Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Global Airline Alliances > SkyTeam
Reload this Page >

Air France Lounge LAX Terminal 2

Air France Lounge LAX Terminal 2

Reply

Old Feb 24, 12, 12:31 pm
  #16  
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: LAX
Programs: Delta Plat, CO Gold, AF
Posts: 403
Originally Posted by acjflyer View Post
I'm arriving in T2 next week off of the KL flight - how is passport and customs control there? Got a connecting DL flight, so I hope the lines are not too long.
If you are one of the first off the plane, around 10 minutes to clear. Really depends on your position on the aircraft and how many other flights are landing at the same time. I have gotten through in 10 minutes and if really full around an hour. Remember you have to go from T2 to T5 for your DL flight. You can take the free shuttle around the airport or just walk across the parking lots to T5. You will have to clear security again when you enter
T5.
tpatta is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 12, 9:21 pm
  #17  
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: JFK
Programs: Delta GM, ST E+, SPG Gold
Posts: 141
Here is a still shot from a video I took of my recent trip to Europe. This image is a still shot from the video, sorry for the poor quality. Taken on 1 February 2012. I was flying AF 65 (LAX-CDG).

I admit, this lounge is quite poor! I've used this lounge many times, whether flying KLM or AF....one expects more from a business lounge! This is in need of a remodel, however, I cannot think of any additional space. This lounge also lacks food options....I only saw cookies and crackers. There was a decent selection of wines, champagne and some liquor.


[IMG][/IMG]
upgradeluvr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 12, 2:22 am
  #18  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Accor 25+ Badge 2019 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Paris, France
Programs: AF/KL Flying Blue Platinum for life/Club2000 Ultimate, UA Mileage plus, Le Club Accorhotels platinum
Posts: 12,770
I haven't been in this lounge since it is purely AF but I can tell, based on this picture, that it looks much better than the absolute crap it was at the time of NW
Goldorak is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 12, 11:51 am
  #19  
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: LAX
Programs: Delta Plat, CO Gold, AF
Posts: 403
Originally Posted by Goldorak View Post
I haven't been in this lounge since it is purely AF but I can tell, based on this picture, that it looks much better than the absolute crap it was at the time of NW
It may look a little better, but still the same poor food and drink selection. Also, last time I was in (November) I commented on the new chairs and was told "they may look good, but are horrible to sit in". She was right. Very uncomfortable. Really wish AF would do nice remodel.
tpatta is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 12, 7:00 am
  #20  
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Seattle, WA
Programs: Alaska, AA, Hyatt, SPG
Posts: 6,937
The lounge looks better than my last visit as well. Passing through tomorrow afternoon. Are there adequate plugs? Should I consider bringing a power strip to make a few new friends?
lalala is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 12, 10:14 am
  #21  
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: LAX
Programs: Delta Plat, CO Gold, AF
Posts: 403
Originally Posted by lalala View Post
The lounge looks better than my last visit as well. Passing through tomorrow afternoon. Are there adequate plugs? Should I consider bringing a power strip to make a few new friends?
Depends on the time of day. Bring one to be sure and make new friends.
tpatta is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 12, 10:39 am
  #22  
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: LAX
Programs: DL PM | Marriott Gold | Alaska Gold
Posts: 758
I have a question re: this lounge as well - I am flying on AZ out of T2 - is there a way to get access to the AF lounge - even though it sucks? Because of other arrangements I am going to be at LAX for awhile before my flight, so at that point, a crappy lounge is better than no lounge at all - especially in T2.

Oh yeah, I am a SM Skymiles and Skyclub member if that helps.
JGfromOC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 12, 8:09 am
  #23  
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: JFK
Programs: Delta GM, ST E+, SPG Gold
Posts: 141
Originally Posted by JGfromOC View Post
I have a question re: this lounge as well - I am flying on AZ out of T2 - is there a way to get access to the AF lounge - even though it sucks? Because of other arrangements I am going to be at LAX for awhile before my flight, so at that point, a crappy lounge is better than no lounge at all - especially in T2.

Oh yeah, I am a SM Skymiles and Skyclub member if that helps.
If you're flying "Magnifica Class" then you'll have access. Also, if you are a Skyteam Elite Plus member, you'll have lounge access. Are you a DL Diamond, Plat or Gold? If you are any of those, you'll be fine.

Last edited by upgradeluvr; Mar 19, 12 at 8:24 am
upgradeluvr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 12, 2:15 pm
  #24  
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: LAX
Programs: DL PM | Marriott Gold | Alaska Gold
Posts: 758
Originally Posted by upgradeluvr View Post
If you're flying "Magnifica Class" then you'll have access. Also, if you are a Skyteam Elite Plus member, you'll have lounge access. Are you a DL Diamond, Plat or Gold? If you are any of those, you'll be fine.
Flying Y+ - Alitalia won't let you use Skymiles to upgrade so I am screwed there. Only an SM as well. sounds like I am out of luck.
JGfromOC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 12, 12:37 pm
  #25  
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: LAX
Programs: Delta Plat, CO Gold, AF
Posts: 403
Originally Posted by JGfromOC View Post
Flying Y+ - Alitalia won't let you use Skymiles to upgrade so I am screwed there. Only an SM as well. sounds like I am out of luck.
Perhaps not. If you have an AmEx Platinum you should get a free Priority Pass membership that will get you lounge access at T2.
tpatta is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 12, 1:24 pm
  #26  
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: LAX
Programs: DL PM | Marriott Gold | Alaska Gold
Posts: 758
Originally Posted by tpatta View Post
Perhaps not. If you have an AmEx Platinum you should get a free Priority Pass membership that will get you lounge access at T2.
Just shy of my upgrade date to get to AMEX Plat.
JGfromOC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 12, 12:30 pm
  #27  
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Köln/Deutschland
Posts: 377
Any News about which Lounge Air France uses for its Affaires-A380-Passengers in Los Angeles?
Kölner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 12, 2:59 pm
  #28  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
2019 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 77,749
Originally Posted by JGfromOC View Post
Just shy of my upgrade date to get to AMEX Plat.
You can buy the full Priority Pass program for about $130 per year and $30 per lounge visit. This plan also gets you into the UA lounges. The T2 AF lounge and also the AC Maple Leaf lounge in T2 are in PP so that you could use either after going through security at T2. If you have a long connection, will this be a problem--i.e., will you have boarding passes or need to visit the AF check in counter, which might not open until about three hours before your flight.

TBIT has a bunch of shops and food vendors land side. There's also a bar/restaurant located at the top of the iconic high structure in the center of the airport, sort of in the middle of the parking garages. Finally, many here are fans of In and Out burgers and plane spotting from under the landing paths there.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 12, 3:01 pm
  #29  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
2019 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 77,749
Originally Posted by Kölner View Post
Any News about which Lounge Air France uses for its Affaires-A380-Passengers in Los Angeles?
No personal knowledge, but I would be very surprised if it were other than the SkyTeam lounge operated by KE. Whe TBIT was renovated, the idea was supposed to be that each alliance would have a joint lounge, located to the right of the central area, on top of each other and sharing an elevator.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 13, 8:59 am
  #30  
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: NC
Programs: AA Concierge Key/1MM, DL DM/2 MM, UA Plat, AS MVP, Hilton Diamond, IHG Spire, Marriott Plat Prem
Posts: 9,559
Using PP, I noticed that the Air Canada lounge closes around lunch time (before the AF/KL flights leave)...is that to prevent pax from using that lounge or do they just not have flights at that time.

It's been awhile since I have used the AF lounge (used to use it when it was NW)...is it just packaged snacks? Bottles of water that can be taken on board?
SkyTeam777 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread