FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   Singapore Airlines | KrisFlyer (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/singapore-airlines-krisflyer-500/)
-   -   Award ticket cost more miles than calculated (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/singapore-airlines-krisflyer/1965578-award-ticket-cost-more-miles-than-calculated.html)

MKLDH Apr 15, 2019 3:43 pm

Award ticket cost more miles than calculated

Hi all I'm new to the KrisFlyer stuff, and I am really confused about something that I notice today. When searching for a business class award ticket from LAX to HKG via SIN, the mile cost is supposed to be 115k for an Advantage ticket according to the calculator on the SQ website, and that is also what's shown on the flight selection page. While after I click on one of the flights offered, the mile cost shown in the booking summary suddenly jumps to 175k. I tried several different dates and flight choices yet the same scenario always occurs. In contrast, I searched for flights departing from SFO and encountered no problem there. Could anyone please shed some light on this topic? Thanks!

lokijuh Apr 15, 2019 5:09 pm

The 115k requirement you see in the calculator only applies to the non-stop flight between HKG and SFO. If you travel SFO-SIN-HKG then you are essentially purchasing two awards. The best reference for this is the award chart. On the flight selection page it is a rather unfortunate programming error!

Troopers Apr 15, 2019 5:12 pm

Welcome to FT!

The calculator and award chart is by zone. LAX and SFO are in zone 12, USA West coast. But because SQ doesn't fly LAX direct to HKG, you have to fly via SIN and "backtrack". LAX-SIN is 125k (zone 12 to zone 1) plus SIN-HKG (zone 1 to zone 4) is 50k equals the 175k total for LAX to HKG via SIN. SFO-HKG is 115k because SQ flys SFO direct to HKG (zone 12 to zone 4).

RMDZidane Apr 15, 2019 8:02 pm