Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Global Airline Alliances > SkyTeam
Reload this Page >

Looking for your help for a SkyTeam Route/advice departing from VIENNA (VIE)

Looking for your help for a SkyTeam Route/advice departing from VIENNA (VIE)

Reply

Old Oct 21, 12, 5:12 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: EUR
Programs: SkyTeam/FlyingBlue Plat - AMEX/AF
Posts: 154
Question Looking for your help for a SkyTeam Route/advice departing from VIENNA (VIE)

Dear All,

I hope you're fine
I am seeking a little help/trick fy for a forthcoming travel i could do either by car, but i'd be keen on doing by flight.

I have to go from Vienna to Munich OR Stuttgart (not too far) on Friday 26th October 2012 preferable in the morning...
I am considering ALL route with SKYTEAM (for my status flights counts), aka : Via PARIS , via ROME, via PRAGUE, etc.

but I cannot manage work something out either on AirFrance or Alitalia website for such routes. and on separates tickets there is only business available and massive price.
The return date can be a fake/random one...
I am desperately seeking a little help for any possiblity or advice ? Preferably for cheap or until "around" K class OR slightly more....

Thousand thanks for the kind help and tips,
Alex
AlexanderCDG is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 12, 5:21 am
  #2  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: EUR
Programs: SkyTeam/FlyingBlue Plat - AMEX/AF
Posts: 154
Sorry I posted this message in another section, perhaps better to be there.
How can i delete this one ?
Many thanks,
Alex
AlexanderCDG is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 12, 1:48 pm
  #3  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 80,296
Have you tried KLM through AMS? On AZ, are you looking at Milan as well as Rome?

Personally, I would take the train rather than a CDG or FCO connection.

Last edited by MSPeconomist; Nov 3, 12 at 9:23 am Reason: typo
MSPeconomist is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 12, 4:34 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SYD-NYC
Programs: |QF LT Silver|OZ Gold|HH Diamond|DL Blue|
Posts: 1,694
Originally Posted by MSPeconomist View Post
Personally, I would take the train rather than a CDG or FCO connection.
Agree, status is nice but not nice enough to take two flights over quadruple the distance with the risk of misconnections, for VIE-MUC which you can do in about 5 hours by train or less than 1 hour direct on LH or Niki...
Supersonic Swinger is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 12, 7:01 pm
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: EUR
Programs: SkyTeam/FlyingBlue Plat - AMEX/AF
Posts: 154
Hi all,

You where right, finally due to poor timing/dates (26Oct) was national holiday in Austria, there was no realistic outbound options for the route so all went via Road & car rental.

I'll post soon as i might have a new timeframe (soon) aka within less that 1 week for a trip to Paris via xxx any stopover(s) for my status "runs"...
Will let you know soon in case this time is more suitable,
Man y thanks again,
A.
AlexanderCDG is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 12, 4:36 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Italy
Programs: AZ CFP (ST E+), BA Silver
Posts: 1,945
Originally Posted by MSPeconomist View Post
Have you tried KLM through AMS? On AZ, are you looking at Milan as well as Rome?
AZ does not fly to VIE from Milan.
raistlin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 12, 10:28 am
  #7  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 80,296
Originally Posted by raistlin View Post
AZ does not fly to VIE from Milan.
I'm surprised by this, as I tend to consider both FCO and MXP as international hubs for AZ. However, VIE itself is a pretty small airport for a major European capital and fascinating city.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 12, 3:35 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Italy
Programs: AZ CFP (ST E+), BA Silver
Posts: 1,945
Originally Posted by MSPeconomist View Post
I'm surprised by this, as I tend to consider both FCO and MXP as international hubs for AZ. However, VIE itself is a pretty small airport for a major European capital and fascinating city.
MXP is not an hub for AZ. Except for a few flights (notably to MIA and to JFK), there's no reason someone departing from Milan on AZ would go there. Rather you'd be routed through FCO or depart from LIN direct to destination.

A flight to VIE would be most likely from LIN.
raistlin is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread