Upgrade availability opening up later?

Old Jul 19, 19, 8:46 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 39
Upgrade availability opening up later?

I am looking to upgrade a PE seat to J for SQ2 from HKG to SFO in August. But it is stating that there is no seat available when I tried to do it. However, on Expertflyer.com, I can see that the J cabin is about 1/2 full only, do you know if availability may open up as we draw closer to the day of the flight? And does the 3 weeks window for award flight applicable to upgrade award?
llngoc is offline  
Old Jul 19, 19, 9:26 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Programs: Krisflyer
Posts: 214
First of all, check your PE is eligible for upgrade. Fare bucket L, P, S or T. If you booked Premium Economy Lite (fare bucket R) you can't upgrade.

If you're eligible then I would keep checking every few weeks, though sometimes SQ decide to fly with the J cabin half empty (maybe saving on staff costs?). If there's not even the opportunity to waitlist at Advantage, you might be out of luck.
onlySIA is offline  
Old Jul 19, 19, 9:33 pm
  #3  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 83,851
Originally Posted by llngoc View Post
I am looking to upgrade a PE seat to J for SQ2 from HKG to SFO in August. But it is stating that there is no seat available when I tried to do it. However, on Expertflyer.com, I can see that the J cabin is about 1/2 full only, do you know if availability may open up as we draw closer to the day of the flight? And does the 3 weeks window for award flight applicable to upgrade award?
What's the evidence from EF that the business class cabin is only half full? EF only shows fare class availability, which maxes out at 9 (or less for some carriers) and is not additive. Seat maps are a very unreliable indicator of availability for several reasons.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Old Jul 19, 19, 9:53 pm
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 39
Thanks for your reply.

This must be it. I only checked the seat map. When I checked the availability, there is only J4. This is probably why... (As you can see, I am still a newbie at this)

BTW, it is a T fare.

Originally Posted by MSPeconomist View Post
What's the evidence from EF that the business class cabin is only half full? EF only shows fare class availability, which maxes out at 9 (or less for some carriers) and is not additive. Seat maps are a very unreliable indicator of availability for several reasons.
llngoc is offline  
Old Jul 21, 19, 3:16 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Programs: Krisflyer Gold
Posts: 1,111
SQ Availability in Business only shows a max of 4 (even if there are many more seats available)

Just have to keep checking, some seats may open nearer the time. But even if the flight is not sold out in Business, SQ is happy to let flights not go out full. So no guarantees!
sammyg901 is offline  
Old Jul 21, 19, 3:28 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 382
Originally Posted by sammyg901 View Post
SQ Availability in Business only shows a max of 4 (even if there are many more seats available)

Just have to keep checking, some seats may open nearer the time. But even if the flight is not sold out in Business, SQ is happy to let flights not go out full. So no guarantees!
not true. It show max as 9. If PE is full n there are space in business, then SQ might open up space.
sbs2716g is offline  
Old Jul 21, 19, 8:57 am
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 39
Thanks for all of your feedbacks. PE is full as of now. My dilemma is that I will be transferring credit points for the upgrade and it takes a couple of days to do so and I do not want to transfer unless there is availability.


Originally Posted by sbs2716g View Post


not true. It show max as 9. If PE is full n there are space in business, then SQ might open up space.
llngoc is offline  
Old Jul 21, 19, 4:15 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: SIN
Programs: CX DM, SQ KF
Posts: 1,934
Originally Posted by sammyg901 View Post
SQ Availability in Business only shows a max of 4 (even if there are many more seats available
Shows up to 9, if you do not specify SQ under the airline(s) field when doing the search
sammyg901 likes this.
jagmeets is online now  
Old Jul 22, 19, 9:49 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Programs: Krisflyer Gold
Posts: 1,111
Originally Posted by jagmeets View Post


Shows up to 9, if you do not specify SQ under the airline(s) field when doing the search
Thanks! Always something new to learn !
sammyg901 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread