FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   Singapore Airlines | KrisFlyer (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/singapore-airlines-krisflyer-500/)
-   -   LAX -> SIN next week. Worth bidding for Business class upgrade during COVID? (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/singapore-airlines-krisflyer/2024346-lax-sin-next-week-worth-bidding-business-class-upgrade-during-covid.html)

kryz Sep 1, 2020 12:30 pm

LAX -> SIN next week. Worth bidding for Business class upgrade during COVID?

Flying LAX to SIN next week (Sept 2020, for business). This is my first time flying SQ (usually fly United) and we're flying on an A350-900. I am in economy and was wondering, is it worth bidding for Business at this time? If so, how much should I bid? I can bid anywhere from $1190 - $2895. Plane looks pretty empty. Or should I just bid for Premium Economy ($205 - $480) instead?

I would love to experience SQ at its fullest since I have heard good things about it but I flew KLM business (LAX -> AMS) a month ago and the experience was very disappointing; only bottled water, one cold meal (a sandwich) and one ...... hot meal. Is SQ is any better?

a5un Sep 1, 2020 1:53 pm

Based on the current load, just lie down 4 across on the middle seats. It's not worth coughing up $ for the upgrade.

carrotjuice Sep 1, 2020 5:13 pm

Originally Posted by a5un (Post 32645579)
Based on the current load, just lie down 4 across on the middle seats. It's not worth coughing up $ for the upgrade.

Indeed. There was once I saw someone bring a (rolled up) sleeping bag - specifically for this purpose! Clever.

lokijuh Sep 1, 2020 6:08 pm

Yes. Except it will be only 3 seats across the middle, but same principle applies. Or it could be 3 seats at the side with the pillow on the fuselage.