2000 Ultimate, UA Mileage plus, Le Club Accorhotels platinum
Posts: 12,770
AF lounge is indeed airside in T1.
I have no experience in that but I sincerely doubt you will be allowed through security at T1 with a BP for a flight leaving from T4. It is different from T2/T4 used by DL and which operate basically as a single DL terminal with an airside shuttle (they check BP at the shuttle but only the date), and you can move freely between the 2 (I did it a few months ago to avoid to go T2 SkyClub which is total crap).
This being said, even if it was possible, why would you do that ? OK AF lounge is nice and has just been renovated but what a hassle ! And you will need to leave T1 quite early. T1 is a pure international terminal and so I don't know if there is an easy way to go out (as you do in a terminal when you arrive from a domestic flight). And DL SkyClub lounge in T4 is one of the nicest in their network, so you should definitely go there directly IMO. And, again, I really believe that you won't be allowed in T1.
Goldorak is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 15, 3:10 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Montreal and Dublin
Programs: AA Platinum
Posts: 2,670
Lounge Access in a different Terminal at JFK

I'm not familiar with JFK but generally the TSA doesn't care about what terminal is on your boarding pass. At least that's the case at SFO and BOS. It may be different at an "international" terminal and it's always possible that JFK is a special flower.

But going through security an extra time doesn't sound like my idea of fun
zkzkz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 15, 6:16 am
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Accor 25+ Badge 2019 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Paris, France
Programs: AF/KL Flying Blue Platinum for life/Club2000 Ultimate, UA Mileage plus, Le Club Accorhotels platinum
Posts: 12,770
Originally Posted by zkzkz View Post
But going through security an extra time doesn't sound like my idea of fun
Definitely, and also taking into account that T1 and the security check point is overcrowded in the afternoon/evening and the priority lane is a complete joke.

Also, I forgot to say to the OP : AF 1st flight is around 4:30 pm, meaning that the lounge opens likely around 1:30 pm. So if your flight is in the morning, the AF lounge will be closed.
Goldorak is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 15, 6:32 am
  #7  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
2019 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 77,747
Go directly to T4 and use the new SC there. If you have PP, you can also visit the wingtips lounge there for variety.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 15, 3:47 pm
  #8  
2019 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Southern California
Programs: AA Plat, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 305
Recently, flying out of San Diego, my wife and I cleared TSA in Terminal 1 (with Boarding Passes for Terminal 2 airline). We later went for our flight and cleared TSA again in Terminal 2 (not physically connected to Terminal 1).
1st Cav Vet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 15, 7:36 pm
  #9  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: YWG
Programs: Delta Gold Medallion, SPG/Marriott Plat, Executive Club Silver
Posts: 23
All very good points. I'll keep these things in mind!
Icenoft is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 15, 7:39 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NRT / HND
Programs: UA 1K, DL PM
Posts: 4,093
LAX recently started allowing people to use any terminal with a same day boarding pass, even when the terminals are not connected airside. I don't know if this is a TSA wide initiative or local only to LAX. Definitely a nice benefit though for those with extra time and want to use better lounges.
dvs7310 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 16, 1:55 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NYC
Programs: AS Gold, B6 Mosaic, Hertz PC, Avis PC, Global Entry
Posts: 345
I'm very interested in doing this since I'm arriving early (beating traffic, checking golf clubs) and flying out of T5, which I believe to have the worst food. Ideally I'd head over to T4 and get Shake Shack instead and with PreCheck, I may just try it. Will report back if no one tells me definitively I can't do it.
MumbaiFlyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 16, 10:35 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Programs: UA
Posts: 236
Originally Posted by MumbaiFlyer View Post
I'm very interested in doing this since I'm arriving early (beating traffic, checking golf clubs) and flying out of T5, which I believe to have the worst food. Ideally I'd head over to T4 and get Shake Shack instead and with PreCheck, I may just try it. Will report back if no one tells me definitively I can't do it.
So were you able to enter T4 with a BP for T5?

I will have a similar situation. and would like to know if anybody has similar experience. Earlier post suggested that one might had issue got out of T1 due to it's pure international, how about T4. I suppose it's easy, isn't it? Thanks in advance.
mike_L is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 16, 3:05 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NYC
Programs: AS Gold, B6 Mosaic, Hertz PC, Avis PC, Global Entry
Posts: 345
Originally Posted by mike_L View Post
So were you able to enter T4 with a BP for T5?

I will have a similar situation. and would like to know if anybody has similar experience. Earlier post suggested that one might had issue got out of T1 due to it's pure international, how about T4. I suppose it's easy, isn't it? Thanks in advance.
Unfortunately the timing didn't allow it. Would still love for someone to confirm.
MumbaiFlyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 16, 12:23 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: SFO/SJC, BWI
Programs: :rolleyes:, DL DM, Mlife Plat, TR 7*, SPG/MR Plat, UA 1K
Posts: 9,113
I was recently (end of September) denied access to JFK T1 with a DL boarding pass even after saying I wanted to visit the AF lounge. If someone wants to try this, I would suggest using a mobile boarding pass where it's less obvious what the destination is (they may ask you anyway and then deny you)
Zorak is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 16, 10:45 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NYC, NY
Posts: 191
JFK - Was able to access Wing Tips lounge T4 with boarding pass T5 -

hi,
Just to share the info, AT JFK I had my flight booked with JetBlue domestic out of terminal T5 and was able to pass the security at T4 and did go to Wing Tips, it seems they are well aware of it.
Note : I did try the same in terminal T1 but they denied, even the agent said she will get fired if she allows passenger with other terminal boarding pass.

Good Luck -
phoenixdude is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread