Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Singapore Airlines | KrisFlyer
Reload this Page >

Website issues on 'new' SQ website (From May 2011-July 6 2012)

Website issues on 'new' SQ website (From May 2011-July 6 2012)

Closed Thread

Old May 22, 11, 5:39 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: SYD, and not PKC
Programs: VA Real Platinum, QF OWS Gold, EY Silver, HH Diamond, SPG/Marriott/IHG Gold
Posts: 1,348
Angry Website issues on 'new' SQ website (From May 2011-July 6 2012)

Pretty slow. I would give it another 2 months before all the teething problems get fixed!
kamchatsky is online now  
Old May 22, 11, 6:49 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New York
Programs: SPG Platinum, AA 2.0 MM, DL Plat, Hertz Plat, LY Gold
Posts: 1,555
As per the T&C's on the new website, it doesnt seem that anything is changing:
https://www.singaporeair.com/en_UK/p...eemMiles_SQMI/
damaxer91 is offline  
Old May 22, 11, 6:50 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: SIN
Programs: SQ KF
Posts: 141
New A380 Seat Map

Has anyone checked out the A380 Seat Map?

Think its a glitch, and only the new config aircraft layout is shown for the upper deck.

http://www.singaporeair.com/pdf/seatmaps/airbus380.pdf

Row 96 is a real mini J cabin - only 1 row.

Rows 11 and 91 have no windows.
tshep is offline  
Old May 22, 11, 2:12 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Programs: ROP Gold
Posts: 1,220
Here are my complaints.

1. Why the big header taking up more than 1/3 of my lap top screen (15 inches). Other relevant information could not be properly displayed as a result.

2. Aster's Warsaw problem is still not resolved...

3. Addition the header complaint above, the booking result has another big header showing the price and itinerary taking up more than 1/2 the screen. As such, one does not have a good overview of the selection results (i.e. which flight to take).

4. One is not possible to select the booking class one wants to purchase. Problem for me as SQ's booking class W for instance cannot accrue 100% mileage with ROP program.

5. Can they not fit the entire page into one screen so that I do not have to scroll down to read, like they have the last time around?

6. Calender on the booking page? Can they not hide it or make it smaller? Such a waste of space. I cannot enter number of adults and classed without scrolling down.

7. There is no calender available for multi-detination booking.

8. Maybe I am bias as I am not KF member. But must the member log-on be so big? In my view, it is not that important to warrant so much space. Not everyone is a member. Those who are member will have to log in once and not be bother with it anymore.

9. Click on the offer and you will see only one offer without scrolling down.

10. Seat maps. Do they not have a clearer pdf document? Must I still see the header again without seats and SQ logo - I want to know the seat arrangements? Must the document be set at default 228%? http://www.singaporeair.com/pdf/seatmaps/airbus380.pdf

11. Click on SQ corporate. It brings you to another screen for you to click on another link to get there. How user friendly that can it be.

12. It is really slow isn't it?

I find that they have merely changed the form but not the substance. And I really do not like the new form.

Last edited by anaidross; May 22, 11 at 3:25 pm
anaidross is offline  
Old May 22, 11, 3:12 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 332
"The flight is not found in any of the specified categories."
Anyone faced this error yet?
eriond is online now  
Old May 22, 11, 3:39 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 111
Originally Posted by Speedbird84 View Post
It definitely is a nicely done update to the site.
Originally Posted by General_Flyer View Post
I was overwhelmed by the new website!

Seems like everything is now thrown up front and lots of info..

I'll give it some thumbs up!
are you guys sure? have you ever touch the new site before comment?

i must say its a terrible job for SQ
letsflythere is offline  
Old May 22, 11, 4:42 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Programs: Star Alliance, One World, Skyteam, BR, GA, EK, VX, SPG, Marriott, Hyatt, Hilton, IC
Posts: 4,064
Originally Posted by letsflythere View Post
are you guys sure? have you ever touch the new site before comment?

i must say its a terrible job for SQ
I checked it out, yes. I think of it as a beta version of what is to be the real website. I had worked into several things and there were glitches in it.

I gave it some thumbs up on some aspects of it, certainly not all of it.
General_Flyer is offline  
Old May 22, 11, 4:52 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New York City, USA
Programs: UA 1K, QF Gold
Posts: 26
Hmmm... I'm in two minds. I agree that the old site definitely needed a facelift as it was looking very dated. That said, I wish they'd spent more time on testing the site before launching.

One that really confuses me is that for my travel-agent reservation, when I go to Manage Booking, my reservation is shown, but when I click on it, the site then prompts me to enter more information to retrieve the booking even though it's just listed it. Why? The old site just let me see the reservation details without having to start entering more information (for the same reservation a couple of days ago). Frustrating!

It also seems to think all 7 segments on that reservation are in J class, when infact 2 of them are in Y class.
gavin_phillips is offline  
Old May 22, 11, 7:53 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Programs: Velocity Platinum, UA MM
Posts: 525
Originally Posted by letsflythere View Post
are you guys sure? have you ever touch the new site before comment?

i must say its a terrible job for SQ
Got to agree, it's a poor implementation and it's obvious that little testing was done
cssaus is offline  
Old May 23, 11, 2:08 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: London, UK
Programs: VS/BA/CX/EK
Posts: 885
Hmm, it's a small improvement, however:

  • Using the carousel at the bottom scrolls the page back to the top
  • You still cannot type the IATA 3-letter code and tab in the form without choosing the long form airport name
  • The currency drop down is not wide enough, and should list the abbreviation first
  • The "only a few seats left message" is even displayed for wide open suites
  • Lightbox used for fare doesn't have a close icon
  • Book now panel on the home page is pointless and just displays a how to pay panel
  • Video quality very poor and grainy, certainly of the Suites
  • No link to Book the Cook from food sections in R/F/J
  • MAN rather than LHR listed on the map when zoomed out

Not great.

BC
BlackCat is offline  
Old May 23, 11, 2:13 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SJU
Programs: UA plat, DL diamond, Hyatt Diamond, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Gold, Hertz Plat, Avis President
Posts: 1,454
I get error messages when trying to change an award redemption online. Had to call it in.
chewy3 is offline  
Old May 23, 11, 3:44 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Singapore
Programs: TG Gold, MPC Gold, SPG Plat
Posts: 419
Terrible update - didn't they test it first??

What is even more frustrating is the lack of contact numbers for me to try and contact a booking office. I am looking to purchase a mulitistop business fare and they are basically turning my money away !
newshound is offline  
Old May 23, 11, 3:53 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Programs: Velocity Platinum, UA MM
Posts: 525
Originally Posted by newshound View Post
Terrible update - didn't they test it first??

What is even more frustrating is the lack of contact numbers for me to try and contact a booking office. I am looking to purchase a mulitistop business fare and they are basically turning my money away !
Oh, that part of the new web site seems to work thankfully! At the bottom of the page on the right hand side look for "contact us" link. You'll then need to put in your location and it will bring up all the contact numbers.

I had to do this today to call up and check my flights for what appeared to be missing information according to the web site.

If you end up talking to an agent just make sure you give them your opinion on the new web site I think the word is going to be filtering back from the telephone agents about the complaints coming in about the web site.
cssaus is offline  
Old May 23, 11, 4:45 am
  #14  
Ambassador: Air New Zealand
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Wellington NZ
Programs: NZ Gold, EK Gold, SQ Silver, Amex Plat, SPG Gold, Accor Plat
Posts: 1,133
Redemption booking on old site allowed for a mixed booking (Flight 1 in First, Flight 2 in Business [due to Two class configuration - J&Y]) - new site returns "No available seats in selected cabin class".

I will have to make a call.
WLG Base is offline  
Old May 23, 11, 8:15 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 309
500 error not fixed yet & selected meal cannot change to standard meal again!
TalkFlyer is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread