Singapore Airlines Route changes

Old Jul 9, 16, 3:02 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 111
Singapore Airlines Route changes

A few route changes coming up next year.

March 1st sees the following:

SQ327/328 changes to a SIN-MUC-SIN routing on A350

SQ61/62 changes to a SIN-MAN-IAH-MAN-SIN routing, and increases to daily:

SQ62 SIN 0230 MAN 0810-0940 IAH 1405
SQ61 IAH 1740 MAN 0835-1005 SIN 0615+1

At the moment, there is no indication on what happens to DME.

Info is supported by internal emails to MAN staff, slot requests at Manchester for 2 daily flights from SQ (SQ have only ever applied for the slots they intend to use in all the time they have been at MAN), and the fact the SQ327/328 looses its F class cabin completely from 1st March.

Confirmations expected around Sept/Oct time.
delta154 is offline  
Old Jul 9, 16, 4:09 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Dubai / NYC
Programs: EK-IO, UA-1K2MM, ETIHAD-GOLD, SPG-PLAT LIFETIME, JUMEIRAH SERIUS GOLD
Posts: 5,220
Originally Posted by delta154 View Post
A few route changes coming up next year.

March 1st sees the following:

SQ327/328 changes to a SIN-MUC-SIN routing on A350

SQ61/62 changes to a SIN-MAN-IAH-MAN-SIN routing, and increases to daily:

SQ62 SIN 0230 MAN 0810-0940 IAH 1405
SQ61 IAH 1740 MAN 0835-1005 SIN 0615+1

At the moment, there is no indication on what happens to DME.

Info is supported by internal emails to MAN staff, slot requests at Manchester for 2 daily flights from SQ (SQ have only ever applied for the slots they intend to use in all the time they have been at MAN), and the fact the SQ327/328 looses its F class cabin completely from 1st March.

Confirmations expected around Sept/Oct time.
I CANT SPEAK TO DME-SIN but a good friend who's an exec w EK (as well another friend who's the GM of one of Jumeirah beaches 5* hotel just told me last month that Russian business has dropped off worse then EVER expected in the last 6 months. I know this is a SINGAPORE thread but the reason I was told Russian business has dropped off so drastically is they just can't afford to travel (duh ............Russians are going thru a hard time with no real end in sight - they just can't afford to travel. The IAH flight was supposed to boost all that so called energy business between Russia and Houston........they money just isn't there anymore for Russians to travel like they used to.........

Of course there is still need for Russians to travel to DFW and IAH in all 3 classes (but not so much a need that a non stop is called for.....LH/LX/BA or OS, etc easily can get people between Russia and the rest of the world.
chinatraderjmr is offline  
Old Jul 9, 16, 6:27 am
  #3  
THR
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 532
Originally Posted by chinatraderjmr View Post
I CANT SPEAK TO DME-SIN but a good friend who's an exec w EK (as well another friend who's the GM of one of Jumeirah beaches 5* hotel just told me last month that Russian business has dropped off worse then EVER expected in the last 6 months. I know this is a SINGAPORE thread but the reason I was told Russian business has dropped off so drastically is they just can't afford to travel (duh ............Russians are going thru a hard time with no real end in sight - they just can't afford to travel. The IAH flight was supposed to boost all that so called energy business between Russia and Houston........they money just isn't there anymore for Russians to travel like they used to.........

Of course there is still need for Russians to travel to DFW and IAH in all 3 classes (but not so much a need that a non stop is called for.....LH/LX/BA or OS, etc easily can get people between Russia and the rest of the world.
I'm sure there was some point to that ramble.
THR is offline  
Old Jul 9, 16, 7:54 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: SIN
Programs: SQ, UA, Delta, BMI(RIP), Marriott Lifetime Platinum Elite, Hilton Diamond ( Thank Amex) Hyatt Discov
Posts: 1,824
Originally Posted by THR View Post
I'm sure there was some point to that ramble.
OP was saying that DME-IAH traffic has dwindled, especially in premium cabins, and so he is not surprised that the SIN-DME-IAH route is going
SingaporeDon is offline  
Old Jul 9, 16, 11:38 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: BOS/SIN
Programs: OZ Diamond Plus
Posts: 997
Originally Posted by delta154 View Post
A few route changes coming up next year.

March 1st sees the following:

SQ327/328 changes to a SIN-MUC-SIN routing on A350

SQ61/62 changes to a SIN-MAN-IAH-MAN-SIN routing, and increases to daily:

SQ62 SIN 0230 MAN 0810-0940 IAH 1405
SQ61 IAH 1740 MAN 0835-1005 SIN 0615+1

At the moment, there is no indication on what happens to DME.

Info is supported by internal emails to MAN staff, slot requests at Manchester for 2 daily flights from SQ (SQ have only ever applied for the slots they intend to use in all the time they have been at MAN), and the fact the SQ327/328 looses its F class cabin completely from 1st March.

Confirmations expected around Sept/Oct time.
Great news for MAN. Wonder how UA will feel about SQ starting IAH-MAN though.

And another upside of this is that it puts to rest the rumours that MAN-SIN is going to Scoot .
truncated is offline  
Old Jul 9, 16, 3:12 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: LAX
Posts: 1,851
Does it open IAH-MAN as another SQ option to Europe?
What plane is it gonna be?
Big_Foot is offline  
Old Jul 9, 16, 3:33 pm
  #7  
Moderator, Trip Reports
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: 6km East of EPAYE
Programs: UA Silver, AA Platinum, AS & DL GM Marriott TE, Hilton Gold
Posts: 9,576
Originally Posted by Big_Foot View Post
Does it open IAH-MAN as another SQ option to Europe?
What plane is it gonna be?
+1. Fingers crossed it remains 3 cabin! It would be a shame to lose any F seats to/from the US.
Madone59 is offline  
Old Jul 9, 16, 3:50 pm
  #8  
TA
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: if it's Thursday, this must be Belgium
Programs: UA 1K MM
Posts: 6,209
What oil business is there in Manchester?
TA is offline  
Old Jul 9, 16, 5:23 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Programs: SQ *G / A3 *G
Posts: 176
Originally Posted by TA View Post
What oil business is there in Manchester?
Dunno but as a MAN based flyer I am off to IAH Wherever that is and whatever there is to do there!

Can I do a IAH turnaround?
FlyingDobber is offline  
Old Jul 9, 16, 6:07 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NCL and LBA
Programs: BD*G, BAGold, Hyatt Diamond, SPG Plat
Posts: 3,010
Happy with this news as a mainly MAN based flyer. I never took the MAN-SIN flight as it was a one-stop falsely branded 'direct' which would add a leg on whatever trip beyond SIN I was taking. Have been using CX on MAN-HKG recently which is very nice. Nice to have a real SQ option now, especially if it has F ^
pogonation is offline  
Old Jul 9, 16, 8:55 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,158
Originally Posted by TA View Post
What oil business is there in Manchester?
I think that they wanted (needed?) to keep SIN-IAH but DME didnt perform recently. So they were looking at another midpoint option in Europe. As the current routing to MAN isnt ideal either, there is some logic in the decision to route IAH via MAN.

And Scotland is not too far which has some oil industry so it might make certain sense to choose MAN.
SQ325 is offline  
Old Jul 10, 16, 12:40 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: AMS/RTM
Posts: 2,542
Originally Posted by pogonation View Post
I never took the MAN-SIN flight as it was a one-stop falsely branded 'direct'
"direct" means that the same plane flies both legs. "nonstop" means that the plane doesn't stop.

I agree with you that it might be misleading, but definitely not "falsely branded".
malmostoso is offline  
Old Jul 10, 16, 4:01 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Programs: Marriott & SPG Plat, HH Diamond, Accor Plat, ex-Fairmont Plat, ex-Swissotel Eleva
Posts: 710
I guess MAN-IAH is interesting, as while SQ almost certainly cannot get a London-US route, MAN-IAH opens up UK to US to SQ, and they might see this as a satisfactory alternative to DME and London for now.

And MAN is easier for many to connect than DME in Europe, due to Russian Visa issues. (please correct me if I am wrong. I know that DME can transit, but if on separate PNRs, this may be tricky? And Moscow has more than 1 major airport so flights may depart from the other one, and you probably need a Visa for the change of Airport)
ZenWorld is offline  
Old Jul 10, 16, 4:51 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Australia
Programs: SQ & QF
Posts: 1,293
Originally Posted by ZenWorld View Post
I guess MAN-IAH is interesting, as while SQ almost certainly cannot get a London-US route, MAN-IAH opens up UK to US to SQ, and they might see this as a satisfactory alternative to DME and London for now.

And MAN is easier for many to connect than DME in Europe, due to Russian Visa issues. (please correct me if I am wrong. I know that DME can transit, but if on separate PNRs, this may be tricky? And Moscow has more than 1 major airport so flights may depart from the other one, and you probably need a Visa for the change of Airport)
Not only that, if you want to get to the US you wouldn't go via DME, its very indirect.
FN-GM is offline  
Old Jul 10, 16, 5:00 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 339
Originally Posted by TA View Post
What oil business is there in Manchester?
Manchester City FC?
Lan44 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: