Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Singapore Airlines | KrisFlyer
Reload this Page >

SQ Routing Options from East Coast to Asia

Old Jan 19, 20, 9:28 pm
Original Poster

Hi All. I'm no expert - as you're about to see - and after having not taken a trip in over 4 years, I could use your expertise to help me fill in some gaps. The short of it is I'm taking a family of 3 to Asia in business class by dipping into a modest stash of points to hopefully make it happen.

I thought I would try booking through VS to fly on NH but I wasn't seeing any non-wait-listed flights so I abandoned that effort.

At the moment the SQ generated itinerary from SFO to CGK looks like this:
  1. SFO -> HKG - I plan to use the complimentary stopover to visit other places
    1. Separately book the following (which I have not sorted yet): HKG -> ICN -> TPE -> HKG (or HKG -> TPE -> ICN -> HKG)
  2. HKG -> SIN
  3. SIN -> CGK

And the SQ generated return flight from CGK to SFO is the reverse of the above
  1. CGK -> SIN
  2. SIN -> HKG - Plan to purchase a stopover
    1. Separately book the following (which I have not sorted yet): HKG -> NRT/HND -> HKG
  3. HKG -> SFO

At the moment I've got a few questions
  • My biggest pain point right now finding flights out of IAD to hook into this itinerary. Right now it looks like I'll have to book that separately but I'm hoping I've overlooked something that will solve this problem for me. (Note: I checked NYC -> CGK but didn't see any availability for my dates +/- 1 week)
  • Is there anyway to get to Japan without having to book a separate flight?
    • Modify existing return to be: CGK -> NRT/HND -> SFO/IAD?
    • Two one ways and the return one-way would be
      • SIN -> NRT/HND -> SFO/IAD?
      • HKG -> NRT/HND -> SFO/IAD?
    • Something else?
  • Are there any optimizations to the above that I should consider?