Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Singapore Airlines | KrisFlyer
Reload this Page >

Complimentary In-Flight WiFi in F/J, and for PPS Club Members

Complimentary In-Flight WiFi in F/J, and for PPS Club Members

Old Aug 7, 19, 4:07 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: London, UK
Programs: SQ KrisFlyer Elite Gold
Posts: 337
Complimentary In-Flight WiFi in F/J, and for PPS Club Members

Sounds like SQ responds to feedback after all, even if it takes ages.

Passengers flying in Suites and First can enjoy unlimited complimentary WiFi where available. Passengers who are PPS Club members or are flying in J get 100MB of complimentary data. (Previously, this was 100MB and 30MB respectively, which was worth almost nothing. However, the new offering is currently available only on selected aircraft that are equipped with the newer inflight connectivity system.)

SQ have also updated the pricing of their WiFi to much more reasonable rates (since they dropped time-based pricing):
  • Chat (30MB) for USD 3.99
  • Pro (100MB) for USD 9.99
  • Premium (200MB) for USD 15.99
See their website for details.
chisquared is offline  
Old Aug 7, 19, 9:49 am
  #2  
Moderator: British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Programs: Battleaxe Alliance
Posts: 21,258
I noticed yesterday that it was 100 MB (PPS flying J). I would like PPS flying J on F-less routes to get unlimited complimentary wifi though, considering I can't fly F since they don't have F on the route, and as a QPPS it would be nice to get more than a 'normal' J passenger
whughes3 and FlyerEC like this.
LTN Phobia is offline  
Old Aug 8, 19, 1:52 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: SIN (LEJ once a year)
Programs: A3*S, LH, SQ, BA, IHG Spire AMB, HH Gold, Marriot Silver
Posts: 4,975
In flight from SIN to DPS in J yesterday they didn't mention anything about it. Totally forgot to check the IFE though I certainly don't mind being disconnected for a few hours.
demue is offline  
Old Aug 8, 19, 2:11 pm
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: London, UK
Programs: SQ KrisFlyer Elite Gold
Posts: 337
Originally Posted by demue View Post
In flight from SIN to DPS in J yesterday they didn't mention anything about it. Totally forgot to check the IFE though I certainly don't mind being disconnected for a few hours.
Yes, I don't think they're making sure passengers know about the complimentary data. I flew from DPS in J a few months ago as well, and they didn't mention anything about the free 30MB of data I would've had on that flight. Not that I missed the 30MB on such a short flight.
chisquared is offline  
Old Aug 14, 19, 7:40 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Programs: Krisflyer Solitaire
Posts: 3
If I am PPS-Solitaire flying in J, I should get 200MB: (100MB twice): once for being in J and once for being PPS-Solitaire. This is logical
FlyerEC likes this.
timangus11 is offline  
Old Aug 14, 19, 7:52 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: SIN (LEJ once a year)
Programs: A3*S, LH, SQ, BA, IHG Spire AMB, HH Gold, Marriot Silver
Posts: 4,975
Try inflight and ask. YMMV though there wasn't any mention of logic in the announcement .
demue is offline  
Old Aug 14, 19, 9:24 pm
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: London, UK
Programs: SQ KrisFlyer Elite Gold
Posts: 337
Originally Posted by timangus11 View Post
If I am PPS-Solitaire flying in J, I should get 200MB: (100MB twice): once for being in J and once for being PPS-Solitaire. This is logical
Sadly, logic tends not to fare too well against the Singaporean “cannot”, at least in my experience.
puchong likes this.
chisquared is offline  
Old Aug 18, 19, 11:48 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 562
On board SQ12 right now, was expecting 2 lots of 100MB with this being a double legged flight. When I logged back on during NRT-LAX, allowance started where I left off from SIN-NRT.

In this instance i’ve been given an extra 40MB (on top of 2x30MB) overall instead of expecting 200MB total.

Not that it’s bad still, just putting it out there so you’re aware.
chisquared likes this.
Mlee888 is offline  
Old Aug 18, 19, 10:21 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SIN
Programs: CX GR, SQ TPPS, Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 183
I was on SQ319 a couple days ago which is the same plane (9V-SWD) currently operating SQ12. Yet, I only received 30MB (I'm TPPS)...I wonder how this new allocation is being rolled out?
bpk6h is offline  
Old Aug 18, 19, 11:39 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 352
Originally Posted by bpk6h View Post
I was on SQ319 a couple days ago which is the same plane (9V-SWD) currently operating SQ12. Yet, I only received 30MB (I'm TPPS)...I wonder how this new allocation is being rolled out?
only planes with the newer inflight connectivity systems have this new allocation.

Some of the 777-300ER /A380 version 3 plus A350/787.
The other poster was on 9V-SWU I think.
sbs2716g is online now  
Old Aug 18, 19, 11:50 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SIN
Programs: CX GR, SQ TPPS, Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 183
Originally Posted by sbs2716g View Post


only planes with the newer inflight connectivity systems have this new allocation.

Some of the 777-300ER /A380 version 3 plus A350/787.
The other poster was on 9V-SWU I think.
Ok, thanks. That makes more sense. So it sounds as if it's only the Panasonic equipped planes that offer the new allocations. I put this list together which I suppose I could edit to add the info about allocation differences (if this is confirmed):

WiFi/Boingo by Fleet Type
bpk6h is offline  
Old Aug 19, 19, 2:31 am
  #12  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: London, UK
Programs: SQ KrisFlyer Elite Gold
Posts: 337
Originally Posted by bpk6h View Post
Ok, thanks. That makes more sense. So it sounds as if it's only the Panasonic equipped planes that offer the new allocations. I put this list together which I suppose I could edit to add the info about allocation differences (if this is confirmed):

WiFi/Boingo by Fleet Type
MileLion also has a complete list of which aircraft have WiFi, and whether they are equipped with the old system.
chisquared is offline  
Old Aug 19, 19, 4:38 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SIN
Programs: CX GR, SQ TPPS, Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 183
Looks to be nearly the same - my list was first though

Although I don't think the new A380s have the new system...they are still using SITA as the other A380s (I didn't notice anything different the one time I was on a new A380).
bpk6h is offline  
Old Aug 19, 19, 5:46 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: SIN/SZX
Programs: A3*G/KFEG
Posts: 113
Originally Posted by bpk6h View Post
Looks to be nearly the same - my list was first though

Although I don't think the new A380s have the new system...they are still using SITA as the other A380s (I didn't notice anything different the one time I was on a new A380).
I was onboard 9V-SKU a few days back. Allowance was 100mb in J.
razorblade is offline  
Old Aug 19, 19, 9:03 pm
  #15  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: London, UK
Programs: SQ KrisFlyer Elite Gold
Posts: 337
Originally Posted by bpk6h View Post
Looks to be nearly the same - my list was first though
I suppose. Unless you count the list of aircraft still equipped with the old system. Or have I missed part of your list?
chisquared is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread