Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Asia > Singapore
Reload this Page >

SIN airport question

SIN airport question

Old Nov 8, 16, 2:38 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 433
SIN airport question

I have a strange situation here. I have ticket from JFK - SIN with Singapore Airlines, but then I have a separate ticket from Singapore to Guam with Thai Airways. It's not on one ticket, it's not a transit. Upon arrival at SIN, do I need to clear immigration or not to get my ticket to Guam? I am afraid we are losing time.

Can I just get ticket at Thai Airways counter in JFK so I don't have to go through immigration in SIN to get my ticket?
flybie is offline  
Old Nov 8, 16, 7:11 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SIN and wandering.
Posts: 1,549
Seems like a roundabout way to get to GUM by flying JFK-SIN and then connect to another flight to GUM.

Did you consider taking a transpacific to Japan (HND/NRT), or Philippines (MNL) and connect to a flight from them to GUM? Flying time would have been shorter on a TPAC route.

In any case, even on a separate ticket, the check-in staff in JFK would be able to interline, hence checking through your luggage all the way to GUM. If your luggage is checked all the way through to GUM, then you won't need to clear immigration, and can just collect your boarding passes at the transit desk airside (if you didn't receive them already at JFK).

I wouldn't worry too much if I were you.
SQ319 is offline  
Old Nov 8, 16, 11:10 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: sometimes SIN, sometimes JFK/LGA
Programs: UA 1K, 1.6MM bis
Posts: 767
Before I say anything else, I want to say up front that SQ 319 is completely correct. SQ can take care of the whole thing when you check in at JFK. I think it would be really strange if they say they cannot.

Having said that, let's say for argument's sake SQ couldn't help you at JFK. Thus your backup is to deal with it when arriving at SIN. Once you're off the jetway, go straight to the nearest Transit area, and look for the TG check in counter. (BTW the transit area is airside - do NOT go through Immigration.) The TG folks would be able to issue you boarding passes; they will also ask for your SQ claim check so that someone in the baggage area can intercept your luggage and retag it to GUM. In this scenario, if you feel you need to do something, call TG from JFK, let them know that you're on your way on SQ including flight number and ask them to add the information to your PNR (record).

Either way, you're covered.

BTW TG does not fly to New York at this time. AFAIK they have no check in counter at JFK (it's not on the Port Authority list for airlines at JFK).
dsgtc0408 is offline  
Old Nov 9, 16, 3:32 pm
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: somewhere north of London, UK
Programs: HH Gold, BA Silver, Accor Silver
Posts: 15,243
Originally Posted by dsgtc0408 View Post
Once you're off the jetway, go straight to the nearest Transit area, and look for the TG check in counter. (BTW the transit area is airside - do NOT go through Immigration.)
Note you have to go to the correct transfer desk. Thai operate from both desks in Terminal 1, which is just a short walk or even shorter train ride from T3 where I believe the JFK flight will land.

http://www.changiairport.com/en/pass...e/transit.html
Swiss Tony is offline  
Old Nov 19, 16, 11:45 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Programs: VA Gold; IHG Gold; Hertz Gold Plus Rewards Five Star; QFF; KrisFlyer.
Posts: 62
SQ should be able to tag your bags fro JFK-GUM if you ask, but who are you flying from BKK-GUM? TG don't fly to GUM, so you'd need to check that SQ have an interline agreement with that airline.
BNEFlyer is offline  
Old Nov 20, 16, 8:27 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Redwood City, CA USA (SFO/SJC)
Programs: Last 1K flight 1/21/11; fun while it lasted, 1P in 2011, Plat for 2012,13,14,15 & 2016. Gold in 17 &
Posts: 8,506
Originally Posted by BNEFlyer View Post
SQ should be able to tag your bags fro JFK-GUM if you ask, but who are you flying from BKK-GUM? TG don't fly to GUM, so you'd need to check that SQ have an interline agreement with that airline.
He's not flying to BKK according to his post. He's flying JFK-SIN-GUM if I'm reading correctly.
Mike Jacoubowsky is offline  
Old Nov 21, 16, 12:39 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Jose, California
Programs: UA Premier Platinum
Posts: 125
If you look at the Wikipedia page for GUM, there are no direct flight to GUM from SIN, and neither does Thai fly to GUM.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Antoni...tional_Airport

So, if the OP is connecting in SIN from SQ to TG, and the final destination is GUM, it must be a convoluted route
sooge_sj is offline  
Old Nov 21, 16, 12:42 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: CMH, HNL
Programs: UA, HA
Posts: 583
Originally Posted by sooge_sj View Post
...it must be a convoluted route
Hurray for convoluted routes! Fly on, mate!
TheTakeOffRush is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread