General SQ Questions

Old Sep 26, 19, 12:08 pm
  #2341  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 27,297
Originally Posted by Mlee888 View Post
If you are looking to go to the lounge for breakfast, to be sure you should go slightly earlier. To me itís enough but itís down to what you prefer. If you arrive at check in for 6am, this gives you maybe 30 minutes once you arrive at the lounge before you plan to head to the gate.
Thanks for the heads up.

I just realize you can check in the day before if holding confirmed seats on SQ own flights. So I plan to check in once we arrive, for the next morningís 7:40 flight. We stay at CP and depart from T3, hopefully we can have 30 min at the lounge before boarding.
Happy is offline  
Old Sep 30, 19, 3:04 pm
  #2342  
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Ireland
Posts: 201
Upgrading with miles

I am looking at possibility of upgrading two segments of a three segment trip (australia-sq-singapore-sq-europe-europe). I have not purchased a ticket yet but have found the upgrade description on the booking page and although it says upgrade is allowed, when the information button is clicked it states "We are unable to process your request. Please contact your local Singapore Airlines office to find out the number of miles required for your upgrade."

If the final non-sq sector is removed and I search for the first two segments only, the information button lists the number of miles as expected from the upgrade chart.

Does anybody know if the presence of a non-sq sector in the booking would prevent an upgrade to the sq sectors?

Thanks
EI147 is offline  
Old Oct 4, 19, 8:17 am
  #2343  
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: MSP
Programs: IHG Platinum
Posts: 369
Hi -- I'm looking at an award flight that's PVG-SIN-PNH, but the SIN-PNH leg doesn't have first class so the website automatically downgrades to J.

Is there any way to do this award booking as a mix of F/J without having to buy 2 separate tickets? (Which costs a lot more miles).
shuom is offline  
Old Oct 4, 19, 9:37 am
  #2344  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: CGK/LAX/SUB
Programs: KF,JMB, OZ, SPG,AA,UA,AS
Posts: 1,100
Originally Posted by shuom View Post

Is there any way to do this award booking as a mix of F/J without having to buy 2 separate tickets? (Which costs a lot more miles).
Yes, but you need to call to do it.
gpeso8 is offline  
Old Oct 4, 19, 10:00 am
  #2345  
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: MSP
Programs: IHG Platinum
Posts: 369
Originally Posted by gpeso8 View Post
Yes, but you need to call to do it.
I gave them a call. Is there something special I need them to ask for? They quoted 74k miles. I know PVG-SIN is available for 54k. Seems like a steep increase for that extra J leg.
shuom is offline  
Old Oct 4, 19, 5:10 pm
  #2346  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: CGK/LAX/SUB
Programs: KF,JMB, OZ, SPG,AA,UA,AS
Posts: 1,100
Originally Posted by shuom View Post
I gave them a call. Is there something special I need them to ask for? They quoted 74k miles. I know PVG-SIN is available for 54k. Seems like a steep increase for that extra J leg.
You will have to keep calling until you reach a competent agent and if needed ask to speak to a supervisor.
gpeso8 is offline  
Old Oct 6, 19, 1:17 am
  #2347  
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: MSP
Programs: IHG Platinum
Posts: 369
Originally Posted by gpeso8 View Post
You will have to keep calling until you reach a competent agent and if needed ask to speak to a supervisor.
Following up - I did exactly this, insisted it was doable at 53k miles. The first try, agent said it was 74k again. I asked to speak with a supervisor. After that, he was able to get it at 53k by forcing it to be First class award even on the ticket that only had business class inventory. Just an FYI.

Thank you gpeso8!
shuom is offline  
Old Oct 6, 19, 6:00 am
  #2348  
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 162
Hi everybody,

is it possible to book award flights with Krisflyer on the phone containing connections which are not visible on the homepage due to long layovers or co-terminal transfers (i.e. EWR/JFK - NRT/HND) ?
Unfortunately I didnt find anything about this issue...
fflyer1 is offline  
Old Oct 6, 19, 10:55 am
  #2349  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: CGK/LAX/SUB
Programs: KF,JMB, OZ, SPG,AA,UA,AS
Posts: 1,100
Originally Posted by shuom View Post
Following up - I did exactly this, insisted it was doable at 53k miles. The first try, agent said it was 74k again. I asked to speak with a supervisor. After that, he was able to get it at 53k by forcing it to be First class award even on the ticket that only had business class inventory. Just an FYI.

Thank you gpeso8!
Glad it worked out! It's unfortunate that booking mixed awards is always such a hassle with SQ.
gpeso8 is offline  
Old Oct 9, 19, 12:25 pm
  #2350  
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 9
Hi All: I am flying Singapore to MLE round trip direct but couldn't get business space in April. how likely is the space to open up in the future? should I sign up for expert flyer and track it?
btw: booking through Aeroplan .
thanks in advance
bobcat745 is offline  
Old Oct 10, 19, 1:03 am
  #2351  
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: SFO/YYZ
Programs: Marriott Titanium
Posts: 920
This topic might be forbidden. With the new ability to book with AS miles I was looking at SFO-HKG on SQ. I can't find any space. However, I CAN find lots of space on SQ 001, SFO-HKG-SIN, so there's some married segment logic here.

Is it okay to get off in HKG and miss the second leg, or is that going to cause huge problems with both flights being the same flight number and a passenger disappearing. I don't want to cause trouble but all I can find are married segments.
nexusCFX is offline  
Old Oct 10, 19, 3:37 am
  #2352  
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Programs: Krisflyer
Posts: 214
Originally Posted by nexusCFX View Post
Is it okay to get off in HKG and miss the second leg, or is that going to cause huge problems?
Technically it is not allowed. If you book as a return flight then the return journey will likely be cancelled. And it is only possible without checked luggage, which would be booked to the final destination. For one way without luggage it's unlikely to be a problem but as a courtesy you should probably tell SQ staff so they don't waste time delaying the flight for you.
onlySIA is offline  
Old Oct 10, 19, 11:06 am
  #2353  
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 378
Originally Posted by nexusCFX View Post
This topic might be forbidden. With the new ability to book with AS miles I was looking at SFO-HKG on SQ. I can't find any space. However, I CAN find lots of space on SQ 001, SFO-HKG-SIN, so there's some married segment logic here.

Is it okay to get off in HKG and miss the second leg, or is that going to cause huge problems with both flights being the same flight number and a passenger disappearing. I don't want to cause trouble but all I can find are married segments.
Just try to book with stopover. (Use multi city option)
SFO-HKG. Then HKG-SIN another few days later. Then you can easily get off at HKG n miss the 2nd flight.
sbs2716g is offline  
Old Oct 11, 19, 9:03 am
  #2354  
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 8
I just got this message and I'm kinda unsure what it means. Can anyone clarify?

please be informed that sq86 hkg-sin
Aircraft type has been changed from a388r(skyroom full flatbed)
To a388s(suites full flatbed).

Does this mean I had the new suites but am getting the old one instead?
JayFarber is offline  
Old Oct 11, 19, 9:45 pm
  #2355  
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 378
Originally Posted by JayFarber View Post
I just got this message and I'm kinda unsure what it means. Can anyone clarify?

please be informed that sq86 hkg-sin
Aircraft type has been changed from a388r(skyroom full flatbed)
To a388s(suites full flatbed).

Does this mean I had the new suites but am getting the old one instead?
Guess so. Cos the default is the new suite.
Check the seat map in manage my booking.
sbs2716g is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread