Entire First Cabin Blocked - normal?

Old May 30, 20, 6:23 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 1,428
Entire First Cabin Blocked - normal?

I was looking at seat maps on SQ26 close to the EOS... May '21. The entire seat map shows as blocked on EF, nearly the entire J cabin shows as blocked too. What's up with that?
YYCCL3 is offline  
Old May 30, 20, 7:13 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Programs: Alaska
Posts: 1,360
Originally Posted by YYCCL3 View Post
I was looking at seat maps on SQ26 close to the EOS... May '21. The entire seat map shows as blocked on EF, nearly the entire J cabin shows as blocked too. What's up with that?

probably different aircrafts to use. Without F and fewer J.
freed0m is offline  
Old Jun 5, 20, 6:20 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: BOS
Programs: AA EXP, SQ PPS
Posts: 1,068
Something going on. EF shows as 359 in July (but all classes 0'd out, we know won't be operating) and August is 0'd out in F but still shows as 380
daron4000 is offline  
Old Jun 9, 20, 12:21 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 688
Originally Posted by daron4000 View Post
Something going on. EF shows as 359 in July (but all classes 0'd out, we know won't be operating) and August is 0'd out in F but still shows as 380
I'm seeing the same thing in December. The entire F cabin is blocked on my A380 flights, as are the majority of business and premium economy seats.
OptionsCLE is offline  
Old Jun 9, 20, 2:16 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: AUH
Posts: 7,572
No F until September 2020, according to this blog, and no Suites for the foreseeable.
stargold is online now  
Old Jun 10, 20, 6:53 am
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 1,428
The flight I originally asked about now has an open seat map in F.
YYCCL3 is offline  
Old Jun 11, 20, 8:06 am
  #7  
Hyatt Contributor BadgeMandarin Oriental Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: ZRH
Programs: LX, SK *G, FPC, GA/AG
Posts: 2,286
SQ seat maps have always been weird on EF. For example my HKG-SIN flights on SQs website always showed empty and every seat selectable, but on EF all of them were blocked.
Nick Art is offline  
Old Jun 15, 20, 1:48 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Australia
Programs: SQ & QF
Posts: 1,300
SQ are not accepting any F bookings. This is to allow greater flexibility with potential aircraft swaps.
FN-GM is offline  
Old Jun 15, 20, 1:51 am
  #9  
Hyatt Contributor BadgeMandarin Oriental Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: ZRH
Programs: LX, SK *G, FPC, GA/AG
Posts: 2,286
Originally Posted by FN-GM View Post
SQ are not accepting any F bookings. This is to allow greater flexibility with potential aircraft swaps.
Any idea when already existing F bookings will be cancelled?
Nick Art is offline  
Old Jun 15, 20, 4:21 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Programs: A3 Gold, GHA Black
Posts: 828
Really SQ? I bought 5 Suites flights for Sep-Oct. All still shows as confirmed in SQ app, and now I learn (on Flyertalk, not becasue SQ told me) no Suites and probably no F at all?!?
Tens of K'$ cost and they expect me arrive at the airport and to fly in C?
Regards,
El Puerco Volante
El Puerco Volante is offline  
Old Jun 16, 20, 8:13 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Australia
Programs: SQ & QF
Posts: 1,300
Originally Posted by El Puerco Volante View Post
Really SQ? I bought 5 Suites flights for Sep-Oct. All still shows as confirmed in SQ app, and now I learn (on Flyertalk, not becasue SQ told me) no Suites and probably no F at all?!?
Tens of K'$ cost and they expect me arrive at the airport and to fly in C?
Regards,
El Puerco Volante
Hundreds of thousands of people are dead, thousands of jobs at airlines are on the line and you are worried about being downgraded from a suite to Business Class??
FN-GM is offline  
Old Jun 17, 20, 11:42 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Singapore, London
Programs: SQ:TPPS, Marriott: Titanium
Posts: 160
Originally Posted by El Puerco Volante View Post
Really SQ? I bought 5 Suites flights for Sep-Oct. All still shows as confirmed in SQ app, and now I learn (on Flyertalk, not becasue SQ told me) no Suites and probably no F at all?!?
Tens of K'$ cost and they expect me arrive at the airport and to fly in C?
Regards,
El Puerco Volante
YES
williamluk is offline  
Old Jun 17, 20, 2:20 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: YVR, KUL
Programs: MH, AC, AS
Posts: 1,727
Originally Posted by El Puerco Volante View Post
Really SQ? I bought 5 Suites flights for Sep-Oct. All still shows as confirmed in SQ app, and now I learn (on Flyertalk, not becasue SQ told me) no Suites and probably no F at all?!?
Tens of K'$ cost and they expect me arrive at the airport and to fly in C?
Regards,
El Puerco Volante
Get the difference refunded and move on. Or to another carrier that offers Suites.
SilverChris is offline  
Old Jun 17, 20, 2:38 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Programs: A3 Gold, GHA Black
Posts: 828
Originally Posted by SilverChris View Post
Get the difference refunded and move on. Or to another carrier that offers Suites.
I would immediately cancel & switch under normal circumstances. But it's such a pain to refund even flex tickets this day - takes ages to get your money back.
Regards,
El Puerco Volante
El Puerco Volante is offline  
Old Jun 17, 20, 2:42 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Programs: A3 Gold, GHA Black
Posts: 828
Originally Posted by FN-GM View Post
Hundreds of thousands of people are dead, thousands of jobs at airlines are on the line and you are worried about being downgraded from a suite to Business Class??
You make a good point!
Have you also already gifted 30k to an airline ? Since this is what you are suggesting here - gift the money to poor airlines as they have such a difficult time, without getting the paid service back.
Truly admirable!
Regards,
El Puerco Volante
YVR guy and Nizar like this.
El Puerco Volante is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: