Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Singapore Airlines | KrisFlyer
Reload this Page >

How closely is the 7kg-rule for cabin baggage enforced in C?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 16, 2012, 3:58 am
Original Poster

Programs: Former long-time US GP; now AA dirt

I'll be taking two upcoming SQ flights: PVG-SIN and SIN-BKK in C. I am a professional photographer and typically carry on, in a canvas camera bag stored in my rollerboad, two camera bodies and four lenses. My bag will certainly weigh over 7kg, although I know from past experience that many airlines ignore their 7kg rule for those who are flying in C or F and/or are carrying expensive photography gear. I'm also *G, if that makes any difference.

Thanks in advance.
Old Jun 16, 2012, 4:20 am

Programs: AA Gold, UA MM 1K, UK Gold, Marriott Titanium, IHG Plat Amb

You should be ok, as long your carry on bags dont go over the dimensions.
Old Jun 17, 2012, 12:06 am

To my experience SIA hardly carries out any checks on the carry-ons, certainly not in C. In Y it is common practise that people bringing two pieces of hand-carries onboard and no one asks any questions.
Old Jun 17, 2012, 3:47 am

SQ rarely weighs check-in bags

I have traveled SQ extensively over the past 2 years, in both C and Y, and have never had my check-in bags weighed (or even measured).

Last edited by 200ktraveler; Jun 17, 2012 at 3:50 am Reason: Incorrect heading
Old Jun 17, 2012, 3:51 am

Heading should have read "CARRY-ON"

Originally Posted by 200ktraveler
I have traveled SQ extensively over the past 2 years, in both C and Y, and have never had my check-in bags weighed (or even measured).
Old Jun 18, 2012, 8:57 am

Programs: SQ QPPS, *A Gold, EK Skywards Gold
Originally Posted by SQ325