Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Singapore Airlines | KrisFlyer
Reload this Page >

SQ online checkin "Passport place of issue*"

SQ online checkin "Passport place of issue*"

Old Feb 24, 20, 8:47 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: PVG
Programs: SK*G, QR*G
Posts: 452
SQ online checkin "Passport place of issue*"

Never seen this before, they ask for nationality, then passport number and finally "Passport place of issue*" where you can select between a list of countries.
I assume they mean the country that issued the passport, and not the country where it was issued? Mine was issued by the consulate in Shanghai, so I should select China here? That seems strange.
nick5000 is offline  
Old Feb 24, 20, 8:51 am
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Berlin, SW Florida, and Toronto
Programs: UA 1K, Hilton Diamond, Discovery Black, and assorted others
Posts: 29,295
I'd be careful about that. I would argue that it was issued by Singapore and in Singapore at the request of the consular authority in Shanghai (I don't know that the consulate in Shanghai actually has the resources to produce and issue a passport). It is a poor selection of wording.
LondonElite is online now  
Old Feb 24, 20, 8:52 am
  #3  
TA
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: if it's Thursday, this must be Belgium
Programs: UA 1K MM
Posts: 6,210
I would put in the same as your nationality, to not cause the system any confusion and you any trouble for such a (unnecessary) question. If they have trouble with the answer, it will be discovered at the airport and sorted out there. Putting conflicting info is only likely to raise flags (and probably deny you online checkin) with an automated system.
LondonElite likes this.
TA is offline  
Old Feb 24, 20, 9:46 am
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: PVG
Programs: SK*G, QR*G
Posts: 452
Wonder why they ask for place of issue. Doesn't this go into some iata database or similar, or did they just make this up?
nick5000 is offline  
Old Feb 24, 20, 9:49 am
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Berlin, SW Florida, and Toronto
Programs: UA 1K, Hilton Diamond, Discovery Black, and assorted others
Posts: 29,295
Originally Posted by nick5000 View Post
Wonder why they ask for place of issue. Doesn't this go into some iata database or similar, or did they just make this up?
US ESTAs also ask for nationality and issuing country. It is odd.
LondonElite is online now  
Old Feb 24, 20, 10:05 am
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: PVG
Programs: SK*G, QR*G
Posts: 452
Originally Posted by LondonElite View Post
US ESTAs also ask for nationality and issuing country. It is odd.
Issuing country is clear, but place of issue is not clear, as the passports has a field for authority which includes the place where the passport is issued (not necessarily in issuing country).
nick5000 is offline  
Old Feb 24, 20, 10:07 am
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Berlin, SW Florida, and Toronto
Programs: UA 1K, Hilton Diamond, Discovery Black, and assorted others
Posts: 29,295
Originally Posted by nick5000 View Post
Issuing country is clear, but place of issue is not clear, as the passports has a field for authority which includes the place where the passport is issued (not necessarily in issuing country).
I know, but I believe the same thing is meant.
LondonElite is online now  
Old Feb 24, 20, 1:52 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,428
For the vast majority of people nationality should be the same as issuing country. This applies even if your passport was issued at a consulate - the issuing country is still the country on the cover of the passport, not the country in which the consulate was situated.

The need for two fields arise because some countries issue passports to non-citizens. For example those on a British National (Overseas) passport would list GBR as the issuing country but list nationality as BNO (not GBR).
Top of climb is offline  
Old Feb 24, 20, 2:09 pm
  #9  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: ZOA, SFO, HKG
Programs: UA 1K 0.9MM, Marriott Gold, HHonors Gold, Hertz PC, SBux Gold, TSA Pre✓
Posts: 12,873
Originally Posted by Top of climb View Post
For example those on a British National (Overseas) passport would list GBR as the issuing country but list nationality as BNO (not GBR).
The nationality code in this case is GBN.

This can happen the same way as HKSAR and Macau SAR Passports.
garykung is online now  
Old Feb 24, 20, 2:27 pm
  #10  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: PVG
Programs: SK*G, QR*G
Posts: 452
Originally Posted by Top of climb View Post
For the vast majority of people nationality should be the same as issuing country. This applies even if your passport was issued at a consulate - the issuing country is still the country on the cover of the passport, not the country in which the consulate was situated.

The need for two fields arise because some countries issue passports to non-citizens. For example those on a British National (Overseas) passport would list GBR as the issuing country but list nationality as BNO (not GBR).
Yes this is clear, so why do they write "Place of issue" when they mean issuing country?
Edvard likes this.
nick5000 is offline  
Old Feb 24, 20, 2:59 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: YVR, KUL
Programs: MH, AC, AS
Posts: 1,727
Originally Posted by nick5000 View Post
Yes this is clear, so why do they write "Place of issue" when they mean issuing country?
Itís probably a poor choice of wording, as mentioned above. I canít think of a reason why the place where passport was physically issued should matter.
SilverChris is offline  
Old Feb 24, 20, 3:40 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Singapore
Programs: QF LTG, SQ EGTP, MH Silver, SPG Gold
Posts: 4,388
In the Singapore government travel restrictions there is specific reference to Chinese passports issued in the province of Hubei. This is probably linked to that.

FWIW, Australia used to identify place of issue on passport (eg Melbourne, Sydney etc) but that ceased a while ago. Now, whenever that question is asked on an immigration form (yes there are some that ask it), I just put Australia, before I used to write the place identified in the passport. Just because it is not used in some countries, doesnít mean it isnít in others.
lokijuh is offline  
Old Feb 24, 20, 4:01 pm
  #13  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: PVG
Programs: SK*G, QR*G
Posts: 452
Originally Posted by lokijuh View Post
In the Singapore government travel restrictions there is specific reference to Chinese passports issued in the province of Hubei. This is probably linked to that.

FWIW, Australia used to identify place of issue on passport (eg Melbourne, Sydney etc) but that ceased a while ago. Now, whenever that question is asked on an immigration form (yes there are some that ask it), I just put Australia, before I used to write the place identified in the passport. Just because it is not used in some countries, doesnít mean it isnít in others.
​​​​​​
When immigration forms ask place of issue then I write Norwegian consulate Shanghai. But in the SQ online check in you can't write a name, just select the country. So I almost selected China before I got second thoughts.

Yeah, probably its been quickly added recently to filter out Hubei passports.
​​​​​
nick5000 is offline  
Old Feb 24, 20, 4:21 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Programs: MM, Krisflyer, QFF, VFF
Posts: 294
Originally Posted by nick5000 View Post
​​​​​​
When immigration forms ask place of issue then I write Norwegian consulate Shanghai.
​​​​​
Need to be careful with this. Many consulates, which providing passport services, still have the passport issued and shipped from the home country. The consulate is simply a 'shopfront'.
davidj1 is offline  
Old Feb 24, 20, 4:26 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Programs: AC MM E50 , Former SPG, now Marriott LT Plat
Posts: 5,651
I would take it literally as where the passport was issued. I have had my Canadian passports issued in Montreal, Toronto, Ottawa, and Bonn ( emergency replacement).
Same as Chinese immigration forms always ask where the visa was issued - I always fill it the appropriate city of the issuing consulate.
IluvSQ is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: